Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 26 Jul 2014, 03:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Puppy try out: how do I get online with cable connection?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
primetime
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 11:28    Post subject:  Puppy try out: how do I get online with cable connection?  

I have been looking around for a program to try out Linux and run on to puppy. I downloaded the ISO file and then burned a DVD with the file. I rebooted the PC with the DVD and up came puppy. Played around with the program for a minute or two and liked it, but could not get connected to the internet as I have a always connected Broadband Cable connection. I hope Mr. Kauler keeps working on it as I would like to see it develope.
Also, I read down through the Best Freeware article and think he might like to try Avant Browser, a IE alternative at ( htp://www.avantbrowser.com ) and an e-mail program that I use extensively, Incredimail at ( http://www.incredimail.com ). Here's hoping for a Puppy Linux we all can use soon. Regards;
primetime
Back to top
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 11:36    Post subject: Re: Puppy try out  

A kind thought Smile

The two programs you mentioned do not run on Linux
Here is a freeware project I started which includes freeware that runs on different OS including Linux and Windows

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Freeware

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Sat 18 Jun 2005, 14:54; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10931
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 13:24    Post subject:  

Did you run the ethernet wizard? I have a high-speed cable connection too and that's what I had to do to get online. I'm not in Puppy at the moment but if I remember, it's in Start->Utilities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rich

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 278
Location: Middlesbrough - UK

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jun 2005, 13:38    Post subject:  

Start > Setup

Or Start > Setup > Wizardwizard does it too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0415s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]