How to change the keyboard layout to French?

Booting, installing, newbie
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
bignono1
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun 17 May 2009, 07:30
Location: Q8

How to change the keyboard layout to French?

#1 Post by bignono1 »

Is there a command that i can use to change the kb layout, like from US to FR?
Thank you all.

User avatar
CatDude
Posts: 1563
Joined: Wed 03 Jan 2007, 17:49
Location: UK

#2 Post by CatDude »

Hello bignono1
MU wrote: try typing:

Code: Select all

setxkbmap -layout se
or

Code: Select all

setxkbmap -layout us
in a consolewindow to switch to a different layout.
Personally i prefer doing things like this:

Open your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file.
and add your keyboard layouts

Code: Select all

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
   Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
   Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
   Option      "XkbLayout" "us,fr" #xkeymap0
   Option      "XkbOptions"   "grp:alt_shift_toggle"
EndSection
That will allow you to toggle between the US and FR keyboard layouts
by simultaneously pressing Alt + Shift

You could also install this fbxkb-0.4-i486-startup-1.pet
which will give you a visual indication as to what layout you are using by way of a flag in the taskbar,
you can also toggle between the two layouts by clicking on the flag.

Hope this helps
CatDude
.
[img]http://www.smokey01.com/CatDude/.temp/sigs/acer-futile.gif[/img]

User avatar
bignono1
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun 17 May 2009, 07:30
Location: Q8

#3 Post by bignono1 »

It sure did help mate, i was looking for that pet , it is much easy now to change the kb layout.
Thank you CatDude.

User avatar
bignono1
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun 17 May 2009, 07:30
Location: Q8

#4 Post by bignono1 »

After editing the Xorg conf file i was able to use the Alt+Shift combo to change the language but in Write it will give strange fonts (unreadable) if i choose other than US , in Calc and Paint it is ok.
I opened the Write conf file but it was very huge i was lost .
Can the Write config file be edited?? and if yes: how ?
One last thing : the fbxkb-0.4-i486-startup-1.pet did not work with all Puppy versions i have.

Post Reply