Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 01:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
BoxPuppeee
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 17 Dec 2009, 01:20    Post_subject:  BoxPuppeee
Sub_title: BoxPup with modifications for the EeePc
 

By popular request, I've remastered BoxPup for the Eeepc.
Download: http://drop.io/puppeee

Features:
Ultralight mobile-optimized 2.6.31.5 kernel - works on Eeepc only (Celeron or Atom)
Faster boot time, smaller RAM footprint
All hotkeys work - with yaf-splash notifications
Suspend/resume
Power management (including overclocking and fan control)
Pwireless2 - replacement for network wizard
Flsynclient for touchpad configuration - including Elantech touchpad support
Zmixer patched for Eee
Powertop
Ramboot support - ultimate privacy, security, and powersaving


To install, follow the instructions for Puppeee Linux, as the process is the same. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=48288. Simply use the eee-431.sfs from Boxpuppeee instead of the one from Puppeee.

Edit: Updated 1/26/10 with latest bugfixes and enhancements from Puppeee.
Added 01micko's patches for Pwidgets.
Also added Bluetooth, Vattery,TrayTemp, Retrovol, Eee-control and Tile.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 17 Dec 2009, 06:37    Post_subject:  

Great job.

This is the best I've tried so far on my eee 701 sd. From 'click' to download to posting this message and cooking dinner in between took less than half an hour.

I've been into tint2 lately so will have some fun with that. First timer with openbox though, so I'll have fun with that.... thanks, and thanks to gray too Smile

Everything worked as expected ootb, not a problem at all. Of course there is plenty to test so I'll be back.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Nevermore

Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 365
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 17 Dec 2009, 07:04    Post_subject:  

did u also update the packages?
like aytmm and such?
regards

_________________
--
/sbin/Nevermore
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 17 Dec 2009, 09:35    Post_subject:  

I haven't updated any of the packages in Boxpup. I've only changed the kernel, added acpi scripts, Pwireless2, and a few useful utilities.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jtouso

Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Barcelona, España

PostPosted: Thu 17 Dec 2009, 19:33    Post_subject:  

How to pwidgets?
Btw, all, YES, all keys working with my eeepc asus 901 (fn+f2 to wireless on/off working well, fn+f4..and so on)
Congratulations!!!
jtouso
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Thu 17 Dec 2009, 20:13    Post_subject:  

The pwidgets configurator is on the Desktop menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jtouso

Joined: 29 May 2008
Posts: 120
Location: Barcelona, España

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 03:43    Post_subject:  

Jemimah
Yes I know pwidgets in Desktop but the problem is when I clic over to add or less (+ or -) different widgets, the windows has a superfast presentation (open a screen but it is closed as fast as a blink) but ...no widgets on my desktop.
Regards
jtouso
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 04:45    Post_subject:  

jtouso

Open Pwidgets gui and select >File>Stop/Start Pwidgets, a new window appears, you then can start Pwidgets.. and Embarassed ... I created the eee support for the Temp_cpu widget but fan doesn't display for me... I'll get onto fixing that one.

Cheers

_______________________

jemimah, a question...

Are older celerons supported by the eee_laptop module in your kernel? Reason I ask, is the stock 431 kernel needs tempestuous' eee module for the older beasts, and I think I designed the eee support for the Temp_cpu widget around that.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 09:39    Post_subject:  

01micko, Puppeee variants have the asus_eee module instead because eee crashes on Atom Eees. However that should make no difference to you, as all the relevant data is still there in /proc/eee.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
outtaspam

Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 17:31    Post_subject: Acer Aspire One - Wireless settings not saved  

Thanks Jemimah, this is a wonderful puplet for the Acer Aspire One as well.

I have a frugal installation dual booting with WinXP that came on the AAO.

I have made a pupsave file within the boxpupee folder, that workd fine for the xorg settings. However, the wireless setiings, in particular, the WPA keys, do not get recalled when I shut down and restart my AAO.

Can you help please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
outtaspam

Joined: 18 Dec 2009
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 17:37    Post_subject: Qcad not appearing in Menus  

Me again Jemimah,

As a Linux novice, I installed the qcad and associated pets from this thread

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1173480677&t=46267

The Puppy Package Manager reported that qcad did not have a menu entry. How can I get it into the menu?

Is it difficult to add it to the bar at the top of the screen?

I noticed the same problem with menu items when I tried to install the Ace of Penguins game.

Yes I do have intentions of doing CAD and playing games on the tiny AAO screen Smile

Thanks for your assistance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BHINTZ

Joined: 08 Aug 2006
Posts: 143

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 17:48    Post_subject: battery pwidget  

I read through and have pwidgets working, except for the battery. I have tried several positions with no luck. otherwise seems to be an excellent version for acer one. I have also noticed that none of your wonderful eee's is able to see my scandisk. but that is a small detail.

bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 18:00    Post_subject:  

jemimah,

I have no /proc/eee directory, that's why I asked about the support for older celerons. I don't have an older celeron to test. My fan speed is in /sys/devices/platform/eeepc/hwmon/hwmon1/fan1_input. Since I haven't seen any complaints by older celeron users I'm assuming that's where their fan info would be. I can easily enough modify the widget specifically for this puplet, it is handy to have fanspeed and temp info (it's the only widget I run). But, if older celerons do have the /proc/eee directory, then I can do a test (in the widget script) to see if that exsists and execute one or the other. I won't do anything until I know from where the older celerons are getting their fan info.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 19:15    Post_subject:  

01micko, now that you mention it, I think I forgot to add the asus-eee module to the boot manager in BoxPuppeee. Go into the boot manager on the system menu and put asus-eee on the "add" list, then reboot /proc/eee should appear (at least it does on my 701).

Bhintz, what do you mean by scandisk?

outtaspam, are you using Pwireless2 to configure the wireless? And you've created a save file? Does it not auto connect you when you reboot? I need more info.

The menus get automatically generated from the .desktop files in /usr/share/applications. If you create your own entry and run 'fixmenus' from the command line, it should show up on the menu. Specific questions about qcad or BoxPup should probably be addressed to their creators.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 18 Dec 2009, 19:35    Post_subject:  

Thanks jemimah

That fixed that... I'll post the widget, should give a correct readout of temp and fan speed now Cool
Temp_cpu.pet
Description  add this for eee compatibility
pet

 Download 
Filename  Temp_cpu.pet 
Filesize  1.03 KB 
Downloaded  656 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0942s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0256s) ][ GZIP on ]