Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Sep 2014, 14:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
[Howto] From Vista to dual booting Vista and Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 04:56    Post subject:  

Thanks for this thread T_Hobbit.

Worked well on my Compaq SR5622SC Desktop.

But what I worry about are how Puppy save changes.

Does it no format in Ext or something. That would change the recovery partition on my computer which makes the warranty go away.

Maybe not correct thread to ask this. But in case any of you know.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 08:25    Post subject:  

Here is my menu.lst after UNetbootin has prepared it for Min8 on a Compaq SR 5622 Vista machine,

Quote:
default 0
timeout 10

title UNetbootin
find --set-root /unetbtin/ubnkern
kernel /unetbtin/ubnkern file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper quiet splash --
initrd /unetbtin/ubninit
boot

title Start Linux Mint
find --set-root /casper/vmlinuz
kernel /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper quiet splash --
initrd /casper/initrd.gz
boot

title Start Linux Mint (compatibility mode)
find --set-root /casper/vmlinuz
kernel /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper xforcevesa ramdisk_size=1048576 root=/dev/ram rw noapic noapci nosplash irqpoll --
initrd /casper/initrd.gz
boot

title Start Linux Mint (OEM installation mode)
find --set-root /casper/vmlinuz
kernel /casper/vmlinuz file=/cdrom/preseed/mint.seed boot=casper oem-config/enable=true only-ubiquity quiet splash --
initrd /casper/initrd.gz
boot

title Check the integrity of the CD
find --set-root /casper/vmlinuz
kernel /casper/vmlinuz boot=casper integrity-check quiet splash --
initrd /casper/initrd.gz
boot

title Memory Test
find --set-root /isolinux/memtest
kernel /isolinux/memtest
initrd /unetbtin/ubninit
boot

title Boot from local drive
find --set-root /unetbtin/ubnkern
kernel /unetbtin/ubnkern
initrd /unetbtin/ubninit
boot



So I would then creat a new folder for Boxpup431 or something other puppy.

And then extract the needed files and put them in proper places and then at boot chose Puppy instead of Mint 8 to boot.

That would most likely work then?

I only have to find a Puppy that can deal with my hardware and what I most want it is that it works with Youtube and Streaming video out of the box. No messing around because I always fail to grasp how to do such without step for step hand led mouth spoon fed bit for bit which is tedious for the poor guy wanting to help me out.

Which puppy is most likely to work with Compaq SR5622SC? and that have youtuve flash and such from scratch out of the box?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 08:39    Post subject:  

Your menu.lst is like this

Quote:
default 0
timeout 5

title boxpup
find --set-root /boxpup/vmlinuz
kernel /boxpup/vmlinuz psubdir=boxpup acpi=off
initrd /boxpup/initrd.gz
boot

title puppy
find --set-root /puppy/vmlinuz
kernel /puppy/vmlinuz psubdir=puppy acpi=off
initrd /puppy/initrd.gz
boot


Doesn't that means you have two puppy. one new Beta version of next puppy named Boxpup and one standard Puppy ?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 09:15    Post subject:  

T_Hobbit, thanks indeed. Success because I write from within Puppy 431? now downloaded from NL server and using your method and the menulist you gave. Are you sure the ACPI should be off? Why?

Think it is latest puppy and youtube and streaming video from our two main TV stations worked out of the box but the wired LAN network had to be set up by hand but hopefully I remember how to do it next time or it save how to by itself.

Thanks indeed for Puppy.

Maybe I can use your method on the Win7 machine too now when I have confirmed that it went smoothly on the Vista machine.

The EasyBCD says that one is better but I fail to get how they do it.

I have read and read the text on how to but I don't trust me can do such.

But if the EasyBCD is a better way then I sure want to learn. Give me a link to a good step by step description

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 24 Dec 2009, 11:21    Post subject:  

T_Hobbit after I took away the acpi=off the puppy shut down properly.

So maybe that one was unique for your system and that you need to edit first post and make a comment that one could add it if it is needed.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 06:24    Post subject:  

It's working? Very good.
Happy that I help someone to dual boot Vista/7.

Boxpup is a puplet of Puppy 4.3.1

About boot options:
acpi=off is only needed for old machines like mine. Prior to 2001 or so.
pci=noacpi is needed to boot Acer Aspire One 9inch screen.

Thanks for testing.
Merry Xmas!

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 06:30    Post subject:  

Yes I have to add that to the USB pin for my Acer then becasue now it makes it 800x600 if I remember.

I fail to do wired in my Acer while puppy do wireless out of the box.

and I need the wireless badly but would be cool to have wired too.
But Iam in no hurry to get it. I wait for the next version.

I have tried to read up on Boxpup.

what does it have that the ordinary standard don't have?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 08:57    Post subject:  

Boxpup - I like it because of light, beauty and chosen programs.
Like/dislike is just that, I suppose... A question of having what each one likes...

Wired should work just fine on Aspire One. Ethernet is a normal Realtek, isn't it?
But I don't have one like yours to check it out.
On mine I just need to connect the wire and press DHCP button.

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 10:39    Post subject:  

That is how it works on my Vista Desktop. It just works after clicking on that dhcp things. But on my Acer it says it see no network and I load and load different drivers and it never works. Now I can live with that because I still ahve Win 7 on it so I can go out downloading things using my fast fiber wire 100M connection.

but it would be cool to get it going.

Burncc in windows can take out the vmlinuz and the initrd files how do I do it without burncc and such programs in Vista?

I want to test Boxpup on my Vista too. Ok I make a USB stick first. Next best thing to having a frugal install.

I am downloading it now and will test it within some 30 minutes if the dl goes well.

100kb/s so fairly slow.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 25 Dec 2009, 11:37    Post subject:  

Typical of me to dl the wrong boxpup. The retro so it took longer than anticipated. But now I test it on the acer and it managed to do wireless but not wired.

I write this from another puppy that has so different name me forgotten what it is. Extreme Turbopup something

I have only tested wired on this box. I have a Belkin usb wireless card so I maybe should test that one now,

Maybe it has to be connected at start up to get recognized?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 16:25    Post subject:  

If anything doesn't work out of the box, you'll need to look for a driver on the forum...
_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 16:52    Post subject:  

Yes that is a good advice that works on most linux users but trust me. I am a complete idiot when it comes to follow instructions.

I have tried to get Linux going since summer 2008 or even earlier and usually if fails. If it doesn't work out of the box then most likely I will never get it going regardless of how much time I spend on it. Usually I end up with less working things.

As of now. The Vista machine no longer dual boot and I have no clue on why.

It is a mystery. Could it be that Windows Vista somehow took it away?

HP Compaq started to run some kind of integrity software and I didn't know because I was in the kitchen and it was some schedule I had no knowledge of. These new machines do a lot of things on their own the first years or so.

Compaq beahave as if they own the gear.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 17:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
Hope that helps.


Yes thanks I trust it helps all those who are intelligent enough to follow the logic of the text. I drown in all the details and knowledge one have to know to accomplish it.

But I have book marked all of it and will look at it now and then.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2452
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 12:01    Post subject:  

Thanks T_Hobbit, using Unetbootin work for me to dual boot a friend's computer with Vista. I like this method as it doesn't require a separate partition.

I have a couple of questions though,

1) when I select the Unetbootin option at start up - there is a delay before it goes into the Puppy boot sequence and finds the Puppy files. During this delay time I hear the hard-drive/ dvd-drive spin and stop. It does this about three times, making the delay about 12 seconds. Is there anyway to avoid this?

2) This relates to EasyBCD. I tried using app this but I can't find a way to hook its menu options to Puppy copied to the same partition as Vista. Has anyone succeeded at this?

Twisted Evil

_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 30 Sep 2012, 12:49    Post subject:  

darkcity wrote:
...
2) This relates to EasyBCD. I tried using app this but

I can't find a way to hook its menu options to Puppy copied to the same partition as Vista. Has anyone succeeded at this?
Twisted Evil


as you know I know almost nothing but the developer of EasyBCD
he or his freinds on his forum did help me get it going on another
computer that I have here. It has Ms windows Vista on it.

Not I feel unsure of what you mean by these words.

"to hook its menu options to Puppy" AFAIK I did the opposite.
Is it my poor English that misunderstand you?

I can start that computer up and copy the menulist and
hopefully you can see how it works. I don't understand it
I only mimicked what they told me on their forum.

They got rather annoyed by my many questions understandbly
due to me not getting what they told me but by accident I managed
to follow their suggestions and it worked and since then I have
not dared to change anything on that computer. Smile

IO try to start it up and log in and copy something of it okay?
Will take some 30 minutes or so. I am a slow guy okay.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [36 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0948s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0155s) ][ GZIP on ]