Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 16:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
xterm in programs
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 02:32    Post_subject:  xterm in programs
Sub_title: Bug in xterm?
 

If you have both xterm and rxvt installed, try this.
Open a rxvt terminal and then in it, type rxvt to open another.
No errors are displayed in the first terminal window.

Now, Open a xterm window and then in it type xterm to open another.
An error will be displayed in the first window.

This is reproducible.
So is there a bug with using xterm if more than one instance of it is opened?
I should mention that even when xterm is run multiple times by a script, the bug appears.
And that makes me wonder if xterm was called to run an external program, would that error be passed back to the calling program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2278

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 05:26    Post_subject:  

What is the error which is shown?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 14:21    Post_subject:  

Actually, it is not an error shown but a warning.
And it only happens with xterm, which I installed from a pet.
The warning is:
Warning: Cannot convert string "nil2" to type FontStruct

This is with no program starting xterm.
It is with xterm starting another instance of itself.
But....
An example program that pertains to forks in the gtkdialog-tips thread that opens multiple instances of xterm when a button is pressed also display this warning if the program is started from xterm or rxvt.
You will not see the warning if you do not have xterm installed.
I think that before you install xterm, it is a system link to rxvt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2278

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 16:50    Post_subject:  

Sounds like an error from maybe fontconfig... Where did you get the xterm from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3393
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 17:03    Post_subject:  

amigo wrote:
Sounds like an error from maybe fontconfig... Where did you get the xterm from?

I got xterm from ibiblio from the pets directory.
Maybe it doesn't play well with puppy.
Anyway to save you searching, I will attach the pet.
xterm-229-1.pet
Description  Xterm for Puppy
pet

 Download 
Filename  xterm-229-1.pet 
Filesize  107.76 KB 
Downloaded  639 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 20:16    Post_subject:  

8bit,

this is a problem with the xterm-config. nil2 is a font that is missing in puppy but is defined for xterm.

open /etc/X11/app-defaults/Xterm and look for line 72ff
Code:
*fontMenu*font1*Label:   Unreadable
*VT100.font1:      nil2
*IconFont:      nil2
*fontMenu*font2*Label:   Tiny
*VT100.font2:      5x7
*fontMenu*font3*Label:   Small
*VT100.font3:      6x10
*fontMenu*font4*Label:   Medium
*VT100.font4:      7x13
*fontMenu*font5*Label:   Large
*VT100.font5:      9x15
*fontMenu*font6*Label:   Huge
*VT100.font6:      10x20

change them to
Code:
*fontMenu*font1*Label:   Unreadable
*VT100.font1:      5x7
*fontMenu*font2*Label:   Small
*VT100.font2:      6x10
*fontMenu*font3*Label:   Medium
*VT100.font3:      7x13
*fontMenu*font4*Label:   Large
*VT100.font4:      9x15
*fontMenu*font5*Label:   Huge
*VT100.font5:      10x20

and the message should be gone.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0578s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]