Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 12:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Retrovol 0.13.1 (Volume mixer)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Dec 2009, 18:36    Post subject:  Retrovol 0.13.1 (Volume mixer)
Subject description: A volume mixer that lets you scroll on the tray-icon, and has nice sliders.
 

retrovol-0.13.1.pet
source code
GitHub Repository

When you run it, it adds an icon to the tray. If you left click on it, it will pop up a slider which should be bound to the "Master" volume control, like the one currently in Puppy.

You can also scroll on the icon to manipulate the volume without having to click on anything.

If you middle-click, it will toggle the mute status.

If you right-click, it will show a menu with options to exit, configure, or open the main window. You can also re-run retrovol while it's already running to open the main window. In the main window you can see all the active controls (which is everything it can find by default). You can also go to File->Configure and adjust things like colors, dimensions, etc., along with choosing precisely which sliders to have it show and which order to display them.

Those settings will be stored in the ~/.retrovolrc file, in case you want to go in and change them manually.

Like Alsamixer, Retrovol doesn't so much let you modify the balance as adjust the left and right volumes independently. This is done by holding either the Shift key or the Ctrl key and then doing normal actions like scrolling or clicking a slider. Ctrl will allow you to only modify the left channel, and Shift will allow you to only modify the right channel. The slider will update on the side corresponding the the channel being modified.


There are still some things left to do. Mainly, I want to make it have multiple profiles of sliders shown, like alsamixer does. And I want to add the option to use gradient colorschemes in the sliders. Another thing is that it's not quite as easy as I'd like to use it without a mouse, so I plan to improve that a bit too.

But it otherwise works great.


If you want to replace absvolume with this, all you have to do (at least in Puppy 4.2) is edit /root/.xinitrc and replace the code that looks like this:
Code:
if [ -f /usr/bin/absvolume ];then
 if [ "$MENU_BG" = "" ];then
  absvolume &
 else
  absvolume -bg $MENU_BG &
 fi
fi

with this:
Code:
if [ "$(which retrovol)" != "" ];then
 if [ "$MENU_BG" = "" ];then
  retrovol -hide &
 else
  retrovol -hide -bg "$MENU_BG" &
 fi
fi

That way it will automatically be given the correct -bg option to match your JWM theme if you're not using the standard GTK color.

Note: As of version 0.10, if your GTK version is >= 2.16, you do not need the -bg option, and in fact it will be ignored.

2010.01.16: Updated to 0.2
2010.03.09: Updated to 0.3
2010.03.09: Updated to 0.4
2010.04.08: Updated to 0.5
2010.05.02: Updated to 0.6
2010.05.16: Updated to 0.7
2010.06.06: Updated to 0.8
2010.11.06: Updated to 0.10
2011.10.07: Updated to 0.11
2012.02.06: Updated to 0.12
2013.05.10: Updated to 0.13
2013.05.10: Updated to 0.13.1
--
main.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11.94 KB
 Viewed   11934 Time(s)

main.png

tray.png
 Description   
 Filesize   18.12 KB
 Viewed   11859 Time(s)

tray.png


_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib


Last edited by Pizzasgood on Tue 14 May 2013, 21:31; edited 13 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jemimah


Joined: 26 Aug 2009
Posts: 4309
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 17:16    Post subject:  

This is awesome! It actually detects which mixer interfaces you have. I will put it it Puppeee straight away!

One minor quip, the mixer window doesn't resize if you have too many interfaces to fit.
retrovol.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.18 KB
 Viewed   9639 Time(s)

retrovol.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
magerlab

Joined: 08 Jul 2007
Posts: 731

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 17:24    Post subject:  

there is Configure option in File dropdown menu and it's possible to set window size and active channels

very nice app

_________________
skype: desafimager
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1997
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Jan 2010, 20:05    Post subject:  

Sweeeet. Awesome
_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jan 2010, 19:36    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood,
Really nice!

I posted about Retrovol on my blog:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01325

I also made a request, quoted here:

Quote:
I would like to make a request. Could you add a commandline option to bring up the mixer immediately -- and it would have to run with some other name than "retrovol" so that it doesn't get swallowed by the JWM tray. That would be really neat, then I can have a menu entry for the mixer.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jan 2010, 02:48    Post subject:  

Alright, will-do. I've been intending to do something like that anyway. Actually, I was thinking of setting it up so that instead of running another instance it would just activate the main window's visibility (which is all that happens when you right-click the icon). Then there wouldn't be an issue with names.

I'm on the final stretch of my vacation ATM and will be spending tomorrow on a bus, so I might not get to it until sometime next week. Probably Tuesday.

Glad to see people like it.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6378
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jan 2010, 05:21    Post subject:  

Almost what I always wanted Wink
Thanks so much.

There seems to be a bug in the window size configuration. e.g. I have specified a size of 459x179, but the resulting window is 411x85.

You might like to consider adding the ability to toggle between showing all the controls and just showing the ones selected in the Hardware tab... although maybe a better approach would be to have the ability to switch between multiple profiles.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jan 2010, 13:45    Post subject:  

Yeah, that's on my todo list too. I want to add something like alsamixer has, to show all input, all output, or both, plus a fourth choice that uses the user's custom settings.

I'll have to take a look at the window size code. It's been a while since I wrote it, so maybe something broke.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jan 2010, 00:01    Post subject:  

It works for me, very nice. I see that you allow the user complete control over the colours. As you are using gtk anyway, how about an option to just use the gtk theme colours?
_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jan 2010, 00:48    Post subject:  

Aye aye cap'n!
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3263
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 11 Jan 2010, 06:06    Post subject:  

Downloaded the pet file and checked it was OK using verifypet.
Installed retrovol-0.1 in BoxPup-413-k2.6.25.16

Installation seemed to go well.
Used "Ctrl+Alt+backspace->xwin" to restart window manager.
Saw no sign of retrovol.
Opened a terminal, entered the command retrovol and got the result shown in the screenshot below.
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.97 KB
 Viewed   9333 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 21:16    Post subject:  

It doesn't automatically set itself up to autostart (nor disable absvolume, the one that Puppy ships with). If you go back to my first post, I gave instructions on how to adjust the /root/.xinitrc script. It's an easy cut and paste job.

The output you paste is fine: it looked to see if you had a configuration file, couldn't find it, and told you that it would use the defaults instead. Then it merrily ran. If you look in the system tray at that point, you should see it there.

Normally it would be run from the .xinitrc script as X starts, with an ampersand after it so that it runs in the background. That's what my instructions help you set up.

Alternately, you could probably symlink the binary into /root/Startup/, and then just edit .xinitrc to not run absvolume (since that would be redundant).



I'm going to have to delay working on Retrovol for a couple days. I severely underestimated how much work it's going to take to get back up to speed in Japanese. After I got out of my first Japanese class in a year and a half, I felt the need to reallocate the time I was going to spend coding to instead spend it studying frantically and kicking myself in the rear for not studying harder over break. Laughing

I'll work on Retrovol some more this weekend.

_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3263
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jan 2010, 06:15    Post subject:  

1. "I gave instructions on how to adjust the /root/.xinitrc script. It's an easy cut and paste job"
Too hurried, failed to notice that.
I'm running BoxPup-413, and the /root/.xinitrc file doesn't have that code to replace.
Here's all it has on absvolume [beginning on line 106]:
Code:
absvolume -u 1000 &
[ -e /root/.clip_on ] && parcellite &
sleep 0.5


Should I replace that with your code?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pizzasgood


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 6270
Location: Knoxville, TN, USA

PostPosted: Wed 13 Jan 2010, 19:35    Post subject:  

Yeah, but only the first line. The other two are something else, so leave them in.
_________________
Between depriving a man of one hour from his life and depriving him of his life there exists only a difference of degree. --Muad'Dib

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3263
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Thu 14 Jan 2010, 02:30    Post subject:  

Did as instructed; the program appears to be now working well. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 12 [180 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Multimedia
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0786s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]