Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 08:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 06:23    Post_subject:  Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter
Sub_title: Choose a drive(s) to automount at startup, plus auto run program(s)
 

Startmount-0.5.5 - 01micko and tasmod

An application to read your drives available for mounting and to let you choose which one(s) or all, to automount at next boot.
It can also auto-run a chosen program(s)

So, boot, it will mount drive and launch a program, if chosen.

Handy to start music, launch a browser or whatever your choice from menu of default apps.

Choices, choices, choices. Very Happy


The gui is self explanatory, choose your drive partition(s) to automount next boot, click apply and that's it. Same for program(s) to start at boot.

At next boot the partition(s) will mount at startup and the program chosen will launch. Or just one, maybe a drive or maybe a program only, your choice.

The program list is auto-generated from your default applications. If you install another application as default, say Firefox instead of Sea-Monkey it will auto update.
There is an entry field for you to enter your own program choice and start parameter.

USB support is experimental.

Usual caveat, use at your own risk!


Update:
Version 0.5.5

Small bugfix for ntfs filesystem.


Update:
Version 0.5.3

Small bugfix

Bugfix for .desktop and menu entry '&' in file corrupting tray desktops setting.

Bugfix for multiple entries in rc.local

GUI Change and support for multiple partitions.

Option to choose all drives mounted at start up or just all Linux drives.

USB bug patch added.

Option in menu/preferences for all drives to mount at start up.

Live CD support added. This is assuming you save back, it's in the menu.


Version 0.3.0

Menu option to delay start of program chosen until wireless connection is up and running.

Update to support USB better.

The GUI has been changed to a tabbed version and a menu system added to select the options.

Drive free space is now a menu choice to add to drive details.

Also now a menu choice.
A splash screen opens on boot to remind you drive(s) are selected for mounting at boot time.

On the Programs side there is an entry box for user to enter their favourite application and start parameter. This must be the start command for the application entered.
Startmount-0.5.5.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  Startmount-0.5.5.pet 
Filesize  8.2 KB 
Downloaded  4175 Time(s) 
startoptions.png
 Description   
 Filesize   23.75 KB
 Viewed   19899 Time(s)

startoptions.png

startmain.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.9 KB
 Viewed   19738 Time(s)

startmain.png


_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 06:23    Post_subject:  

Version 0.4.0 released..
_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 06:24    Post_subject:  

prog gui
SM-alt.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   46.85 KB
 Viewed   15741 Time(s)

SM-alt.jpg


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 06:25    Post_subject:  

Hello Laughing Laughing Laughing
_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2666
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:14    Post_subject:  

Um, I'm a bit confused, my home partition hda5 is not ommited and I'm not sure which hda2 is I think it's extended partition, see attached:

Code:

sh-3.00# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 20.0 GB, 20003880960 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2432 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xf845406c

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1        1275    10241406    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2            1276        2431     9285570    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5            1278        2366     8747392+  83  Linux
/dev/hda6            2367        2431      522081   82  Linux swap / Solaris

drives.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.38 KB
 Viewed   16382 Time(s)

drives.jpg


_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2005
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:20    Post_subject:  

Nice.
Does this also unmount them when shutting down?

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:22    Post_subject:  

dejan,
that gui is different to one expected.
what u using, frugal, full etc. JWM

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2666
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:24    Post_subject:  

Okay, I see you have:
Code:
grep -v "Extended"

in script but fdisk shows "Ext'd" on my part as you can see, maybe has to do with fdisk version? I'm trying this out on my 214X frugal install on laptop.

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7805
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:26    Post_subject:  

trapster wrote:
Nice.
Does this also unmount them when shutting down?


Relies on shutdown script for that

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2666
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:29    Post_subject:  

I see that it also uses fstab that's good but I reported once in Bugs forum issue with ntfs rw and fstab, how do you handle that?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=47699

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:40    Post_subject:  

If you pass 0 0 parameter it will bug, however if you just leave as auto it will detect and carry on.

When 'disable' is used, all files used are deleted, except program of course. Original fstab restored.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:41    Post_subject:  

I expected to see drive info as well, this is derived from 'tooltip' so it appears in 214 it is not there.
_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:47    Post_subject:  

Now added pic.
_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2666
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:47    Post_subject:  

auto detects ntfs and mounts it ro, doesn't use ntfs-3g
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 07:52    Post_subject:  

Works well on my test setup when I tried it for hda and hdb drives and also the usb stick sda. This is running under ttuuxxx's 214RC2.
Except that it does display hdb5 which is my home partition.

Code:
bash-3.00# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 81.9 GB, 81964302336 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9964 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xcdd71121

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1   *           1        3824    30716248+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2            3825        4079     2048287+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda3            4080        7351    26282340   83  Linux
/dev/hda4            7352        9964    20988922+  83  Linux

Disk /dev/hdb: 251.0 GB, 251000193024 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30515 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x7a4a68f9

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1               1        2685    21567231   83  Linux
/dev/hdb2   *        2686        5468    22354447+  83  Linux
/dev/hdb3            5469        7973    20121412+  83  Linux
/dev/hdb4            7974       30515   181068615    5  Extended
/dev/hdb5            7974       11850    31141971   83  Linux
/dev/hdb6           11851       11875      200781   83  Linux
/dev/hdb7           11876       13545    13414243+  83  Linux
/dev/hdb8           13546       15215    13414243+  83  Linux
/dev/hdb9           15216       17785    20643493+  83  Linux
/dev/hdb10          17786       30515   102253693+   b  W95 FAT32

Disk /dev/sda: 8254 MB, 8254390272 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1003 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x000c3013

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        1003     8056566    b  W95 FAT32
bash-3.00#


Now that this app is just over an hour old may I make a feature request?
Smile
It seems that once StartMount has been setup and rebooted it continues to mount the selected drives after each subsequant reboot. I can see the logic here but it could also not be what folk want/expect.

So could StartMount display the current setup rather than display a fresh screen after a reboot. eg if I have already set it to start hda1 and hdb3 then can it remind me by displaying this fact after a fresh reboot (you might not need disable then.)

Hope that's clear.
Thanks as ever for your efforts.

Dave

EDIT:
just seen your pics and mine is like dejan's as I am using 214X RC2. ie no drive info.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 11 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0926s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]