Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 04:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Startmount-0.5.5 Drive automount and program starter
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 11 [152 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 08:02    Post subject:  

For ease we used the drive tooltip text rather than working out drives size, why not if already done?

It appears that in 214 this tooltip is not there or else in another location.

On desktop when you hover over drive, is tooltip displayed ?

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 08:03    Post subject:  

Seems it is a feature introduced later on davesurrey, not available in 2.14, amazing it doesn't just error out...

If you boot a puppy 4X you will see tooltips when you hover over a drive, that's the info.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2647
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 08:05    Post subject:  

I'll test this later on dpup I have like 10 partitions on my desktop PC.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 08:21    Post subject:  

dave,

One of the features we intended to add was an autostart of selected apps.

Scenario: Cool

Pmusic.

Start computer, windows partition or other partition mounts with your music files in it, pmusic starts and uses playlist. there, instant music.

Will look into further options for running the Startmount app. Very Happy

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5697
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 08:50    Post subject:  

Mmmmmmmm!!!!!!!!!!!!! Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

Goes of course straight into Stardust


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 09:26    Post subject: some tests  

Sorry for the delay but did some testing.
Okay I tested this in the same PC but this time under ttuuxxx's pup4311 (based in puppy4.3):

I can confirm that
-- home is not displayed...good.
-- it displays drive info..good

I tried to set it to mount sda1 (ntfs), sdb2 (ext4), sdb10 (vfat), and sdc1 (vfat on a usb stick) but initially sdb10 just wouldn't mount. It mounted just fine manually using Pmount.

Then tried with sdb9, sdb10 and sdc1 and all got mounted !!

Then tried sda1, sdb2, sdb9, sdb10 and sdc1 again. This time sdb9 didn't get mounted, all the others did. Believe me this was not operator error.

However since then it has never failed whatever the combination I have tried. Can't be that it needed a reboot as it was getting that everytime.
Been trying to break it for a while but no go..so it looks good now.

Interesting that with StartMount installed the previously mounted partitions flash on the desktop (I mean the green led like lights on the drive icons ) after a reboot and then they change to represent the newly mounted ones. It doesn't do that if StartMount is not installed.

Going back to 214X-RC2, no I don't see any drive info if I mouse over a drive icon on the desktop. Is the info in just one file? If so what is it called in 431? I'd like to do a search for it?

Still think that some visual feedback as to how it is set-up would be a benefit.

Yes autostarting an app would be great.

HTH
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 09:32    Post subject:  

Hi Dave,

In 4X pups the info is in /root/.pup_event/ .. then pick a drive and right click... look inside.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 09:35    Post subject:  

Dear 01micko,

This is a nice, useful app. My only problem on the desktop computer, where I have 2 internal drives, a USB stick and a 1.5 TB drive with 13 partitions, is that I cannot see all my drives. What about using a notebook widgets to show individual devices along with their partitions? Or scrolling? If I connect the 1.5 TB drive to my NC10, I will see only half the available devices, if that many.

With thanks and kind regards,
vovchik
drive-mount.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   45.33 KB
 Viewed   1669 Time(s)

drive-mount.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7794
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 09:39    Post subject:  

vovchik

Many partitions I see. Yes we need to support that.

May I ask what OS you are using? You should get a readout of drives, filesystem and size.

Cheers.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 09:57    Post subject:  

01micko wrote
Quote:
In 4X pups the info is in /root/.pup_event/ .. then pick a drive and right click... look inside.

Thanks for that. So I guess it won't be poss to make this part of Startmount work for 214X.

However when I looked inside the /root/.pup_event folder I saw eg drive_sda and inside that an Appinfo_xml file which only gave me the HDD info not the partition info. I guess I am missing something here.

Thanks anyway

Cheers
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 10:30    Post subject:  

Dear 01micko,

I have 3.01 on the desktop and 4.10 (jaunty) on the NC10. On the NC10, I see the filesystem info just fine.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 14:43    Post subject:  

Hmmm, thrown up some interesting version quirks.

For now it appears it will work correctly on puppy 4 series. This is because both mick and I were testing on 431 Stardust 003 and had limited drives to work on.

The drive size info is derived from the AppInfo.xml so maybe we should go to the alternative to scan and do our own sizing.
It was my suggestion not to re-invent the wheel there, as the info was already available in 4 series in the xml.

I came up with this because I've been working (slowly) on extending the 'tooltip' to reflect the free drive space also.

So it would appear on mouse_over as say :

Filesystem: ext3 Size: 9.6gb Free 3.2gb

Still, that's what feedback is for when we can't cater for all drives.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 14:49    Post subject:  

Dave,

here's what's in one of my drives info :-

Code:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<AppInfo>
  <Summary>Filesystem: ext2 Size: 8.2GB</Summary>
  <About>
   <Purpose>Drive icons are part of Puppy Event Manager, see System menu</Purpose>
   <Authors>Barry Kauler LGPL 2008</Authors>
  </About>
  <AppMenu>
   <Item option="pmount_drive" icon="gtk-harddisk"><Label>Run Pmount Puppy Drive Mounter</Label></Item><Item option="eventmanager" icon="gtk-execute"><Label>Run Desktop Drive Icon Manager</Label></Item><Item option="unmount" icon="gtk-harddisk"><Label>Unmount sda8 (if currently mounted)</Label></Item><Item option="unmountall" icon="gtk-harddisk"><Label>Unmount ALL mounted partitions</Label></Item>
  </AppMenu>
</AppInfo>


We grepped the summary tag, which is in fact the tooltip text.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
davesurrey

Joined: 05 Aug 2008
Posts: 1201
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jan 2010, 17:57    Post subject:  

Thanks Rob,
Interestingly even though it's working well in puppy 4311 my /root/.pup_event/drive_sdb/AppInfo.xml file (for example) is
Quote:
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<AppInfo>
<Summary>Description: ATA Maxtor 6L250R0 Size: 233.8GB</Summary>
<About>
<Purpose>Drive icons are part of Puppy Event Manager, see System menu</Purpose>
<Authors>Barry Kauler LGPL 2008</Authors>
</About>
<AppMenu>
<Item option="pmount_drive" icon="gtk-harddisk"><Label>Run Pmount Puppy Drive Mounter</Label></Item><Item option="eventmanager" icon="gtk-execute"><Label>Run Desktop Drive Icon Manager</Label></Item><Item option="unmount" icon="gtk-harddisk"><Label>Unmount sdb (if currently mounted)</Label></Item><Item option="unmountall" icon="gtk-harddisk"><Label>Unmount ALL mounted partitions</Label></Item>
</AppMenu>
</AppInfo

which shows sdb the drive but no partition (it has 10 and sdb5 is home)
There does seem to be some difference between distros here.
Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 04 Jan 2010, 13:42    Post subject:  

Just to check Dave,

In 4 series.

What do you get if you look into :-

/root/.pup_event/drive_sdb4/AppInfo.xml

Note the "sdb4" this should then give partition info for that one.


We are looking at another file common to it seems 2 thru 4 series for the drive info. However, it needs code to get the info and size conversion. (It's in blocks)

Must admit Mick is much faster than I am, although we tend to write almost identical code all the time Laughing

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 11 [152 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Filesystem
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0836s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]