Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 05:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
XP-like puppy ENGLISH version
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
s-kami


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 50
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jan 2010, 16:27    Post_subject:  XP-like puppy ENGLISH version
Sub_title: XP skinned puppy linux
 

I got a lot of requests so i decided to make a new XP-like puppy in english.



Fullscreen:
http://skami.homelinux.org/images/rsgallery/original/xp-like01.jpg

Avaible here:
ftp://skami.homelinux.org/puppylinux/ISO/XP-like_puppy_ENG.iso
http://skami.homelinux.org The Hungarian Puppy Linux HQ
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 08 Jan 2010, 19:14    Post_subject:  

Posting from XP like Puppy.

Have a Problem.
When I choose UK English QWERTY keyboard, there is a problem, and it does not take effect.
e.g. I get QWERTZ kezboard. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
s-kami


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 50
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jan 2010, 04:57    Post_subject: keyboard problem
Sub_title: setup
 

try this:

start menu -->setup --->mouse/keyboard wizard -->choose keyboard layout for your country
Was this helpful?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jan 2010, 05:20    Post_subject:  

1. "start menu -->setup --->mouse/keyboard wizard -->choose keyboard layout for your country"
(a) This is what I did...
And then came a warning Window that something could not be done, and there was no change to the keyboard, even after using "Ctrl+Alt+backspace->xwin" to restart the window manager.

(b) I'll try this again and attempt to post a screenshot of the warning.
Will now reboot into XP-like to do that.

(c) Please note:
During first boot of XP-like, there was no opportunity offered to configure/specify the type of keyboard in use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
s-kami


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 50
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jan 2010, 05:48    Post_subject: ahha
Sub_title: i see
 

i am so sorry, i left a file here: /etc/keymap
it contains hu.map, try to change us.map please

Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 09 Jan 2010, 06:34    Post_subject:  

Here is the present code inside the file /etc/keymap

/usr/share/themes/eXperience/gtk-2.0/gtkrc:1378: Overlay image options specified without filename
/usr/share/themes/eXperience/gtk-2.0/gtkrc:1404: Overlay image options specified without filename

Gtk-WARNING (recursed) **: Unable to locate theme engine in module_path: "mgicchikn",
uk.map

I need the UK keyboard.

Sorry, unable to type the correct things.

There is a uk.map file in /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty
aa.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   73.68 KB
 Viewed   2148 Time(s)

aa.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kayan


Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 90
Location: India

PostPosted: Sun 10 Jan 2010, 10:33    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the puplet Very Happy
How to enable battery level and net connected icon in tray Confused

_________________
SAHARA laptop intel celeron M 1.4 GHz/ 768Mb Ram /40GB ,SIS 661 chipset,
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
s-kami


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 50
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 02:55    Post_subject: battery status
Sub_title: battery status
 

here is the solution for battery status:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=35185&start=15

Quote:
Show network status on task bar (Linux only)
TaskBarShowNetStatus=1 # 0/1


as for the keyboard-problem, i am searching now...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
QBall2U


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 65
Location: Somewhere, USA

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 03:25    Post_subject: Re: XP-like puppy ENGLISH version
Sub_title: XP skinned puppy linux
 

s-kami wrote:
I got a lot of requests so i decided to make a new XP-like puppy in english.


@s-kami, regarding this puplet...is it just cosmetics or are there other changes to this puplet?

Reason I ask, is my next-to-older sis is a 'nut-in-a-rut' for Windows and I've been trying to convince her that Linux is much better and quite a bit safer (as in worms, viri, trojans, spyware, keyloggers, etc) than Winblows and any Linux distro that is so similar to as to be almost the same OS would most probably be the bone that lures the dog (not that my sis is a dog, mind you! Embarassed )! lol

Thanks,
QBall

(thanks to whomever it was I saw using the term, 'Winblows'...it fits! Wink )
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM MSNM 
s-kami


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 50
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 03:57    Post_subject: keyboard solution
Sub_title: keyboard solution
 

I consider linux is better anyway.

Puppy is the best way for old computers and this puplet is made for beginners.

Only skinned and the wine 1.1.35 (newest) is included for windozers, for instance totalcommnder i can run.

Keyboard UK issue:
delete the file : /etc/keymap (contains hu.keymap) and restart puppy.
Than you will be asked for keyboard. Afterward start menu-- > settings -->mouse/keyboard wizard -->advanced xorg keyboard configuration -->layouts--> gb united kingdom and click to yes, activate new settings.
Now i have UK keyboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
37fleetwood


Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 403

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 04:44    Post_subject:  

looking at the screen cap and it looks great but I have a question, why wouldn't you use something like pcmanfm so you would have a more windows like feel when file browsing? another good one is xfe. if you could make one of these the default file browser you would really look like XP!
_________________
Thanks!
Scott Cool

I'm a PC... Without Windows
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 04:55    Post_subject:  

Looks like that has eliminated the keyboard problem. Very Happy

Where should I post about a few other problems I see?
e.g.
1. Installed captura.pup and it at first appeared in the menu under a Pup sub-menu, but after reboot was gone.
I can run it ok using a command in a terminal.

p.s. Xfe is a SUPERB file manager; I have it installed [almost never use any other] and it is running well.
See links here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
s-kami


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 50
Location: Budapest

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 06:25    Post_subject: application
Sub_title: apllicatins
 

menu items can be found here:
/usr/share/applications

open any file with a simple text editor like gany or leafpad and you can see, how it looks.

now you can create a new application menu item for any program.

yeah, xfe looks great, i will try it !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 06:35    Post_subject:  

Make Xfe the default file manager instead of ROX.

e.g. When you mount a partition, Xfe will open at that partition.
[Sometimes a pest, sometimes useful; I'd like if there was a key to hold to prevent Xfe auto-opening]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 12 Jan 2010, 06:50    Post_subject:  

There is a file:
/usr/share/applications/Captura.desktop
With the following content:
Code:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=Captura
Icon=/usr/share/icons/Captura.xpm
Comment=Captura
Exec=/usr/local/bin/captura
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Utility
GenericName=Captura
00.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   32.06 KB
 Viewed   6843 Time(s)

00.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0814s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]