Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 01:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
what's with the mount wizard?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
papaschtroumpf


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 00:36    Post subject:  what's with the mount wizard?  

I'm not sure I understand how the mount wizard decides on the mount point for partiions on the local hardrive.
I'm using a (virtual) PC that has VL5STD on one partition (/dev/hda1, resiserfs), swap on another (/dev/hda2) and a 3G "unused" ext2 partition (/dev/hda3).

I swear yesterday "/dev/hda3" was mounted to /mnt/linux2 and today it's mounted on /mnt/home


Is there a way to specify the mount point?

not a huge deal but disconcerting.

_________________
Mandriva LE 2005 user and puppy newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 05:28    Post subject:  

A partition gets mounted on /mnt/home when Puppy is using that partition for its "pup001" file. You can't unmount it.

It would have got mounted on some other mount point if Puppy wasn't using the pup001 file, like you booted with option not to save to h.d.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
papaschtroumpf


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 10:12    Post subject:  

must have been it then.
I never intended to mount it with a pupxxxx file on that machine but I either mispressed a key or does it time out and launch after a while? I checked and ther eis a pup file on the parition so it makes sense.

_________________
Mandriva LE 2005 user and puppy newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11034
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 12:54    Post subject: Boot option times out to default  

Yes, if you don't do anything then after a few seconds Puppy boots to the standard "pup001" configuration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
papaschtroumpf


Joined: 17 Jun 2005
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 13:38    Post subject:  

on a different Virtual PC machine, that has a single /dev/hda1 ext2 partition with no OS on it, it mounted that partition to /mnt/data.
Like I said, not a big deal since once you're in the right mount point, it's all the same.

_________________
Mandriva LE 2005 user and puppy newbie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0470s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0032s) ][ GZIP on ]