Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 31 Jul 2014, 14:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
How to autoconnect wifi trendnet tew-401pc+ at boot
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
mikey

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu 23 Feb 2006, 19:03    Post subject:  How to autoconnect wifi trendnet tew-401pc+ at boot  

installed this wifi card on my p3 thinkpad from the live cd. It has a broadcom chipset with bcmwl5a.inf driver for ndiswrapper.
have installed 1.0.8 on to hd and each time I boot I have to run wag with a haphazard result. seems to pick up the card only if before I seat it, i physically remove and reinsert the pc card. then it actually is able to see the network .next, I toggle the dhcp to run and then I'm off to mozilla.
what I would like to know is:
1. is there a better and quicker way to get this wifi connected each boot and
2. is there a way to save the settings truly so that the card connects automatically with each boot as most other systems do so I don't have to use wag each time I boot up
I'm not a wiz on the command line so please be as clear as possible in that regard
a pre-thanks to all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 23 Feb 2006, 19:16    Post subject:  

Look at this thread:

http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=5572&highlight=

Let us know how you get on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikey

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri 24 Feb 2006, 19:42    Post subject: re:autoconnect for wifi  

#this file called from rc.local0
#you can edit this file
#When firewall is installed, will append lines to this file...
modprobe ndiswrapper
iwconfig wlan0 essid xxxxx
rm /etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0
dhcpcd -t20 -h puppypc -d wlan0

as per your advise, I made these changes to the rc.local file
. it seems that the dhcp is still hanging and does not activate on boot. when I use wag to toggle it on, i get connected pronto.
thanks for your input
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Feb 2006, 22:15    Post subject:  

I believe your line-

rm /etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0

should read:

rm /etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.*

check back with the link given earlier, you might require some "sleep" in there as well (?)

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mikey

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Fri 24 Feb 2006, 23:45    Post subject: re:autoconnect wifi  

modprobe ndiswrapper
sleep 5
iwconfig wlan0 essid xxxx
sleep 5
rm /etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.*
sleep 5
dhcpcd -t20 -h puppypc -d wlan0
well, I made the adjustment that you recommended plus the sleeps but I still haven't gotten the dhcp to connect. during boot up , I noticed that the rm /etc/ dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.* could not be found. maybe it ois a syntax prob but the wag dhcp toggle gets me going in a jiffy. still would like to find a fully auto way to get this wifi loaded.
thanbks for your help
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikey

Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Sat 25 Feb 2006, 00:18    Post subject:  

Dear trapster
I cut and pasted to the rc.local file as specified in rick random's thread and now my wifi boots totally auto.
thanks for your help and his
best to all
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 25 Feb 2006, 04:52    Post subject:  

As I was advised, you can trim down the sleep values, then reboot, and see if it still works. It will save a few seconds in booting. I started with 5 everywhere just to read the screen to see whether things were working or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 25 Feb 2006, 08:00    Post subject:  

ah, this is what happens when I cut and paste without looking!

the line:

rm /etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-wlan0.*

should point to /etc/dhcpc..........not /etc/dhcpcd

which is probably why it could not be found when you tried it first.

Don't ya just love this forum!!

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0509s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0031s) ][ GZIP on ]