Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 22:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
TEENpup 2009 Legacy available for Download
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Author Message
skinnie

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 08:53    Post_subject:  

Hi,first of all thanks for this great puppy Smile
It works almost out of the box on my pc!
Although I have some "problems"

1st- I have an a4tech wineasy 4d serial ps2 mouse connected to a com port via a com to ps2 adapter,I changed xorg.conf and it works,but in the next boot it changes to ps2 again..

2nd -the suggestions on the boot appear always,even if I thick the box to don't do it.

3rd - my soundcard is not working,I think it is due to the version of alsa..I already ran alsa wizard,it detected but no sound..it is an audiotrack prodigy 7.1 pci (via envy24ht chip) - it works good in puppy 4.3 if it helps...any chance of getting a pup or pet with latest alsa or something?

Thanks for making an legacy machine working fast again Smile
PS:Noobie questions:
How do I "update" pupteen?
How do I put the desktop icons organized?

Thanks again Smile

_________________
AMD K6-3 450MHz-FIC VA503+ (Via MVP3 Chipset,JE4333 Bios)-2x128Mb PC133-3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb AGP-Seagate 40Gb HDD-TDK880N DVD Burner-Ali 6 USB 2.0 PCI Card-ISA 3C509b Nic - ISA Reveal RA300 Fm Card - Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 PCI (Envy24-HT)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 29 Nov 2009, 09:06    Post_subject:  

skinnie wrote:
Hi,first of all thanks for this great puppy Smile
It works almost out of the box on my pc!
Although I have some "problems"

1st- I have an a4tech wineasy 4d serial ps2 mouse connected to a com port via a com to ps2 adapter,I changed xorg.conf and it works,but in the next boot it changes to ps2 again..

2nd -the suggestions on the boot appear always,even if I thick the box to don't do it.

3rd - my soundcard is not working,I think it is due to the version of alsa..I already ran alsa wizard,it detected but no sound..it is an audiotrack prodigy 7.1 pci (via envy24ht chip) - it works good in puppy 4.3 if it helps...any chance of getting a pup or pet with latest alsa or something?

Thanks for making an legacy machine working fast again Smile
PS:Noobie questions:
How do I "update" pupteen?
How do I put the desktop icons organized?

Thanks again Smile


you can try http://puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/2.14series/alsa/

basically install all the packages and restart your Xserver or reboot your pc and then setup alsa
username:puppy
password:linux

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
skinnie

Joined: 07 Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Location: Portugal

PostPosted: Wed 02 Dec 2009, 16:19    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
skinnie wrote:
Hi,first of all thanks for this great puppy Smile
It works almost out of the box on my pc!
Although I have some "problems"

1st- I have an a4tech wineasy 4d serial ps2 mouse connected to a com port via a com to ps2 adapter,I changed xorg.conf and it works,but in the next boot it changes to ps2 again..

2nd -the suggestions on the boot appear always,even if I thick the box to don't do it.

3rd - my soundcard is not working,I think it is due to the version of alsa..I already ran alsa wizard,it detected but no sound..it is an audiotrack prodigy 7.1 pci (via envy24ht chip) - it works good in puppy 4.3 if it helps...any chance of getting a pup or pet with latest alsa or something?

Thanks for making an legacy machine working fast again Smile
PS:Noobie questions:
How do I "update" pupteen?
How do I put the desktop icons organized?

Thanks again Smile


you can try http://puppylinux.asia/tpp/ttuuxxx/2.14series/alsa/

basically install all the packages and restart your Xserver or reboot your pc and then setup alsa
username:puppy
password:linux

ttuuxxx


thanks a lot ttuuxxx,I'll give it a try this weekend..
Any tips on the other questions?

_________________
AMD K6-3 450MHz-FIC VA503+ (Via MVP3 Chipset,JE4333 Bios)-2x128Mb PC133-3Dfx Voodoo 3 3000 16Mb AGP-Seagate 40Gb HDD-TDK880N DVD Burner-Ali 6 USB 2.0 PCI Card-ISA 3C509b Nic - ISA Reveal RA300 Fm Card - Audiotrak Prodigy 7.1 PCI (Envy24-HT)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Laie

Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 295
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jan 2010, 05:37    Post_subject:  

On my notebook I have XP Crying or Very sad installed on sda1 (NTFS) and teenpup 2009 frugal on sda3 (ext2). Trying to mount sda1 I get a message "NTFS WARNING":

Code:

The ntfs-3g driver was unable to mount the NTFS
partition and returned this error message:
fusermount: mountpoint is not empty
fusermount: if you are sure this is safe, use the 'nonempty' mount option
Retrying mount ...
fusermount: mountpoint is not empty
fusermount: if you are sure this is safe, use the 'nonempty' mount option
Failed to mount NTFSUnmounting /dev/sda1 (BOOT)

So, the inbuilt kernel NTFS driver has been used
to mount the partition read-only.


This is inconvenient.
I tried chkdsk, I defragmented c:, no success.
Other puppies are able to mount sda1 read-write.
What can I do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1409
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jan 2010, 06:49    Post_subject:  

I've never had a problem mounting and transferring data between XP and TEENpup? Don't have an answer?
_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jan 2010, 06:53    Post_subject:  

removed
_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Laie

Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 295
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 21 Jan 2010, 16:26    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx wrote:
...install this and restart X-server and see how you go...

I came, installed an saw...
...Pmounts message: "ERROR: unable to mount sda1"...

...very inconvenient... Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gabe

Joined: 03 Apr 2009
Posts: 85
Location: Minnesota, USA

PostPosted: Sun 28 Feb 2010, 21:55    Post_subject:  

I tried searching, but I couldn't find the minimum system requirements. Are they same as Windows 98/2000?

I have an AMD K6 at 266mhz with 48MB RAM. Will TEENpup 2009 work as well as 98/2000 on it?

If not, is there any flavor of Puppy or Linux I can use on it with the same requirements as Windows 98 or Windows 2000? Both Windows 98 and Windows 2000 work on it, but Windows XP does not (48MB RAM is not enough).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1409
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar 2010, 09:48    Post_subject:  

Hello gabe,
I have TEENpup 2009 Legacy installed on a 500Mhz Celeron PC with 160 Mb's of Ram. I also had a 350Mhz Pentium III I believe it was with 192Mb's of Ram and they both run exceptable.
I think only having 48Mb's of Ram won't be enough and a Processor speed of 266Mhz is a bit low as well.
Maybe if you could find a bit more ram and take it to 128Mb's you might have more luck. Try booting TEENpup 2009 Legacy live from the CD and see what happens.
I'm not to hopefully that TEENpup will run on that PC in it's current state.

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1545

PostPosted: Mon 01 Mar 2010, 18:42    Post_subject:  

Hi, good to see someone else is trying to keep old machines working. Smile

There are Linuxes which will run in 48MB, such as Basic Linux (Steve Darnold's remarkable effort which runs off 2 floppies and is based on an old version of Slackware) and Deli Linux, which I've also used in the past.

As for Puppies, I haven't tried any on a computer that old but the ones I'd try on that machine would be PULP and Turbo Extreme, both of which are based on the 4 series.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS, Puppy Precise 5.71 Large, Muppy 008 and Puppy 3.00 Fire Hydrant Inferno.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
fragaldos

Joined: 03 Mar 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 03 Mar 2010, 16:34    Post_subject: hown to install etho with Teenpup legacy
Sub_title: doesn't work
 



i set the new system operating Teenpup legacy is beautifoul and it 's full of programs but ihad problems when i wanted to put in internet i puted my kays but doesn't work network P_PPoE CONECION NAME (EXAMPLE ) netgeer

USER NAME : I wrote my access but, without result , what's network ( i have this name ) i don't know what's is neccessary to write .
and in the end my pasword : i wrote but is impossible to conect for serfing .there is someone that can help to me to conect ???
in enother way i have key usb wireless Tenda but it not has been possible to find the driver to serf
i help that someone can help to me From Italy Filippo
galdos@tiscali.it

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TheProphet

Joined: 18 Feb 2008
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Wed 31 Mar 2010, 01:59    Post_subject:  

Got it going on two machines simultaneously, one (this) has a processor of about 800 mhz and it's a ten-year old board. and 690 megs of RAM. Of course I also swap living Hell out using a second EIDE and two SCSI HDs.

On this one the install went really smoothly, in point of actual fact I installed the Puppy for the other machine using this one, then put the disk int the other.

It wouldn't boot all the way from the CD on it. gives a bread fail when mounting the CD filesystem (squashfs) as unionfs.

But it boots all the way from the HD install. I used the "normal" install for it, I strong suspect the frugal would give me the same problem.

That machine is an older Celeron with just about 300 mhz of processor, and 190 megs of RAM. Although once I get rich I can upgrade the RAM.

So, mixed success on a PII /celeron with small RAM. Swap comes in really handy.

No luck installing it directly on the machine, but it boots and runs nicely once I got through all the various quirks.

I think also there would be a problem with the processor, it's a Celeron and the board has an AMD chipset. Intel doesn't play nice with others. It still works though, with the occasional hiccup.

Next real test project is to get it to run on a Sun-SPARC Panther board.

I understand SPARC is a lot of fun to work with.

For a serious headsplitter of a "legacy" translation "museum exhibit" machine, there's this ALL SCSI machine that IBM almost went bankrupt manufacturing, a PS2.

Which is a 25 mhz processor, a 25 mhz bus-speed and an architecture called "microchannel". Oh, and a 32 mb upper limit on the RAM.

THAT would be a feat.

_________________
He who skydive without parachute, jumps to own conclusion.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
svgt

Joined: 26 Mar 2008
Posts: 109
Location: Hamburg, Germany

PostPosted: Fri 13 May 2011, 16:20    Post_subject: Concurrent use of LegacyOS and Puppy 525  

Hi,

If I want to use the two Puppys at the same drive, there is a doubt about naming the partitions. LegacyOS wants to have a hdax partition with ext2. And Puppy 525 needs a sday partition with ext3. I should hold the menu.lst in which partition and what are the naming recommendations?

Regards,
Svgt
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0936s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]