Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Dec 2014, 17:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 008 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 7 [102 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
maddox

Joined: 28 Sep 2007
Posts: 453
Location: sometimes in France

PostPosted: Sat 06 Mar 2010, 22:57    Post subject:  

Quirky-008 using live-cd
Acer laptop "tm-4602LMi"
cpu-freq scaling chooses the correct values and they are correctly entered into the min max box.
However, when I close the lid, the cpu hibernates/suspends but it won't wake up completely.
Hit any key, it tries to wake-up, (screen, drive and fan) then falls back to sleep. Only way out is to power-off
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 07 Mar 2010, 06:10    Post subject:  

This morning I took short .ASF and .mov movies
and they played OK (not automatically) when I dragged them into xine
This may be the new Radeon card or the upgrades in Quirky.

Also used Menu / System / pdisk to great effect
deleting some minor, non-Puppy Linux known as Ubuntu Wink
(be careful noobs
- this is low level partitioning . . .)


Yesterday I watched a streaming movie from the BBC website
- basically I have been using Quirky 008 as my OS

I only use an OS (at this stage) as long as it does what I want
So far so good - several days now

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LoneRifle

Joined: 16 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 07 Mar 2010, 12:12    Post subject:  

Reporting everything working well on the Edubook. However, noticed that drivers for my wireless card don't support WPA. Is there a guide to replacing the drivers with ones that do support it? Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Mar 2010, 21:37    Post subject:  

LoneRifle wrote:
Reporting everything working well on the Edubook. However, noticed that drivers for my wireless card don't support WPA. Is there a guide to replacing the drivers with ones that do support it? Thanks.


pakt sent me a pm about that:

Quote:
Indeed, sound and wireless work. I have the Realtek 8188S adapter which works with the r8192s_usb module. It didn't show up in Pwireless but did in Dougal's wizard and works with WPA2 in spite of being warned by the wizard that it wouldn't.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5293
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 07 Mar 2010, 22:27    Post subject:  

Clearly the r8192s_usb driver is WPA-compatible, it simply needs to be specified as compatible in the Network Wizard:
line 322 of /usr/sbin/wag-profiles.sh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 03:21    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
aarf wrote:
pwireless2 as pointed out still need work on the intergration into connect wizard..
pgprs-connect still cant be found in the menu after the first setup i.e. menus are not refreshed after setup: this the last time will point that out.
pgprs-connect does connect from a terminal.


aarf,
One important feature of this new integrated networking is there are no longer arbitrary menu entries for individual network connection tools.

If you chose GPRS as the default tool, then you should have /usr/local/bin/defaultconnect with this in it:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
exec rxvt -title "pgprs-connect PRESS CTRL+C TO DISCONNECT" -e pgprs-connect


When you click on the 'connect' icon on the desktop, 'defaultconnect' script will run immediately.

...that's the idea anyway, the actual implementation has some rough edges, as this is just the "first take" at doing it.


connect-icon: although it is a good, although non-intuative system, it is not doing it for me.
my connection:
firstly i try pwirless2 for any open networks that are around, ok fine if there are,

but if not next is USB-cable-gprs to mobile phone which was fine when/if the menu entry got into network menu place but now if i have pwireless2 as default in quirky008, i then need to use pgprs-connect in a terminal because the gprs option is not in the right-click on connect-icon.

additionally now i also have an a faster bluetooth dongle in USB port used to connect to a bluetooth enabled mobile phone which works easily as a bluetooth connected modem in knopix531 but i can't see how to get it to connect in puppy. "internet by dialup or wireless modem" and "internet by wireless GPRS modem" both fail to see a bluetooth modem connection and jemimah's bluez ain't cutting it yet..

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
LoneRifle

Joined: 16 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 04:40    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
LoneRifle wrote:
Reporting everything working well on the Edubook. However, noticed that drivers for my wireless card don't support WPA. Is there a guide to replacing the drivers with ones that do support it? Thanks.


pakt sent me a pm about that:

Quote:
Indeed, sound and wireless work. I have the Realtek 8188S adapter which works with the r8192s_usb module. It didn't show up in Pwireless but did in Dougal's wizard and works with WPA2 in spite of being warned by the wizard that it wouldn't.


Thanks Barry. I actually got my Edubook from a supplier other than NorhTec, so my wireless adapter is actually based on a Ralink 3070 chipset. iirc trying to get Puppy to scan for networks on this chipset resulted in no networks being found, but I'll try again tonight.

As an aside, did you compile the Xorg driver for the RDC VGA controller onboard the Edubook? doesn't seem to be present at the usual path.. if you didn't don't worry about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Mon 08 Mar 2010, 08:17    Post subject:  

I know that Q8 and the others are not supposed to be working puppies. Barry use q to test the woof woof with different ideas and see how they work out.

But I hope later when somebody make use of woof that they fix the nVidia thing so even us who have bought a HP/Compaq with AMD cpu and nVidea graphics can see the desktop instead of a black screen.

No hurry, I can wait.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 04:00    Post subject: Simple Network Setup  

Here is my Simple Network Setup (SNS).

The PET can be installed into Quirky 008, but might cause trouble in older puppies, as it has /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit and rc.shutdown that might not be compatible with older pups.

Simple Network Setup can be run just by typing "sns" in a terminal.

It can also be launched by clicking the 'connect' icon on the desktop, then choose 'Internet by wired or wireless LAN', then another window will offer a choice between the Network Wizard and SNS.

If you set SNS as the default, then "exec sns" gets written to /usr/local/bin/defaultconnect. The boot script rc.sysinit reads this and will use SNS to make the connection. Also, the 'connect' icon on the desktop will run SNS immediately when clicked on.

Bug reports most welcome.

EDIT: If you are running Quirky 008, it is probably best to remove all the files /lib/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-hooks/99-*. These are part of Pwireless2.
sns-1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  sns-1.pet 
Filesize  32.81 KB 
Downloaded  738 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 04:41    Post subject:
Subject description: using in woof-Mar-4 tpup build
 

Hi

Using SNS in a tpup build from woof March 4

I previously had issues in this pup connecting with wireless, I fluked a connection with Pwireless2 by playing with Pwireless2 scripts on the command line but did not record what I did! Evil or Very Mad

___________

I installed sns-1 in tpup running pfix=ram. I tried it and the interface and available networks showed. Good. I chose the radio button of my essid, chose wep, entered key and hit connect. It failed. Tried again but no networks showed.

Here is the dhcpcd log

Code:
dhcpcd: sending commands to master dhcpcd process


This is what I was getting on the command line with my earlier efforts with Pwireless2.

I went and tried Pwireless2 (remember, I'm pfix=ram) and lo and behold it worked! There must have been something triggered by the sns-1 scripts. Weird but I'm posting now from my tpup. (It is very closely related to quirky for those who don't know).

Any further logs needed, or suggestions???

Cheers.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 08:20    Post subject:  

01micko,
Ok, can you try doing it all from the commandline. Boot up with pfix=ram, then run this:

You will have to substitute the variables where required. $INTERFACE is something like 'wlan0' or 'wlan1':

# ifconfig $INTERFACE up
# iwlist $INTERFACE scan
...from this you can find the $CHANNEL number.

# iwconfig $INTERFACE mode managed
# iwconfig $INTERFACE essid $ESSID
# iwconfig $INTERFACE channel $CHANNEL

$KEY will be a 10, 26 or 58 digit hexadecimal number...
# iwconfig $INTERFACE key $KEY

If all the the above completed without error, then you should be able to start the dhcpcd client daemon:

# dhcpcd $INTERFACE

...to confirm that this has succeeded, /etc/resolv.conf will have IP addresses in it.

If you get an error at any step above, that will help me to narrow down the problem. Ditto for anyone else reading this. The above steps are for WEP, not WPA.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 08:49    Post subject:  

Followed instructions... I got online on the second go.. but it seems weird.

The results are in PM I sent you, it is an exact copy/paste from Urxvt, so can't publish here.

Cheers.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10847
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 09:50    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
Followed instructions... I got online on the second go.. but it seems weird.

The results are in PM I sent you, it is an exact copy/paste from Urxvt, so can't publish here.

Cheers.


you can save it as a .txt file and tar.gz it then upload it on here, or use past.bin http://pastebin.ca/

like http://pastebin.ca/1831836

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 763
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 11:11    Post subject:    

Tried SNS, and then shinobar's net-setup-20100310.pet, but Quirky still does not work with Netgear WG111v2 or WG511. Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
upnorth


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)

PostPosted: Wed 10 Mar 2010, 19:04    Post subject: simple network setup SNS Q009 ipinfo
Subject description: simple network setup ipinfo
 

Some of the "extra stuff" on screen looks like stuff from:
dcpcd-hooks/20-resolv.conf

This from Q009 with preinstalled version sns.
update: now with sns-2.1

Otherwise everything was good.

EDIT: As a workaround, I removed comment lines from /etc/resolv.conf and edited the script /usr/sbin/ipinfo at line 84 to be:
<label>\"${nl}${var04}${nl}${nl}${var05}\"</label>
The display is now normal under the DNS tab. Idea
For some reason, the markup <b> and <tt> was interpreted as standard text
on line 84 of ipinfo.
ipinfo_cut.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   27.64 KB
 Viewed   1763 Time(s)

ipinfo_cut.jpg


Last edited by upnorth on Sun 14 Mar 2010, 13:30; edited 6 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 7 [102 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1057s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]