Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 06:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
TI4Linux
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 16:19    Post subject:  TI4Linux
Subject description: TI 99/4A Emulator - Not compiling.
 

I recently downloaded and tried to compile TI4Linux. So far, nothing. On Puppy I get a complaint about not finding the command "make". On PCLinuxOS, I get complaints about code not compliant for C but for Ada95, yet even with Ada95 support it won't compile. Looking at the Makefile I find this line:

Quote:
archive: clean

@-delete force RAM:TI4Amiga.lha
lha -r RAM:TI4Amiga :TI4Amiga


Now then if this program is supposed to be a TI emulator for Linux, is it possible it won't compile because the code is calling for an Amiga enviroment?

I am now trying to learn C/C++ so I don't quite understand what I am looking at. Any help would be appreciated.


Note: I won't even try to rewrite this COBOL. Learning C/C++ will be easier as by the time I finished rewriting it, I would have learned C/C++ and fixed the source code anyway.

_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 16:22    Post subject:  

There are a total of 21 files. 20 if I don't count the "diskrom.bin" file (which I can't seem to open anyway). I suppose that if asked, I could post the code from each the files and we can try to work through it together and those with more knowledge than I can tell me how the code is supposed to work and why. I hope to learn something from this.
_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 19:42    Post subject: Re: TI4Linux
Subject description: TI 99/4A Emulator - Not compiling.
 

KF6SNJ wrote:
I recently downloaded and tried to compile TI4Linux. So far, nothing. On Puppy I get a complaint about not finding the command "make".


you will need to download the devx for your version of puppy and read file:///usr/share/doc/HOWTO-program.htm for starters... more info in my signature - pet packaging

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 19:55    Post subject: Re: TI4Linux
Subject description: TI 99/4A Emulator - Not compiling.
 

technosaurus wrote:
KF6SNJ wrote:
I recently downloaded and tried to compile TI4Linux. So far, nothing. On Puppy I get a complaint about not finding the command "make".


you will need to download the devx for your version of puppy and read file:///usr/share/doc/HOWTO-program.htm for starters... more info in my signature - pet packaging


Using MacPup 4.0 with DEVX_400.sfs

_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 19:59    Post subject:  

Ok. I tried mounting DEVX_400.sfs. Here is the result when I tried "make" this time:

Quote:
cc -02 -c -o ti99emul.o ti99emul.c
cc:error trying to exec 'cc1': execvp: No such file or directory

_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Mon 15 Mar 2010, 22:00    Post subject:  

I am assuming you mean macpup dingo?

you need to use the boot manager to load the sfs - you can't just mount it

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Tue 16 Mar 2010, 01:11    Post subject:  

Alright, got the Boot Manager setup to load DEVX_400.sfs, then rebooted. Then went directly to rxvt, went to the appropriate directory and ran "make". Results? Exactly the same as before. Wonder what I'm doing wrong. I don't know. Maybe I am too stuck in the past to understand this..... :cry:
_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 05:30    Post subject:  

Can post a link to the source you are using?
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 10:49    Post subject:  

It can be found at:

ftp://sunsite.unc.edu/pub/Linux/system/emulators/ti4linux-0.2.tar.gz

_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 10:50    Post subject:  

It can be found at:

ftp://sunsite.unc.edu/pub/Linux/system/emulators/ti4linux-0.2.tar.gz

_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 10:52    Post subject:  

I am tempted to copy the source by hand with a pencil into a notebook and, using a book on C++ programming, see if I can't figure out how the program is supposed to work and see if I can find why it doesn't work (at least for me).
_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 11:47    Post subject:  

there's another one here http://www.mrousseau.org/programs/ti99sim/archives/ti99sim-0.0.9.src.tar.gz
you need sdl+Dev to compile it plus I edited rules.mak file first and removed the extra O's.
not sure if it will compile, I don't have sdl installed, but from the looks of output, looks like it would work.
ttuuxxx

homepage
http://www.mrousseau.org/programs/ti99sim/

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4351

PostPosted: Wed 17 Mar 2010, 22:30    Post subject:  

It would have been nice if you had shared the info from the README file


This is the source for a TI-99/4A emulator. By no means should this

set of source files be considered complete. I hope some gifted C-Programmers

will examine them thoroughly and make something beautiful out of it.

Already this code emulates a TI computer almost at its real speed on a

486-DX2-66MHz. Some speed sacrifices will have to be made in order to

emulate any graphics. But I trust the result will be satisfying enough

to make my efforts worth wile.



It is out of my hands now...





Ton Brouwer, February 18th 1994.

e-mail: ersentb@er.ele.tue.nl

or ton2@zld.rws.nl

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 03:42    Post subject:  

@technosaurus, I'm sorry about that. I did not give much thought to the read me as it did not contain any instructions with regards to compiling.

@ttuuxxx, I did not know of that TI emulator. I have now downloaded it. I will attempt to compile it. However, before I do, I will look at the rules.mak file and see if I can figure out what you suggest editting out.

Truthfully, there is a purpose to why I am trying to get this to work and its two-fold. Here it is:

1) My employer has asked me to write two articles for the company news letter. One on sports. The other on nostralgic computing. As it happens, I own a working TI 99/4A home computer. I think it would be a terrific picture if I could have both the 99/4A and the emulator (from my laptop) running side by side.

2) I am seriously thinking of trying to create a new puplet that has a fully emulated TI 99/4A work enviroment. I have not decided yet if I want to cripple it at that or if I want the emulator to run from within an otherwise fully functional modern desktop enviroment.

That is why I have an interest in getting a TI 99/4A up running. Yes, I know, its a bit personal. Still, thank you to both of you for the help and suggestions at this point. It has given me some points to ponder. I will see what I can do after work on Thursday.

_________________
The only windows I have are those on my home.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 18 Mar 2010, 06:24    Post subject:  

Do you own a commodore 64? I had one as a kid and a TI99/4a but the Ti99/4a on linux look like they all are work in progress, I haven't came across one that works on the other hand I found a commodore emulator that emulates lots of different Commodore machines, I then converted my printer menu in 2.14X to a Commodore selector Smile via the games menu
ttuuxxx

Ps a windows TI99/4a emulator with wine might be a better way to go, that would like having a emulated emulator emulator version. lol say that 10 times
Commodore.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   55.61 KB
 Viewed   705 Time(s)

Commodore.jpg

c-64.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.59 KB
 Viewed   716 Time(s)

c-64.jpg


_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [37 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0770s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]