Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 00:58
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 010 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
LoneRifle

Joined: 16 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 05:12    Post subject:  

Barry, if you can, could you PM me the instructions to compile the RDC driver? I'll like to have a go at it myself..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 06:22    Post subject: Bootmanager strange /mnt/home indication.  

In the attached image it is seen that bootmanager indicates /mnt/home is on sda1, while in reality it is on sdb7

How comes?

See also the contents of PUPSTATE:
Code:
PUPMODE=12
PDEV1='sda1'
DEV1FS='ntfs'
PUPSFS='sdb7,ext2,/quirky009/quirky-009.sfs'
PUPSAVE='sdb7,ext2,/quirky009/quirkysave-R40_quirky009.2fs'
PMEDIA=''
#v3.97: kernel with libata pata has both sata and pata drives in ATADRIVES...
ATADRIVES='sda '
#these directories are unionfs layers in /initrd...
SAVE_LAYER='/pup_rw'
PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'
#The partition that has the quirkysave file is mounted here...
PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
#(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.
#this file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
ZDRV=''
#complete set of modules in the initrd (moved to main f.s.)...
ZDRVINIT='no'
PSWAPFILE=''
PSAVEMARK=''
FASTPARTS='sda1|ntfs sda2|vfat '

Note that I use the Lin'N'Win method where quirky009's vmlinuz and initrd are in subdirectory quirky09 in sda1:
Code:
title Puppy Quirky 009
   kernel (hd0,0)/quirky09/vmlinuz
   initrd (hd0,0)/quirky09/initrd.gz
   boot
home-sda1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   60.26 KB
 Viewed   1697 Time(s)

home-sda1.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 07:35    Post subject:  

LoneRifle: Regarding the RDC Xorg driver. Here are the instructions Barry sent me:
Quote:
It's easy to compile, although it is really designed for Xorg 7.3. These are the notes I made compiling it for 7.5:

# ./configure --prefix=/usr/X11R7 --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var --build=i486-t2-linux-gnu
# make

rdc_2dtool.c:28:27: error: xf86Resources.h: No such file or directory
rdc_2dtool.c:29:21: error: xf86RAC.h: No such file or directory

...i copied xf86Resources.h, xf86RAC.h, xf86str.h from xorg 7.3 (puppy 431) /usr/X11R7/include/xorg

...compiles!

Note: I had to execute
Code:
# sh ./autogen.sh
before the ./configure line.

The driver source: http://www.deviceonchip.com/index.php?option=com_rokdownloads&view=file&task=download&id=15%3Avideo-driver-a-display-switcher&Itemid=27

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
T_Hobbit


Joined: 27 May 2006
Posts: 400
Location: Portugal - Lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 08:03    Post subject:  

Using 010.
Tapping doesn't work, even after changing xorg.conf tapping option's from 0 to 220.
And my laptop screen is very dark and a little bit green. ATI card and xorg driver...
Ayttm still doesn't work with other location than US.
My problems. So far... Razz

_________________
T_Hobbit
Idea Rebuilding old DOS Machine for Wing Commander Privateer and Puppy Exclamation Old spare parts to give away - anyone interested Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
LoneRifle

Joined: 16 Jan 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 10:04    Post subject:  

pakt wrote:
LoneRifle: Regarding the RDC Xorg driver. Here are the instructions Barry sent me:
Quote:
It's easy to compile, although it is really designed for Xorg 7.3. These are the notes I made compiling it for 7.5:

# ./configure --prefix=/usr/X11R7 --sysconfdir=/etc --localstatedir=/var --build=i486-t2-linux-gnu
# make

rdc_2dtool.c:28:27: error: xf86Resources.h: No such file or directory
rdc_2dtool.c:29:21: error: xf86RAC.h: No such file or directory

...i copied xf86Resources.h, xf86RAC.h, xf86str.h from xorg 7.3 (puppy 431) /usr/X11R7/include/xorg

...compiles!

Note: I had to execute
Code:
# sh ./autogen.sh
before the ./configure line.

The driver source: http://www.deviceonchip.com/index.php?option=com_rokdownloads&view=file&task=download&id=15%3Avideo-driver-a-display-switcher&Itemid=27


Checking the git logs at Xorg indicated that they did away with the RAC and Resources APIs with 7.5. Are you sure copying from xorg 7.3 is a good idea? Surely a better idea would be to remove references to those APIs?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 15:46    Post subject: "connect" probing failure, usbserial
Subject description: Motorola VE465 mobile phone, modem mode
 

Quirky010, pfix=ram

I plugged in my Motorola VE465 mobile phone,
in "modem" mode, with the USB cable.

I clicked on "connect".
Internet Connection Wizard said:
"Current setup/status no modem detected"

That's the first problem.

I then clicked "Connect to Internet by dialup analog or ..."
"Warning! No modem detected! You cannot dialout!"

That's the second problem.

"Connection status log
A modem was not automatically detected,
so you need to click the 'probe' button.
Do this now!"
"Test
MODEM
probe"
I clicked "probe".
"PupDial modem probe
PROBE"
I clicked "PROBE" (what's with All These Probes???).
The Wizard came back with "no modem detected" again.

That's the third problem.

I then did:
cat /proc/bus/usb/devices
modprobe -v usbserial vendor=0x... product=0x...
[I used vendor and product values from the "cat".
Sorry, copy&paste doesn't work from urxvt.]

Then the PupDial modem probe worked!

That is the Fourth problem:
That the probing does not work until I enter
some strange, weird, goobledygook
that no mobile phone user is ever going to guess.

Thank you,
Eddie Maddox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 17:42    Post subject: Re: Bootmanager strange /mnt/home indication.  

Béèm wrote:
In the attached image it is seen that bootmanager indicates /mnt/home is on sda1, while in reality it is on sdb7

How comes?

See also the contents of PUPSTATE:
Code:
PUPMODE=12
PDEV1='sda1'
DEV1FS='ntfs'
PUPSFS='sdb7,ext2,/quirky009/quirky-009.sfs'
PUPSAVE='sdb7,ext2,/quirky009/quirkysave-R40_quirky009.2fs'
PMEDIA=''
#v3.97: kernel with libata pata has both sata and pata drives in ATADRIVES...
ATADRIVES='sda '
#these directories are unionfs layers in /initrd...
SAVE_LAYER='/pup_rw'
PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'
#The partition that has the quirkysave file is mounted here...
PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
#(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.
#this file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
ZDRV=''
#complete set of modules in the initrd (moved to main f.s.)...
ZDRVINIT='no'
PSWAPFILE=''
PSAVEMARK=''
FASTPARTS='sda1|ntfs sda2|vfat '

Note that I use the Lin'N'Win method where quirky009's vmlinuz and initrd are in subdirectory quirky09 in sda1:
Code:
title Puppy Quirky 009
   kernel (hd0,0)/quirky09/vmlinuz
   initrd (hd0,0)/quirky09/initrd.gz
   boot
Not the same as calling boot manager in puppy 431. The comment is more logic.
mnt-home-as-pup_save.png
 Description   
 Filesize   38.13 KB
 Viewed   1567 Time(s)

mnt-home-as-pup_save.png


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maddox

Joined: 28 Sep 2007
Posts: 453
Location: sometimes in France

PostPosted: Mon 22 Mar 2010, 20:01    Post subject:  

Quirky-010,
Test conditions, laptop acer travelmate 4600, live-cd and pfix=ram
Testing the suspend/hibernate mode with/without the cpu freq scaling
close the lid, after 2-3 sec the portable suspends/hibernates... open lid, hit any key it resumes correctly.
close lid, then unplug power supply, wait a few minutes, open lid and hit any key -> resume OK.
unplug power supply, then close lid, portable suspends/hibernates after 2-3 seconds .. open lid and hit any key -> resume OK.
run an application, ex: abiword, type a few characters then close lid ... wait a bit
open lid and hit any key -> resume OK : abiword open and text is still there.
- same results with/without "cpu freq scaling" activated, good news
-** removable media are redetected after resume... live-cd on dvd-rw drive
One step at a time, "hit any key" will correctly wake-up the portable, but mouse movements have no effect.

About screen resolution and backplane brightness (ATI on board) :
I have 2 resolutions available and correctly detected : 1400x1050x16 and 1400x1050x24 (see my sig : ATI X600)
I've allways used the highest resolution/color depth possible and did not notice the dark-screen effect until I tried it in quirky-009
- 16 bit color depth gives a much darker screen (backplane neon), while 24 color depth is normal,
they both seem to have 15 levels of brightness, but the 16 bit depth max level is much darker than the 24 bit one
The fn brightness buttons will let me choose the brightness level of the backplane neon.
maybe a bit is used for max level brightness ? just a guess on my side
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ICPUG

Joined: 24 Jul 2005
Posts: 1290
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 09:05    Post subject:  

Over the last week Linux has been kicking me in the teeth. First, the latest version of Knoppix, 6.3, would not fire up on my Laptop. It goes through the process but just before it gets to displaying the desktop it hangs. This is the first Knoppix that has done that.

Now Quirky010 does the same thing - the first Puppy to do it as well!

Normally, I don't enter the testing process so early but I have a dire need to play the latest videos from YouTube and Barry boasted that Quirky played every video file he threw at it. That was a challenge. Downloaded Quirky010 did a frugal install and fired up.

On my desktop, (pentium 350MHz processor, ATI graphics card) all was well. The Quirky desktop appeared. GMplayer got my video to play more than Gxine ever did but only the sound played normally. The first frame of the video displayed but would not move along with the sound. I could move it with the slider and got some very strange effects. I put down this behaviour to the slow processor so decided to frugal install Quirky on my laptop, (1.5GHz Celeron and Intel 810 graphic chipset).

Quirky did everything normally until it got the point where it displays the desktop. All I got was a blank black screen and it hung. I wonder if the fault is the Intel graphics?

With Puppy 4.3.1 I could get into a desktop but I could not change the screen resolution until I changed the standard Intel driver to the intel810 driver. With Quirky I cannot get to a desktop so how can I change the driver??? Help!

As Knoppix appeared to be doing something similar I wonder if this Intel problem is standard to the kernel or something. If so then Linux has got a problem in my eyes. I am not going to change my laptop and it would appear Linux has decided it would not be compatible with a very common older chipset. Of course the problem may be nothing to do with the graphics driver!

One other point. On my desktop, Puppy 4.3.1 reverted back to behaviour I had not seen since very early puppies. The PC when shutdown would not turn off. I can cope with pressing a button on my PC. Quirky010 has the same problem but displays some messages I cannot make any sense of on the screen before hanging.

As a side issue maybe I can solve my video problem if there is a version of the GMPlayer in Quirky available as a pet or sfs for Puppy 4.3.1. Will the following (from the Quirky repository) work in 4.3.1 or will I need to get something else? Does it have all the codecs?

gnome-mplayer-20100124-1-q1.pet

Do I have to load flashplayer10-10.0.42.34.pet as well if I want to play h264 flv files or is that only for the browser plugin?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tubby

Joined: 24 Jan 2009
Posts: 317

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 10:06    Post subject:  

I have just run your link and it played OK, copied the download from temp to downloads and rebooted.
File plays OK with GNOME-Mplayer by clicking on it, i am using a frugal install of Quirky10 on a Packard Bell 1.8G laptop and 384M ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 13:02    Post subject:  

Better bring gtkhash back it's more usable than the ghasher because of it's copy paste ability. Also in ghasher it's confusing the term "Digest" that is being used in order to calculate the hashes.

Once I got an obvious kernel panic while trying to load the initrd file of the quirky, the pc frozed but no report of kernel panic, and the reason for it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 13:33    Post subject:  

ICPUG wrote:


Quirky did everything normally until it got the point where it displays the desktop. All I got was a blank black screen and it hung. I wonder if the fault is the Intel graphics?

With Puppy 4.3.1 I could get into a desktop but I could not change the screen resolution until I changed the standard Intel driver to the intel810 driver. With Quirky I cannot get to a desktop so how can I change the driver??? Help!


I have the same black screen problem. Inspiron 700m, 1.6GHz, 855gm
intel graphics.
The first 2 Quirkies with Xvesa loaded okay. Version 003 switched
to a stripped Xorg and haven't been able to reach desktop since.

As Barry said, Quirky is an experiment not designed to be usefull
to everyone.

With other Puppies I use Xvesa with this Intel graphic card. Video
players and files don't play correctly with xorg.....and I prefer the
1024 x 768 screen res that Xvesa allows on this 12" wide-screen
laptop.

The latest version of GeexBox switched to Xorg and that has the
same black screen hang up.

Surprisingly; Mipup2 does xorg gxine video right; but won't with
xvesa.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stu90


Joined: 25 Feb 2010
Posts: 1401
Location: England. Dell Inspiron 1501. Dpup

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 14:26    Post subject:  

As with the previous versions of frugal Quirky touchpad double tap on my dell inspiron 1501 laptop is not working, having to left click the mouse button every times is a real deal breaker.

The new SNS network tool however is a real plus and has made setting up a wireless network connection very easy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 17:57    Post subject: Quirky pupmode13 in quirky 010  

vmliuz and initrd in sda1 in a directory.
Menu.lst boots from it.

In sdb1, a flash drive, contains a save file.
quirky-010.sfs is equally on on the flash drive (sdb1)

I seem to be in PUPMODE13, which says boot from a flash drive, which is in fact not the case.
How comes? Is it correct?

This is in PUPSTATE
Code:
PUPMODE=13
PDEV1=''
DEV1FS=''
PUPSFS='sdb1,ext3,/quirky-010.sfs'
PUPSAVE='sdb1,ext3,/quirkysave-R40_quirky010-test-USB.2fs'
PMEDIA=''
#v3.97: kernel with libata pata has both sata and pata drives in ATADRIVES...
ATADRIVES='sda '
#these directories are unionfs layers in /initrd...
SAVE_LAYER='/pup_ro1'
PUP_LAYER='/pup_ro2'
#The partition that has the quirkysave file is mounted here...
PUP_HOME='/mnt/dev_save'
#(in /initrd) ...note, /mnt/home is a link to it.
#this file has extra kernel drivers and firmware...
ZDRV=''
#complete set of modules in the initrd (moved to main f.s.)...
ZDRVINIT='no'
PSWAPFILE=''
PSAVEMARK=''
FASTPARTS='sda1|ntfs sda2|vfat '
This is in menu.lst
Code:
title Puppy Quirky 010
   kernel (hd0,0)/quirky10/vmlinuz
   initrd (hd0,0)/quirky10/initrd.gz
   boot

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 23 Mar 2010, 21:45    Post subject:  

01micko,
Ooooh, I was puzzled that you weren't getting the timeout test after the second STEP5a in SNS.

I think I found out why, FLAGERR variable needs to be reset, see inserted line 391:

Would you mind retrying it again, and if it still fails, could you post that log file again thanks.
sns.gz
Description  I live at /usr/local/simple_network_setup
gz

 Download 
Filename  sns.gz 
Filesize  8.72 KB 
Downloaded  342 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [125 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1175s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]