Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 23:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
big size puppy for small ram
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 11:36    Post_subject:  big size puppy for small ram  

puppy 4.3.1 is always copied sfs to ram, so ram it mustbe bigger than sfs.

the problem is i made some puppy and make it bigger than ram size. how to make it not copied to ram ?
pfix=noram not work, if work mybe it will be solution Very Happy

i see an other puppy like tenpup that biger than ram size, but can run well on 128mb ram even it more time to boot up but its okey as long it work.

_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 888

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 16:56    Post_subject:  

pri,

If your SFS file is bigger than the available ram, then the SFS file won't load in memory.

If you want to be sure that it DOES NOT load into memory (even if enough ram is available) then you need to change the puppy "initrd.gz" startup file, since the "NORAM" option has been eliminated.

I think you may have to change the "initrd" code. As I recall, it is set at around 230M.

If you search for "COPY2RAM" in the "initrd" file and then look further for a test for "RAMSIZE", you could change "RAMSIZE" to some lower number.

I'm not sure why you would want to do this, and maybe I don't understand the question.

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1857
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 17:14    Post_subject:  

If you had a Linux swap partition I believe this would be used like ram although slower.
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 05 Apr 2010, 17:29    Post_subject:  

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=52596
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4425

PostPosted: Tue 06 Apr 2010, 15:46    Post_subject:  

the init in woof already has the fix I proposed in the thread abushcrafter posted - you can build the initrd.gz with woof and manually swap it out using isomaster (just make sure your versions match ... 431 on init requires 431 in the sfs in /etc/puppyversion and /etc/DISTROSPECS)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 05:12    Post_subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
the init in woof already has the fix I proposed in the thread abushcrafter posted - you can build the initrd.gz with woof and manually swap it out using isomaster (just make sure your versions match ... 431 on init requires 431 in the sfs in /etc/puppyversion and /etc/DISTROSPECS)
oh I might do that for my remaster...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pri


Joined: 09 Oct 2009
Posts: 330
Location: Bandung Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 07:30    Post_subject:  

build initrd.gz with woof ? i cant find it Very Happy give me a clue Smile
_________________
Learning by Doing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4425

PostPosted: Wed 07 Apr 2010, 09:33    Post_subject:  

thus far the only way to get woof is to download bones from the quirky repo on ibiblio and follow the instructions at bkhome.org/bones ... AFAIK there are no snapshot tarballs or anything (I think there is a howto in the forum as well)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 5043
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Thu 08 Apr 2010, 02:02    Post_subject:  

Same problem I had with MediaPup, it tried to load a 320MB SFS file into 256MB of ram!
If you don`t have a swap Puppy doesn`t account for that, not good...
The pfix=noram is tossed out and ignored during bootup. I had to hack fix it to make it work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0643s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]