Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 15:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 1.0 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 14 [200 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 20:43    Post subject:  Quirky 1.0 feedback
Subject description: First official release
 

Blog announcement here:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01559

Kindly report any issues, bugs or good experiences!

I will be monitoring this thread, working toward Quirky 1.0.1 (or whatever).

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 20:58    Post subject: Quirky 1.0 feedback
Subject description: video
 

I've tried quirky 1.0 on ati,intel,and nvidia.It used the radeon driver on two but vesa on the newest laptop which has a mobility radeon hd5470.Intel worked fine.I have two with nvidia cards in them and one used the nvidia driver but I can't get quirky to work on the other.Lupu 115 works fine on the one pc that won't run quirky and puppy 431 also works on it with vesa.
anyhow, thanks for the new 1.0

p.s. the problem pc is an ACER AX1200-E1651A
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 21:03    Post subject:  

First dvd I played in gnome-mplayer led to "high temp warning"
Inspiron 700m.
Looking forward to "Vary Wary"

Lucid versions won't even reach X setup on this machine.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 21:08    Post subject:  

Downloaded Firefox 3.6.3 from Mozilla. Unpacked it into /root and made a desktop shortcut. Picked a smooth font. Runs perfectly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9203
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 21:30    Post subject:  

I did a quick set of CUPS tests and everything works. You just have to run the Wizard once to enable some patches. The HP printer/scanner updates from here work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2127
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 22:27    Post subject: Quirky 1.0 feedback
Subject description: Seamonkey crash
 

Playing a video at cnn caused seamonkey to crash.

I downloaded the latest firefox from mozilla and videos at cnn worked fine.

I tried seamonkey again and videos at cnn don't cause seamonkey to crash anymore after installing firefox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 23:45    Post subject: 800x600 display  

Sharp 300MHz/64MB
800x600x24 display
report-video looks good

On first boot, probe video, some options like the 'C' column 1024x768 are not lined up.

BootManager is too tall

BootFlash: make USB drive bootable
is too wide and then its 'More Help' is too tall.

Puppy hardware-interface information is also too tall.
.

Last edited by broomdodger on Wed 05 May 2010, 01:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 269
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 00:09    Post subject: quirky help page  

Sharp 300MHz/64MB
Not enough to run SeaMonkey, well it does run but takes about 3 minutes to load, after much harddrive churning.

Downloaded elinks from PPM, it works great, writing with it.

console opens elinks
elinks opens the quirky help page, the file shortcutkeys.htm is missing.

On first start, sda1 generic icon, after changing dock prefs and mounting sda1 the custon icon shows.

gnumeric works.
paint, draw open quickly.
even abiword opens fairly quickly.

All dock icons except blinky show up after restart, eth0 always works.
Doing 'Fbpanel refresh menu and tray' blinky arrives.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7835
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 01:48    Post subject:  

No complaints here, it does what it does and well Smile .. Nice Quirky. The wife still runs Q-006 on her machine, very stably I might add, but I will sneak Q-1 on there, the ext-3 save is the real winner I think.

For those who want to run JWM, there is a tip here to get your tray icons working with the background colour. I was a bit slow in mentioning that one earlier..

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
divisionmd


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 02:12    Post subject:  

Hello,

- Testing Quirky 1.0 on a Lenovo PC with an ATI card and it works ok.

- But want to compile ATI drivers (original) where do i download the kernel source (.sfs) for Puppy 1.0 ?

Thanks for help,

Best regards,
Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5861
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 02:13    Post subject:  

Quirky 1.0 is working fine out of the box here on my old test P3 with a fresh frugal install. Smile Nothing really to complain about here either. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1697

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 02:33    Post subject: geode video driver  

I did point out on quirky021 feedback that the 2.11.7 geode video driver is broken and that 2.11.8 is OK.
Yet quirky 1.0 is released with the broken driver Confused

PS: Just replacing the geode_drv.so with the one from the Lupu builds "solves" the problem in quirky1.0 and can be now used on AMD-Geode-based boards.
Posted from a Quirky1.0-running Geode board ... Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Wed 05 May 2010, 03:00; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
daftdog


Joined: 21 Jun 2006
Posts: 120
Location: Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 02:35    Post subject:  

First iso for a while that connects my Broadcom wifi out of the box.
Both network connection apps (Wizard and Barry's) found my wireless lan but Barry's couldn't connect because my ESSID is hidden.

_________________
"We are monkeys with money and guns." Tom Waits
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 02:38    Post subject:  

New videos here please - snuggle Puppy? Shocked
http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Quirky

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 05:00    Post subject: Re: Quirky 1.0 feedback
Subject description: First official release
 

Fbpanel disappears when switching desktop. Returns only through menu:

Openbox > Desktops > desktop1 > Go there.

In contrast to jwm, Openbox does not provide outline mode for moving windows. The result is some jerky movement. This makes a feeling that Quirky is slower than other puppies.

Still using VMware. The rest of features seem to be OK.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 14 [200 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0871s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0126s) ][ GZIP on ]