Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 11:43
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Pnote 0.2 - desktop notepad
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 06:13    Post_subject:  

technosaurusHave you tested this idea? I can't see how the field can get focus after another window has been opened.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4353

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 06:49    Post_subject:  

That's what I ran into too, so I guess that is out unless there is some way to grab focus....I'm not complaining though, since this is what makes the keyboard work so nicely.
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 11:20    Post_subject:  

zigbert wrote:
seaside wrote:
Code:
  <action signal="focus-out-event">echo "$PAD" | xclip -i -selection clipboard</action>
Great stuff. Included for next release.


Thank you
Sigmund


To be able to paste into a terminal, vim, etc., I think pnote has to be open..which happens if "check exit" action is removed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Wed 05 May 2010, 19:00    Post_subject:  

I'm wondering if it's worthwhile to have the clipboard action be the default.

If you didn't realize that just leaving the window would wipe out something specifically placed earlier on the clipboard, it might be confusing.

I know it was my suggestion, but perhaps better for a specific use as an option. Very Happy

jpeps- Yes, the selection buffer is used to paste into terminals.

Cheers,
s
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 02:11    Post_subject:  

Windowed version gets both the selection buffer & traditional clipboard.
pnote-gray.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  pnote-gray.png 
Filesize  150.79 KB 
Downloaded  445 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 15:31    Post_subject:  

Is there a way to copy ONLY selected text to xclip ?
_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
seaside

Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 887

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 19:49    Post_subject:  

zigbert wrote:
Is there a way to copy ONLY selected text to xclip ?


Code:
xclip  -i -selection primary


But..... I think it gets wiped out if the program exits.

Cheers,
s

(EDIT) NO,it isn't wiped: Just tried it after Pnote exit - it still pastes in a terminal and is not on clipboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Thu 06 May 2010, 23:46    Post_subject:  

think it's just writing everything to the buffer instead of the clipboard...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2014, 05:13    Post_subject:  

Hi Sigmund !

i'm trying to dig into the code to get Pnote working on icewm window manager ...

but till now i did not have found a solution ...
neither trying jpep's gtkdialog flavour.. Crying or Very sad

any idea would be welcome

thanks in advance
charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5753
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2014, 09:04    Post_subject:  

Hello Charlie
I have not used IceWM for ages, and have no idea on how to set it all up.

Sorry
Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1015
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2014, 12:32    Post_subject:  

Thanks for replying, Sigmund !

Edited:
I thought finding a workaround for it ... but nope ! Crying or Very sad
Using Menu/Utilities/Xbinkeys Config Tool does not work under Icewm WM.
It just work one time just after doing "Apply Save & Exit" in Xbinkeys Config Tool! (although there is a xbindkeys symlink in /root/Strartup). It does not longer work after closing the pnotes window.

(When finished to enter a text inside the Pnotes window, the Pnotes window shuts off by moving the mouses cursor inside it and leaving the window.)

I found another solution:
adding a keys combination like
Code:
key "Alt+Ctrl+w"      pnote

inside /root/.icewm/keys works Smile

Greetings
Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0792s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0197s) ][ GZIP on ]