Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 17 Sep 2019, 02:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 1.0 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 10 of 14 [200 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
looseSCREWorTWO

Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 812
Location: Australia, 1999 Toshiba laptop, 512mb RAM, no HDD, 431 Retro & 421 Retro

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 10:59    Post subject:
Subject description: Gparted doesn't detect Unallocated Space on second HDD
 

I've just noticed that Quirky's Gparted does not detect Unallocated space on my second Hard Drive. I have 2 X 40gb HDDs on my Acer desktop.

5.78 GB of Unallocated Space shows up on Gparted under Puppy 421 Retro (see 1.jpg) but doesn't show up on Quirky's Gparted (see 2..jpg)
2.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  2.jpg 
Filesize  79.12 KB 
Downloaded  562 Time(s) 
1.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  1.jpg 
Filesize  127.52 KB 
Downloaded  538 Time(s) 

_________________
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11775
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 11:16    Post subject:
Subject description: Gparted doesn't detect Unallocated Space on second HDD
 

looseSCREWorTWO wrote:
I've just noticed that Quirky's Gparted does not detect Unallocated space on my second Hard Drive. I have 2 X 40gb HDDs on my Acer desktop.

5.78 GB of Unallocated Space shows up on Gparted under Puppy 421 Retro (see 1.jpg) but doesn't show up on Quirky's Gparted (see 2..jpg)
How does it come you have a hdb device and a sdb device?
Do you have a hda/sda device also?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12628
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 11:41    Post subject:
Subject description: Gparted doesn't detect Unallocated Space on second HDD
 

Béèm wrote:
How does it come you have a hdb device and a sdb device?


The first example is from 4.21 Retro which I believe was still using the old "hd" notation for hard drives.

@looseSCREWorTWO: Try using the "df -h" command. It may tell you the actual status of the drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 5485
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 13:20    Post subject:  

Something odd has been happening with HD detection (or not!) on several recent releases of Q on my systems. Shortage of time has caused me to swap HW around until I hit a winning combination.
Latest Vector looks nice but cannot get LILO to behave. Unacceptable at this stage that folks, esp. incomers, should have to tangle with an obsolete LILO or an overly ambitious GRUB2. Coders responsible should stop playing machoman and provide a simple boot system that is understable by everyone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 14:29    Post subject:  

BarryK, how about updating the xf86-video-ati driver to 6.13.0?

The current one (6.12.6) is very buggy, especially with AGP cards. There were two bugfix releases after that and 6.13.0 is a stable release that additionally fixes a major performance regression of 6.12.6.

_________________
Turbopup Tech Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 3440
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) - 3 PC's: DELL SX280 750 MB Pentium4, Acer emachines 2 GB AMD64. DELL XPS15

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 15:20    Post subject:  

Hi

I did upload now here

http://dl.free.fr/oVpQzgXhy

user (no user drop the question)

password: linuxpower

a

custom-puppy-quirky-100.iso , about 430 MiB,

with

- Seamonkey 2.0 (icon on the desktop)

- OpenOffice 3.1.1 (icon on the desktop for write and calc)

- Java 1.6u17

- Codecs

- Xara LX 07r16 92-2 (menu)

- ImageMagick

- MuseScore (menu)

- aMSN because Ayttm don-t work properly (use please Seamonkey for IRC chat!);

- Skype static 2.1.0.47

- qemu 0.91

- mtools 3.9.1

- wine 1.1.23

- dd rescue 1.14

and, I am sorry because the link is not proper, beaver 0 3 0 1,

you can repair and overwrite it in /usr/local/bin/defaulttexteditor and will immediately see the problem: the destination's file is not active and you have to search step by step this file to change it ...

all above functions works on my acer emachines laptop with AMD64 2 GiB RAM.

the keyboard is us_intl (see in /etc/X11/xorg.conf ) so you can write Spanish, French, German etc. without difficulty using the AltGr key rigth of the space bar of the keyboard. you get so directly ¡¿éúóáßçñ (öüä etc. but it is more tricky) and composed with accent followed by the letter à, ù etc...

it is possible to start Seamonkey 1.1.18 clicking on the file /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.18/seamonkey.bin !

the ISO file will be erased from free server as soon as no download happens between 30 days.

recommanded supplementary installation: flash plugin from the official depository (so you can desinstall and reinstall in case of changes).

enjoy it !

bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3613
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 15:58    Post subject:  

quirky 100 without a pupsave connects consistently to wifi with simple network setup but fails to connect consistently when pupsave is present when using both sns and classic.
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 785
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 17:32    Post subject:
Subject description: FSCK Error
 

I am using Quirky 1.00 with Firefox 3.6.3 on my Acer Aspire Revo system. The Quirky 1.00 installation is a frugal on ext2 partition and using the entire partition for data instead of a save file.

I have noticed that after start up there is a fsckme.err (error from fsck) file in /initrd/pup-rw every time. I run e2fsck from another partition with Puppy 4.3.1 and it reports nodes with dtime set to zero. I fix the problems and reboot into Quirky and a new error message appears. I do not think this is a major problem. But, I decided to report it.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 19:58    Post subject:  

The time has finally come to test the latest Opera snapshot and think about the possible inclusion of Opera in a future Quirky release.

This build is unbelievably fast and stable. If you though Opera 10.10 was fast, you'll be blown away by the speed of 10.54. The Flash and font issues are fixed, so the latest build can finally be used for normal browsing.

Here's a fat-free package of the latest snapshot I made for Quirky:

Opera 10.54 fat-free package for Quirky

NOTE: Just make sure you disable smooth scrolling (a major CPU hog) in the Opera preferences. It's turned ON by default.

Enjoy and share your experience Smile

synth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 9015
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 11 May 2010, 22:29    Post subject:  

All of these upgrades fix bugs in previous version...

I have upgraded Lloyd's Snap2 to version 4.8.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-quirky/snap2-4.8.pet

I upgraded 'xf86-video-geode' to version 2.11.8.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-quirky/xf86-video-geode-2.11.8-q1.pet

I have upgraded 'xf86-video-ati' to version 6.13.0.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-quirky/xf86-video-ati-6.13.0-q1.pet

Would you guys running Quirky 1.0 and who have the 'geode', 'ati' or 'radeon' video hardware, mind testing these new PETs?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Wed 12 May 2010, 00:16    Post subject:  

xf86-video-ati 6.13.0:

Tested with two different ATI (Radeon) cards. Working nicely so far.

_________________
Turbopup Tech Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3680
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 12 May 2010, 00:52    Post subject: Quirky 1.0 feedback
Subject description: new pet
 

[quote="BarryK"]All of these upgrades fix bugs in previous version...

I have upgraded 'xf86-video-ati' to version 6.13.0.

booted the quirky 1.0 disk using pfix=ram and used probe,

VIDEO REPORT: Quirky, version 100

Chip description:
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
02:00.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. CX23885 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 04)

Driver used by Xorg:
radeon

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

I downloaded and installed the new pet, then exited to the prompt and ran xorgwizard, used probe again.

VIDEO REPORT: Quirky, version 100

Chip description:
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 3200 Graphics
02:00.0 Multimedia video controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. CX23885 PCI Video and Audio Decoder (rev 04)

Driver used by Xorg:
radeon

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

Then I installed dosbox with the package manager and ran quake at 1024x768 resolution.It ran full speed with no lag or anything so it's working okay.

Edit: I thought I ought to see if changing to the vesa driver and trying quake again would make any difference so I did that and quake runs just as well using the vesa driver.

So ignore all of the above Smile

Last edited by Billtoo on Wed 12 May 2010, 15:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scifictn

Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Wed 12 May 2010, 01:10    Post subject:  

Hi!!.

I've tried puppylinux quirky 1.0, but slmodemd daemon don't work...I need slmodemd daemon work for my SmartLink modem DialUp.

Thanks!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
looseSCREWorTWO

Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 812
Location: Australia, 1999 Toshiba laptop, 512mb RAM, no HDD, 431 Retro & 421 Retro

PostPosted: Wed 12 May 2010, 03:28    Post subject:
Subject description: more Gparted quirkiness
 

rcrsn51 wrote:
Quote:
The first example is from 4.21 Retro which I believe was still using the old "hd" notation for hard drives.

Yes, 421 Retro calls my second HDD hdb1, while Quirky calls the same Drive sdb1. After my last Post I booted into 421 Retro and re-sized the hdb1/sdb1 partition to use up the Unallocated Space, bringing the total size to 37.7gb.
Quote:
@looseSCREWorTWO: Try using the "df -h" command. It may tell you the actual status of the drive.

I did this (see attached screenshot) and it agrees with what 421 Retro's Gparted says, which is that the Drive is 37.7gb total, with 30gb used for data and 7.7gb free

Quirky's Pmount says the same Drive is 31.5gb total, with 7.7gb free. Yet when I click on the Mount button of Pmount it displays all 30gb of movies that i have stored on the HDD and Mplayer can play all of them.

Quirky's Gparted says the same Drive is 31.5gb of Unallocated Space.

Don't worry folks - everything's backed-up !!! Very Happy

_________________
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gurglin

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed 12 May 2010, 04:02    Post subject: Update software  

just a couple of notes on some installed softwares that could be updated in Quirky 1.1:

Abiword last release is 2.8.4 (Quirky has 2.8.3)

Gnumeric last release is 1.10.03 (Quirky has 1.8.2, while Puppy 4.3.2 has 1.10.0)

Seamonkey last release is 2.0.4 (Quirky has 1.1.18, and Puppy 4.3.2. has 2.0)... even if I personally prefer the old version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 14 [200 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1035s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0161s) ][ GZIP on ]