Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 03:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 1.0 feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 12 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 01:32    Post_subject:  

TrailerTrash wrote:
Hi Barry,

Thanks for your efforts on behalf of we who do not know how to hack 3G wireless nets.

I just gave a test drive to Quirky 1.00 and thought it was near perfect. Only one glitch. Using two different computers when I probe for cell modem it returns "USB0" which is correct but on the next step the program freezes up requiring reboot. Here are some processor ID's for you.

1. AMD Phenom Quad
2. Pentium M

I live in an area where there is no CATV and thus no easy or inexpensive broadband available. For 7 years I've been on dialup. ISDN is also out of the question. I am luckier than some out here as I live on top of a mountain and do have a cell signal from a repeater some miles away on another mountain top. Two months ago I started Verison cell modem service. They use the Novatel USB760 wireless modem. So far I have not been able to get online with any linux distro. Puppy seems to be the best there is with this new release. The prospects for broadband access seem closer than ever.

I will be patient and hopefully someone else who knows how to identify a bug will do so and it can be fixed. That is, if it is a bug. when I finally get online with Puppy I can retire my XP to "offline games only".

No answer to this is necessary. I know you are busy.

I will carry the Quirky DVD with me and try it on other computers as chance allows.

JPS


ps The avatar picture is not me. I ain't quite that ugly.


The guy who has developed the 3G modem support is rerwin (Richard). Contact him with any questions. There's a forum thread on 3G modem development.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 03:19    Post_subject:  

aarf wrote:
more on sns failing with pupsave

sns failed today again so went to dougal network wizard and wifi connected ok.
exited and went to sns and then sns connected wifi ok.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dalderton

Joined: 22 Apr 2007
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 05:06    Post_subject:  

Opera Lite is excellent. Lightning.
Regards Dennis
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 05:55    Post_subject:  

Barry, I have some suggestions for you, from my experience with my own distro. I'm sure Quirky's size can be reduced below the 90 MB limit.
    - Use the BFS scheduler for the kernel. It improves performance greatly, even on non-SMP kernels.
    - Rely more on Busybox: you could use its man, less and udhcpc instead of their bigger counterparts and dhcpcd. Also, many things from coreutils can be dropped to save lots of space
    - Get sstrip.c from Buildroot and use it to strip executables in Woof instead of strip. It's great, reduces the size, I think it could be a great addition to Woof.
    - Update Busybox from the unstable 1.16.0 to 1.16.1. The former did many problems here, kept segfaulting and causing problems with permissions. Also, some of its applets don't work as they should. 1.16.1 fixed all issues for me.
    - You could make 2 kernels, one with no SMP for i486 and another one with SMP for i686, so people have more choice. BFS works well this way, I tried it on both SMP and non-SMP kernels.
    - Get AdvanceCOMP and optipng. They can be used to recompress gzip archives and PNG images. The former reduced the size of my initramfs by about 11% and both reduced the total size of my site's graphics by about 15%. They can be useful for archives present inside Woof or all the images in Woof. I think you could add another step to 3builddistro that optimizes all images and gzip archives this way.
    - e3 is very hard to use and can (I mean, should) be replaced with either the Busybox vi, which is easy to use too, or nano, a very easy editor. It depends only on ncurses, so it might be a good idea. Also, its' way better than MP ... 1 good editor to replace the existing 2?

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
synth


Joined: 18 Mar 2009
Posts: 210

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 06:39    Post_subject:  

jpeps wrote:
That solved the window issue. There's a problem with video's stalling after about a minute, which doesn't happen with firefox or seamonkey. Here's the video I used:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KJdDnQ1ss0&playnext_from=TL&videos=HJQZ7r5IqlA&feature=featured


Known issue with Flash video that should be fixed in the next snapshot...plus lots of other fixes coming up for the known issues (check out their Desktop Team Blog for more info)
The Opera Linux team is "on fire" at the moment, working hard to bring the Linux version on par with the Windows version that offers an almost perfect browsing experience :

Opera Desktop Team wrote:
With regards to bigger outstanding issues on UNIX (Plugin problems, IME, fixes to fonts and UI/focus bugs), these issues are being worked on, however we still need some more time before we can share with you the fruits of our labour. Thanks for your patience!

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 06:41    Post_subject:
Sub_title: CUPS printing - Mysterious workaround
 

Although CUPS printing worked flawlessly after a frugal install, it soon stopped. (Perhaps after installing go OpenOffice 3.2.0.)
Code:
http://localhost:631
opened the welcome window, but the browser (SeaMonkey and Opera) hung when any of the setup or control options were selected.

After rebooting all of the machines on my LAN, I discovered a mysterious new printer option in addition to the standard CUPS-PDF and Caxton (my HP 6P LaserJet running on an XP server). The name of the new printer is caxton@192.168.2.100. The IP number is the address of another puppy machine on my LAN, not the XP server! This option works just fine - as long as the other puppy machine is on line.

Perhaps, I should be simply grateful since I can now print from Quirky 1.0, but I would like to know how this happened since I did not attempt to setup this option myself.

----------
Further: I tried rolling back to CUPS 1.2.23 by installing the appropriate pet: cups 1.2.23-patched1-1-pup4. The GUI functioned as expected and I was able to reinstall Caxton and print from go OpenOffice. Attempting to print from other applications (abiword, geany, etc.) simply closed the application without warning. Adding the cups_DEV pet did not change this.

I uninstalled both pets and found that I was back to CUPS 1.3.11 with hanging GUI, but with printing functioning via caxton@192.168.2.100 on all applications.

As the little girl who erred down the rabbit hole said: “This is getting curiouser and curiouser.”
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
looseSCREWorTWO

Joined: 04 Feb 2010
Posts: 812
Location: Australia, 1999 Toshiba laptop, 512mb RAM, no HDD, 431 Retro & 421 Retro

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 06:59    Post_subject:  

When I use Quirky to play movies (MPEG, AVI, etc) the sound all comes out of the Right apeaker.

Puppy 421 Retro plays the same movie files with no problems.

_________________
Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9260
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 08:43    Post_subject:
Sub_title: CUPS printing - Mysterious workaround
 

drblock2 wrote:
.. (my HP 6P LaserJet running on an XP server)...


Are you connecting your printers via Samba? There was a discussion on Page 8 of this thread concerning CUPS 1.3.11 and Open Office. There is also a fix. You may need to start a new pup_save to get it working again.

Concerning the "phantom" printer: If a machine is running CUPS 1.1.23, it will automatically advertise its installed printers across the network. So it can act as a print server even though the printer is actually being served by an XP machine. I suspect that's what you are seeing.

CUPS 1.3.11 only advertises its printers if you want to.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
`f00


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 809
Location: the Western Reserve

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 10:55    Post_subject:
Sub_title: xf86-video-ati-6.13.0-q1
 

Quote:
I have posted an upgraded ati/radeon driver, could you test that?


xf86-video-ati-6.13.0-q1.pet tried in q100 - seems to work well but differences are subtle, perhaps better support for xinerama or multi-head. Nothing 'broken' and Xorg picked up the updated libs on a simple re-X. Should be fine as standard ati/radeon on the next quirky if there are no rollbacks Neutral

____________
vidcard0 - RV280 (aka ATI Radeon 9200), AGP
vidcard1 - not used, but also RV280 (switched off in BIOS - aka Radeon 9200SE), PCI (old-style)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 11:08    Post_subject:  

I am testing a retro-Quirky, built with the 2.6.30.5 kernel (same as in Puppy 4.3.1) and it is working fine, using it now.

One thing though, I couldn't get wireless to connect, tried both Dougal's Network Wizard and my Simple Network Setup.

I fixed it in SNS, and the fix may solve problems that others have had with SNS. It may also account for some reports of SNS working sometimes, or not connecting automatically at bootup.

Grab these two files, gunzip them and make sure their execute flags are set, and place them at /usr/local/simple_network_setup:
sns.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  sns.gz 
Filesize  9.05 KB 
Downloaded  590 Time(s) 
rc.network.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  rc.network.gz 
Filesize  3 KB 
Downloaded  594 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 11:33    Post_subject:
Sub_title: xf86-video-ati-6.13.0-q1
 

`f00 wrote:
xf86-video-ati-6.13.0-q1.pet tried in q100 - seems to work well but differences are subtle, perhaps better support for xinerama or multi-head.


There are some nice improvements and fixes in this driver. Here's a quick'n'dirty changelog:

- better support for integrated / notebook ATI graphics chips and new Radeon cards
- many fixes for 2D rendering on newer Radeon cards + minor performance improvements
- triple monitor (triple head) support
- Xv fixes + performance boost
- Support for ATI-equipped Intel Macintosh computers

_________________
Turbopup Tech Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
IndygoEEI

Joined: 26 Jan 2010
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 19:28    Post_subject: Re: Quirky 1.0 feedback
Sub_title: Seamonkey crash
 

Billtoo wrote:
Playing a video at cnn caused seamonkey to crash.

I downloaded the latest firefox from mozilla and videos at cnn worked fine.

I tried seamonkey again and videos at cnn don't cause seamonkey to crash anymore after installing firefox.


That's probably cross-platform problem. Seems firefox based browsers
has a bug n the code that causes these crashes. OS doesn't matter although this problem for windows systems has been patched for a
while.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 271
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 20:10    Post_subject:  

Iguleder wrote:
Barry, I have some suggestions for you, from my experience with my own distro.
...
- e3 is very hard to use and can (I mean, should) be replaced with either the Busybox vi, which is easy to use too, or nano, a very easy editor. It depends only on ncurses, so it might be a good idea. Also, its' way better than MP ... 1 good editor to replace the existing 2?[/list]

I agree, both e3 and mp should be dropped now that tiny vi is available and quite good.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
panzerpuppy

Joined: 02 Oct 2007
Posts: 632

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 20:30    Post_subject:  

Nooooo! (don't listen to these guys Barry)

'mp' is a *great* console based editor for editing xorg.conf and similar files when you exit from 'X'. The best I've ever used for that purpose. I wouldn't want to see it being removed and replaced with another 'vi'-clone.
MP is unique and only available in Puppy/Quirky.

_________________
Turbopup Tech Support
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 13 May 2010, 21:59    Post_subject:  

panzerpuppy wrote:
Nooooo! (don't listen to these guys Barry)

'mp' is a *great* console based editor for editing xorg.conf and similar files when you exit from 'X'. The best I've ever used for that purpose. I wouldn't want to see it being removed and replaced with another 'vi'-clone.
MP is unique and only available in Puppy/Quirky.


Yep, I agree. mp is very easy to use, vi is arcane.

But, there is a good case for dropping e3.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1175s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]