Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 10:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 4.3.1 -- bug reports and suggestions
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 19 of 21 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Author Message
escargo

Joined: 28 May 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA GMT-6

PostPosted: Mon 31 May 2010, 00:07    Post_subject: How do you delete a network interface?
Sub_title: D-Link works as eth1, does not work as wlan0
 

I have a network interface that has been treated a couple of different ways by the Network Wizard.

The Network Wizard on Puppy 4.3.1 identifies the interface as
pci: D-Link System DFE-690TXD CardBus PC Card.

Looking at TuxMobil I can see that I'm going to be limited to systems that use the 2.4 kernel.

When the interface was treated as eth1 it works.

When the interface was treated as wlan0 using ndiswrapper, it does not work.

How can I make the network wizard forget about the wlan0 alternative, and go back to the eth1 alternative? (I don't know what I did that made it switch.)

Added June 2, 2010: Somehow the interface reverted to eth1 again, and now I have network connectivity again. It would still be nice to know what made the interface change and then change back.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1046
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Mon 31 May 2010, 00:14    Post_subject: startup problem with usb power turned off??? and goes to pro  

no, problem back again, (usb power off) and the error seems to be:
waiting for modules to complete loading usb 1 2 3 4 5 6 (etc)

seems likely that something is not loading?

Does anyone know what driver turns on / off the power to the usb?
and
where in what script starts it?

please

scsijon

found another topic relating to the problem
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=260963#260963
could a dev, when they have some time Laughing , have a look please.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 31 May 2010, 14:50    Post_subject:  

Puppy Linux Discussion Forum :: View topic - Power saving trick for laptops - BETA
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
PANZERKOPF

Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jun 2010, 15:06    Post_subject:  

Not a bug but incorrect working only.
There is a script "gv" in /usr/bin directory which is designed to view the postscript files with epdfview. It converts a ps file into pdf and sends converted file to epdfview via pipe.
The problem is that some converted files are detected by epdfview as encrypted, even they are not encrypted. I don't know a reason of this problem but if we use a temporary file instead of pipe then this problem not occurs.
I attach modified file here.
gv.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  gv.gz 
Filesize  136 Bytes 
Downloaded  662 Time(s) 

_________________
SUUM CUIQUE.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jun 2010, 19:32    Post_subject: Dueling symlinks after running Roaring Penguin
Sub_title: /etc/resolv.conf and /etc/ppp/resolv.conf link to each other.
 

Starting Roaring Penguin can lead to "Address Not Found" errors while browsing and the "Too many levels of symbolic links" error message because of the circular link created when Roaring Penguin makes /etc/resolv.conf a symlink to /etc/ppp/resolv.conf, which is already a symlink to /etc/resolv.conf.

Previously I added a post to an existing thread (started by warpinwolf two years ago) which discussed this bug. Perhaps that was not the proper place to post. Since the name of that thread mentioned Dingo it is possible that it was considered ancient history and was overlooked. So I'm adding this post to the 4.3.1 thread to make it clear that the bug still exists in Puppy 4.3.1.

For details and a suggested fix (which is actually a fix previously made by Barry that somehow got lost on the way from Puppy 2 to Puppy 3), see my post at Dingo, PPPOE, No DNS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1517
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 14 Jun 2010, 23:31    Post_subject: mode-switching patch for some Onda & ZTE wireless modems  

I have found a fix for modems with the ID 19d2:2000 that should allow them to switch into modem state. I put it into a small package, attached. This should be helpful for aracnachid's Vodafone Vodem Zte K3565z USB modem and Whitesnow's Onda MM515UP modem. To give due credit, I derived this fix from information in the USB ModeSwitch Forum.
Richard
modem_patch_for_19d2-2000-1.pet
Description  Correction to usb mode switching configuration file 19d2:2000.
pet

 Download 
Filename  modem_patch_for_19d2-2000-1.pet 
Filesize  600 Bytes 
Downloaded  745 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1046
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Thu 17 Jun 2010, 08:12    Post_subject: fyi for video driver problems? - this may fix it  

look at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=48019 from patriot
contains a number of video drivers INCLUDING a vesa driver that seems to work properly, no funny screen sizes or shifting right or down.

absolute magic

thanks
scsijon
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Reaperz
Guest


PostPosted: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 15:27    Post_subject:  

Not exactly a bug... but I have a old vid card that doesn't work unless I choose VESA, instead of the XORG.

It's an 8MB Matrox G200.

Because I have to use VESA, video playback is unacceptably slow. Before I disabled it, I had better playback with my MoBo's 1MB integrated video chipset...
Back to top
PANZERKOPF

Joined: 16 Dec 2009
Posts: 280
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 21 Jun 2010, 13:23    Post_subject:  

Reaperz wrote:
Not exactly a bug... but I have a old vid card that doesn't work unless I choose VESA, instead of the XORG.
It's an 8MB Matrox G200.
Because I have to use VESA, video playback is unacceptably slow. Before I disabled it, I had better playback with my MoBo's 1MB integrated video chipset...

Try following steps:
1) Check file /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/mga_drv.so.
2) Open /etc/X11/xorg.conf file with text editor.
3) Change string Driver "vesa" to Driver "mga" in section "Device".
4) Restart X server.

_________________
SUUM CUIQUE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jun 2010, 15:34    Post_subject:  

Subject: filemnt won't mount two files with same base name.

To prevent mounting the same file twice (and the the dangers inherent in doing so), filemnt compares the name of the file with the names of files already mounted. Once upon a time, it appears that filemnt simply compared the entire pathnames (which include the directory names), but because one or more of the directories in the pathname could be symlinks, two different pathnames could lead to the same file. So, at least in Puppy 4.3.1, filemnt was improved to compare only the base name of the file.

That improvement prevented mounting the same file twice, even if one of the directory names was a symlink. So far, this is good.

The bug is that if you happen to have two different files with the same base name, as would be the case if, for instance, you were comparing one custom pup-431.sfs with another. You get something similar to the following xmessage which is quite puzzling because it simply isn't true.
Quote:
Sorry /mnt/sr0/pup-431.sfs is already mounted and in-use by Puppy

Also, if the filename itself (not a directory name) is a symlink, then filemnt will allow the file to be mounted twice.

So the current test gives both false positives and false negatives.

I am attaching a version of filemnt in which I use the stat utility to uniquely identify a file by its device and inode values. This should eliminate both problems.

I have also expanded the error message that appears when you do try to mount a file that is already mounted. Now it gives not just the pathname of the file you tried to mount, but also the mount point of the mounted file and the pathname that was used when it was mounted.

(Note: I am reporting this in the Puppy 4.3.1 thread because 4.3.1 is the Puppy that I have. The bug could certainly exist in older and newer puppies.)
filemnt.gz
Description  Modified filemnt, based on Puppy 4.3.1 filemnt
gz

 Download 
Filename  filemnt.gz 
Filesize  1.68 KB 
Downloaded  549 Time(s) 
filemnt.diff.gz
Description  Differences between Puppy 4.3.1 filemnt and modified filemnt
gz

 Download 
Filename  filemnt.diff.gz 
Filesize  708 Bytes 
Downloaded  579 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1517
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jun 2010, 22:46    Post_subject: Dialup/wireless "modem fix pack 7" available for beta tests!  

Wireless modem users:
I have posted an upgrade to modem support, particularly for wireless modems, and need users to try it out and to report any for regressions and or failures to function reasonably.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=431074#431074

The new functionality is for complex modem cases. Modems using other than ttyUSB0 have been difficult to make work. In the upgrade, that should be more automated, to get the correct port. The upgrade also addresses the complications of having multiple USB-serial-type devices plugged in, not all of which are modems.

To use the upgrade, be sure that the "modem fix pack 6" dotpet (only), available on page 16 of this thread, is already installed, before installing the four upgrade packages.

The sooner people can verify that the upgrade works and does not mess up anything, the sooner it can be integrated into Woof. Thank you for any help you can provide with testing.
Richard


Additional item: I have re-uploaded the "modem_fix_to_431" package on page 16 of this thread to correct a Conexant modem problem that may prevent detection of a USB modem if there is a built-in Conexant. The download count when I uploaded was 199, so later downloads of it contain the fix. Re-download and re-install it if you have a Conexant (DGC, HCF, HSF) modem interfering with detection of a USB modem.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MOB-i-L

Joined: 02 Sep 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 03 Oct 2010, 10:46    Post_subject: connect icon on desktop opens PPPOE [Solved]
Sub_title: The connect icon on the desktop opens PPPOE instead the original program.
 

The connect icon on the desktop opens PPPOE instead of a more general program with several buttons for different connection types that it used to open before (I used the LAN-button for wireless). Even if I restart the problem remains. I don't think it's easy to reproduce this on another computer -- maybe it changed because of lack of RAM. How can I change it back to the way it was originally? Which program was used originally? How do I change which program a desktop icon starts?

Luckily I can still start wireless by using Pwireless-0.8.4 from the Menu, but it doesn't have the same features as the other program.

I use Puppy 4.3.1 with kernel 2.6.25.16 and window manager JWM.

Edit:
I succeeded in solving it by right-clicking and choosing 'Execute the Internet Connection Wizard' and changing Desktop/tray to Internet Connection Wizard. It must have been accidentally changed to PPPoE.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Sun 31 Oct 2010, 02:14    Post_subject:  

nubc wrote:
After messing around for several hours, I have come to the conclusion that Puppy 4.3.1 cannot play back a (downloaded) FLV file, probably because it sees the wrong format, perhaps mistaking flv for mp3, as indicated by assigned icon.

Correct, particularly if you are talking about videos from youtube. It seems that youtube keeps making subtle format changes that place its flv format incompatible with established players. Until mplayer catches up, videos that you download from youtube will play in youtube's flash player but probably not in mplayer. Most flash videos from other sites will probably continue to play okay in mplayer. Smile

There are browser add-ons that will convert to another format, allowing you to save your youtube videos in another format which can then later be played in mplayer. Whether the add-ons will accommodate the latest of youtube's changes is for you to discover.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Tue 07 Dec 2010, 13:58    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Subject: filemnt won't mount two files with same base name.

Quote:
(Note: I am reporting this in the Puppy 4.3.1 thread because 4.3.1 is the Puppy that I have. The bug could certainly exist in older and newer puppies.)

I can confess, that filemnt.gz is working on dpup-005.

I really missed that feature !

While running frugal with a lot `acpitool -s` to suspend to ram I was able to mount the booted /mnt/+mnt+home+dpup005+dpup-005.sfs and the remastered /mnt/+mnt+home+dpup-005-06-xephem+dpup-005.sfs by clicking the icon at rox.

I had to look at /etc/DISTRO_SPECS to believe it !

I am very happy about that !
1000 Thanks, npierce !
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
robert1968

Joined: 10 Dec 2009
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 10 Jan 2011, 16:56    Post_subject: USB mount problem - Puppy 431 on stylistic c500
Sub_title: USB mount problem Fujitsu Stylistic c500 tablet with Puppy 431.
 

Hi,

Usually I'm happy with Puppy 431 on an old Fujitsu Stylistic c500 tablet.
Suspend, touchpad (fpit driver) is working fine.

Nowdays I realised USB mount doesn't work.
It does work few month ago, but now not.

I saw, usb modules are present, dmesg shows sdb device recognised, but
no automount. Even no way to mount manually.

dmesg:

usb 1-1: new full speed USB device using uhci_hcd and address 2
usb 1-1: configuration #1 chosen from 1 choice
scsi2 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
usb-storage: device found at 2
usb-storage: waiting for device to settle before scanning
scsi 2:0:0:0: Direct-Access OTi Flash Disk 2.00 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
usb-storage: device scan complete
ready
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] 256000 512-byte hardware sectors: (131 MB/125 MiB)
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Write Protect is off
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Mode Sense: 03 00 00 00
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Assuming drive cache: write through
sdb: sdb1
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI removable disk

Mount:
# mount /dev/sdb1 /mnt/sdb1
mount: /dev/sdb1: can't read superblock

I tried different pendrives.

Any help is appreciated.
Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 21 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19, 20, 21 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1088s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0090s) ][ GZIP on ]