Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 20:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Trouble with Sane, and Epson and Canon scanners (Solved)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 16 Jun 2005, 04:52    Post_subject:  Trouble with Sane, and Epson and Canon scanners (Solved)  

I have an Epson perfection 1250 and a Canon N670u. The sane-find-scanner command will find both scanners. However scanimage says that there is no sane device found for either scanner. xsane says that there are no sane devices as well. I made sure that the conf files had the appropriate lines uncommented. USBView sees both scanners. Does any body have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jun 2005, 09:53    Post_subject:  

Did you get any joy with scanning since your post?

I only have a parallel port scanner.

I am currently overhauling the scanning, have just upgraded SANE and Xsane to latest versions.
Perhaps I will borrow a usb scanner, see if I can get it to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2005, 00:02    Post_subject:  

No luck yet, but I have just finished building my ¨Ultimate Puppy Machine¨ and I will try it with that instead of an Apple iBook and Virtual PC. I did notice that the scanner wizard is not yet finished. It would be nice if the wizard was complete. Iĺl let you know how it goes. Thanks for progressing with scanner suport. I have a spare USB scanner you could use if you weren´t so far away Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2005, 20:03    Post_subject:  

Well sane doesn't work with the VIA machine either. I saw that you updated the sane and xsane versions. I'm looking forward to trying those.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2005, 20:30    Post_subject:  

Hmm, I wonder if there is supposed to be some kernel module loaded for usb scanner access?
Do you have any other Linux distro that you could try from, then run "lsmod" to see what modules are loaded. ...preferably a distro running a 2.4 kernel!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2005, 21:02    Post_subject:  

The live CDs that I have are Knoppix 3.7, DSLinux 1.0rc2, and Suse 9.1 Live Eval. I don't know what kernel they use but I could give them a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2005, 21:59    Post_subject:  

Well I threw in the Knoppix CD and the Canon scanner worked right away. Here is what I got when I ran lsmod.

knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$ lsmod
Module Size Used by Not tainted
autofs4 8756 1
af_packet 13544 0 (autoclean)
agpgart 42724 0 (unused)
via82cxxx_audio 19448 1
ac97_codec 11916 0 [via82cxxx_audio]
uart401 6052 0 [via82cxxx_audio]
sound 55276 0 [via82cxxx_audio uart401]
soundcore 3428 4 [via82cxxx_audio sound]
via-rhine 12336 1
mii 2240 0 [via-rhine]
crc32 2816 0 [via-rhine]
serial 52100 0 (autoclean)
scanner 10428 0
pcmcia_core 39840 0
thermal 6724 0 (unused)
processor 9008 0 [thermal]
fan 1600 0 (unused)
button 2700 0 (unused)
battery 5952 0
ac 1824 0
rtc 7036 0 (autoclean)
cloop 8740 2
ieee1394 183076 0
usb-storage 61760 0 (unused)
usb-uhci 21644 0 (unused)
usbcore 57600 1 [scanner usb-storage usb-uhci]
ataraid 6180 0
ide-scsi 8816 1
knoppix@ttyp1[knoppix]$
Back to top
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2005, 22:00    Post_subject:  

oops forgot to log in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 25 Jun 2005, 22:27    Post_subject:  

Okay I logged in this time.
Suse was using Xsane like Puppy and I got the same errors as I did in Puppy. I ran lsmod any ways and this is what I got.

linux@linux:~> lsmod
Module Size Used by
snd_pcm_oss 56868 0
snd_pcm 96776 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_page_alloc 11012 1 snd_pcm
snd_timer 25476 1 snd_pcm
snd_mixer_oss 18688 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd 59524 4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_pcm,snd_timer,snd_mixer_oss
soundcore 8800 1 snd
edd 9240 0
st 38940 0
sd_mod 19840 0
nvram 8328 0
usbserial 28912 0
parport_pc 35264 1
lp 10916 0
parport 37704 2 parport_pc,lp
ipv6 244100 13
joydev 10176 0
af_packet 20360 0
ds 17284 0
yenta_socket 15744 0
pcmcia_core 61636 2 ds,yenta_socket
via_rhine 19720 0
mii 5248 1 via_rhine
via_ircc 20240 0
irda 120124 1 via_ircc
ehci_hcd 27140 0
via_agp 7424 1
agpgart 28712 1 via_agp
uhci_hcd 29584 0
usbcore 96988 5 usbserial,ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
evdev 9600 0
dm_mod 50044 0
sym53c8xx 69008 0
cloop 11104 1
ide_cd 36484 1
sr_mod 15652 0
cdrom 36508 2 ide_cd,sr_mod
scsi_mod 107980 4 st,sd_mod,sym53c8xx,sr_mod
linux@linux:~>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2005, 04:29    Post_subject:  

Hey, Knoppox loaded a module called "scanner"!

Furthermore, I just checked, there is such a module in the original full set of modules. So, if you grab the full modules tarball off ibibilio.org, you should be able to load it.

So, that will have to be in the next Puppy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2005, 04:33    Post_subject:  

Okay, will attach it here...

Not sure if this one is compatible with the 1.0.3 kernel.
Any way give it a go.

# insmod ./scanner.o

should do the trick.
scanner.o.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  scanner.o.gz 
Filesize  5.54 KB 
Downloaded  319 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2005, 04:47    Post_subject:  

Okay, just do this:
Copy scanner.o.gz to /lib/modules/2.4.27/usb/
(do not uncompress)

Then run depmod:

# depmod

Then you can load it with modprobe:

# modprobe scanner
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2005, 15:50    Post_subject:  

It works! Very Happy Both the Canon and the Epson were recognized and worked with xsane. I didn't even have to edit any of the conf files. Great job Barry. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Jun 2005, 21:00    Post_subject:  

Okay, one more thing to check.
Can you find out if Xsane loads the scanner module automatically, instead of having to do it manually.

If you already have it loaded, unload it:

# modprobe -r scanner

Um, if you don't have it loaded, running off live-CD, you will have to do those steps again, coz they would have got wiped at a reboot:

Copy scanner.o.gz to /lib/modules/2.4.27/usb/
#depmod

Then run Xsane:
# xsane

...so, wonder how intelligent it is?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Mon 27 Jun 2005, 00:10    Post_subject:  

Nope, I had to run "# modprobe scanner" manually to get xsane to work., but once it's loaded it's smooth sailing er... scanning Wink

Edit
I'm using the instal to hard drive option2, and after a reboot I have to run " #modprobe scanner" again to get xsane to work. I wonder if there is a way to get it to load when you start xsane?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0718s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0072s) ][ GZIP on ]