Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 21 Apr 2014, 06:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
DuDE-0.4.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 18:26    Post subject:  

Hi Sigmund

I guess if we all agreed on everything, things would be pretty boring! Laughing

As Jim said
Quote:
Of course, it may be better for the "defaultbrowserchooser" to detect that DuDE is installed. Just assure that they don't conflict in DuDE.
....and it does do that, if one decides they want to use it. Smile

That's good enough for me.

Cheers.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 19:25    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
As Jim said
Quote:
Of course, it may be better for the "defaultbrowserchooser" to detect that DuDE is installed. Just assure that they don't conflict in DuDE.
....and it does do that, if one decides they want to use it. Smile
I guess this means defaultbrowserchooser has its own .desktop file, and are reachable from Ptray as a program button?

Quote:
I guess if we all agreed on everything, things would be pretty boring!
The best about disagreement is that it forces us to think through our opinions. Smile


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 27 Jun 2010, 19:36    Post subject:  

zigbert wrote:
I guess this means defaultbrowserchooser has its own .desktop file, and are reachable from Ptray as a program button?

Sigmund


No. There is no need of a .desktop file for it. To choose to use it a user must install the pet. Which is just fine Smile . That's why I made it DuDE compliant. If a user installed it previously in DuDE it broke the menus. Now it seems to play nice.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nooblet0218

Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 02:42    Post subject:  

this is gorgeous, so customizable, i love it. its helped me tweaked many little desktop things that bug me.

only thing though im having trouble tweaking, how can i change the menu button? i liked the old default lupu puppy button but i've had trouble figuring out how to set it back without going hunting for the picture currently in use and just replacing it with a symlink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 04:58    Post subject:  

The menu-button is a part of the icon-themes. It is located in /usr/local/lib/X11/pixmaps/start-button.png. When you change icon-theme it will be overwritten by the menu-button in the chosen icon-theme. See /usr/local/lib/X11/themes/


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Nooblet0218

Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 09:25    Post subject:  

beautiful, thank you very much for this very handy program
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 07:25    Post subject: DuDe-4 loosing menu on start button.  

I transformed the DuDe-0.4.pet in a sfs.
I run lucid 212.
Whenever I edit the tray with the control center, clicking on the menu button does nothing anymore.
I have to edit ~/.stardust/trays/Main_tray.rc and edit root:0 to read root:3 again.

Also I lost the lucid partview applet and the quick pet applet in the tray.
In the mean time I found how to restore the show desktop icon (and functionality)

But also the freememapplet doesn't return in the tray on a JWM restart.

Is there a problem in DuDe-0.4 or is there one in lucid?

EDIT
The situation is getting worse.
So I don't load the DuDe-.04 sfs anymore.
But now I lost freememapplet, blinky, the menu icon and quite some entries of the menu, specially in the Desktop, setup and system part.

I will have to dump the save file and start a new one to get everything back as it was.

A pity as I hoped to have with DuDe a control center for more user-friendly configuration and setting in lucid.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 18:34    Post subject:  

Hi zigbert,

For some reason resize save file doesn't show up in the utility menu using DuDE-0.4 with luci-213. resizepfile.sh still works, just doesn't show up in any menu, so I added it to favorites.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 04:38    Post subject:  

Béèm
DuDE is not a cutting-edge project, so I will test it on Puppy 5.1 when it arrives.

Remember that DuDE does not cooperate with the existing JWM-settings. - It completely takes control.

If you find solutions of any trouble, please let us know.


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jul 2010, 04:41    Post subject:  

Jim1911 wrote:
For some reason resize save file doesn't show up in the utility menu using DuDE-0.4 with luci-213. resizepfile.sh still works, just doesn't show up in any menu, so I added it to favorites.
You can add resizepfile to your menu with Pmenu. See Program-menu tab.

Resize is also available from pcc (Install tab)


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3219

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 18:11    Post subject:  

I was curious about the amount of resources used for gtkdialog corners, far more than conky widgets. Seems like a lot?

11102 1090 root S 18876 2% 0 0% /tmp/yaf-splash --class=gtkdialog-splash --program=GTKDIALOG_SPLASH --center
12206 12200 root S 18240 2% 0 0% gtkdialog3 -p Corner_LeftBottom --name=cornerleftbottom
12207 12204 root S 18240 2% 0 0% gtkdialog3 -p Corner_RightTop --name=cornerrighttop
12208 12202 root S 18240 2% 0 0% gtkdialog3 -p Corner_RightBottom --name=cornerrightbottom
12209 12205 root S 18240 2% 0 0% gtkdialog3 -p Corner_LeftTop --name=cornerlefttop

EDIT:
My quick and dirty solution (I only use lefttop for pnote) Saves 53.44 mgs:
Code:

/usr/share/stardust/corners # ls
leftbottomBAK  lefttop  rightbottomBAK  righttopBAK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sat 31 Jul 2010, 04:02    Post subject:  

jpeps
Nice.....I will use your technique to only activate the used corners.
Added to todo-list


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 05 Sep 2010, 10:23    Post subject:  

DuDE 0.4.1
See main post

Changelog
- New gui for changing gtk-theme - pgtktheme
- Don't run pnote-corners that are not in use. (thanks to jpeps)
- MicksClock allows different fonts. (thanks to 01micko)
- Run Ptheme outside DuDE (still requires updated icon_switcher/jwm_switcher/pgtktheme).
- Smoothen the Stardust device-icons.
- Updatec globicons for Puppy 5.1
- Bugfix: MicksClock didn't find yaf-splash in later Puppies. (thanks to 01micko)
- Bugfix: Link to Quickpet in pcc. (thanks to jim1911)

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 05 Sep 2010, 17:50    Post subject:  

zigbert,

Thanks, your update looks solid in Lupid-5.1.1. You continue to add nice little features.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5562
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Mon 06 Sep 2010, 11:54    Post subject:  

Jim
Yes, it works rather stable. Some minor news, but most polishing here and there. If you have any suggestions for improvements, please share......


Sigmund

_________________
Stardust resources
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 14 [205 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0745s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0083s) ][ GZIP on ]