Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 23 Oct 2014, 00:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Security/Privacy
XFProt virus scanner fix for Puppy 431
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 08:31    Post subject:  

OK, especially for you I re-installed 431 and tried again.

I loaded f-prot and then ran my pet.

It all worked ok.

So, what Puppy are you using?

Do you have an 'xfprot' directory in /user/local

What does it contain ?

If you have, what happens when you try to run xfprot-gtk ?

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yorkiesnorkie


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 505
Location: George's Island

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 12:01    Post subject: f-prot xfprot  

Hi Tasmod,

Thanks for going to all that trouble. I'm running puppy 4.3.1. I have it installed on two different machines, one is an old Compaq Presario and this one is an IBM 380. Neither will run the GUI.

I just re-installed 4.3.1 to the laptop the other day and ran the xfprot "installer" from the menu. I do have the /usr/local/f-prot and /usr/local/xfprot folders after the installation. I just tried to open a terminal at /usr/local/f-prot and run fpscan on the laptop, and I get the following error:
Code:
# fpscan
Illegal instruction


When I run xfprot from the menu on the laptop: Menu/Utility/X-prot virus scanner, I get the you are running as root message, followed by the cannot detect version message and the gui stops.

Now, on the Compaq I can run xfprot from the command line, and it works.

The XFprot directory on the laptop contains:
a directory called icons
copying
eicar.com
xfprot-gtk
Xfprot_scan
Xfprot_update

When I open a terminal window there and run xfprot-gtk from the command line:

Code:
# xfprot-gtk
bash: xfprot-gtk: command not found


Note I have not applied your patches to either pc, however I'm wondering if fpscan should be working first as a pre-requisite.

Y.[/code]

_________________
www.busygamemaster.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1461
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 13:02    Post subject:  

Try

./xfprot-gtk

If you get the "running as root" then "version" messages then you are there but need to run my pet, then it should continue on.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yorkiesnorkie


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 505
Location: George's Island

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 07:04    Post subject: Still No Joy  

Hi Rob,

thanks for the help! Well, ./xfprot-gtk does open the gui, but sadly I get no further than I do when I run it from the menu on the laptop. Basically, I end up with the can't detect the version message and the only option quits, even with your patch applied.

There's something deeper going on here with regard to f-prot itself since it won't run from the comand line. Since I"m using frugal, I'm going to replace the sfs file and take another run at the install.

Y.

_________________
www.busygamemaster.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kanyimbe

Joined: 08 Sep 2010
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 12 Sep 2010, 23:04    Post subject: Re: f-prot xfprot  

This is my experience too.
yorkiesnorkie wrote:


When I run xfprot from the menu on the laptop: Menu/Utility/X-prot virus scanner, I get the you are running as root message, followed by the cannot detect version message and the gui stops.

Y.[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yorkiesnorkie


Joined: 04 Jun 2007
Posts: 505
Location: George's Island

PostPosted: Tue 14 Sep 2010, 07:52    Post subject: Re: f-prot xfprot  

Kanyimbe wrote:
This is my experience too.
yorkiesnorkie wrote:


When I run xfprot from the menu on the laptop: Menu/Utility/X-prot virus scanner, I get the you are running as root message, followed by the cannot detect version message and the gui stops.

Y.[/code]


Hi Kanyimbe,

I thought that I should let you know I found that, while the XFProt Gui doesn't appear to work, FProt itself actually does get installed via the Puppy 4.3.1 menu. So you can run FProt from the command line if the XFProt Front end GUI will not work for you. You need to open a terminal:
Quote:
If you wish to perform a normal scan, please type the following and press Enter:
f-prot /(type path of file(s) to be scanned)

Further directions and the command line scan options can be found here:
http://www.f-prot.com/support/helpfiles/unix/workstation/index.html
I actually found it just as convenient to use the terminal, since you can open it in whatever directory you are in by right clicking and opening the terminal there. Then the path you have to type is much shorter! Wink

Y.

_________________
www.busygamemaster.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Security/Privacy
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0793s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0272s) ][ GZIP on ]