Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 11:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-500 final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 20:07    Post subject:  Fatdog64-500 final
Subject description: All 64bit build
 

EDIT: Fatdog64-510 is now in testing. The Nvidia and ATI Catalyst pets for version 500 have been moved into the "old" folder.

Jamesbond and myself are announcing Fatdog64-500 final.


This is a complete 64 bit build with the T2 trunk:

Xorg 7.5
GCC 4.4.3
Cups 1.4.2
Gimp 2.6.8
FireFox 3.6.6
Kino 1.3.4
HandBrake snv 2/2010
Ripperx 2.7.2
openbox / Lxpanel
linux-2.6.34
Blackberry modem support for Verizon.
Xine-UI 0.99.6
libxine 1.1.18.1
x11vnc
TightVNC-viewer
Pidgin 2.7.0
Lots of other stuff!

Xorg auto configures itself and the default keyboard is "US" and the default timezone is gmt -5. You can change these in the setup menu. The old xorgwizard is still there, renamed xorgwizard-old. If you want a detailed xorg.conf go to Menu - Setup - Xorg Video Wizard.
Firefox (see note) runs as user spot, anything you download goes into the Downloads folder on the desktop. At the first shutdown, after making your save file, you'll be asked if you want to move the Downloads folder to the same place as your save file. Most will want to answer yes to that.
Fatdog64-500 uses many scripts from Woof, but Fatdog64 is not built using Woof due to Fatdog being 64bit.

Changes since alpha2:

* Grub fixed
* Full hd install fixed
* PDF printer fixed
* Gimp crashing (hopefully) fixed
* recompiled GTK for Gimp problem.
* upgrade libxine and Xine-UI
* add Xine-UI plug-in for Firefox
* Various other small bug fixes


Changes since Alpha3:

* Firewall fixed
* Petget fixed
* DVDs play when clicked on.
* Removed the "Do you want to unmount" message when you click on a mounted partition.
* Xine now runs as user spot.

Changes since Alpha 4:

* USB printing hopefully fixed (Thanks Jamesbond).
* Firefox upgraded to 3.6.2.
* Kernel 2.6.33.1.
* AUFS enabled for NFS.
* Save file switched from ext2 to ext3.
* NFS file sharing app added.
* Many other small bugs fixes.

Changes since Beta 1:

* Fixed rxvt screen color.
* Move Nouveau stuff to a pet package.
* Update kernel to 2.6.32.2.
* Update Firefox to 3.6.3.
* Grabed Barry's updated rc.shutdown and init scripts out of quirky 018 and merge the changes.
* Add dvb-apps from linuxtv.
* Apply jamesbond's openbox menu fix.
* Update home web page with new links.
* Point the Puppy Package Manager to Fatdog's repo.
* Recompile SDL libs.
* Update to xf86-input-synaptics-1.2.2
* Update to xf86-video-intel-2.11.0
* Update to xf86-video-nv-2.1.17
* Update Vala to 0.8.x svn.
* Add Vala-IDE to devx.

Changes since Beta 2:

* Added pppoe.
* Fixed package manager.
* Fixed xwin, xorgwizard not ran every boot.
* Fixed Ayttm.
* Upgrade xf86-video-ati to 6.13.0.
* Recompiled dialog and fixed terminfo.
* Fixed multi-session install.
* Fixed USB install. (syslinux and mtools)
* Added some extra options to the boot help.msg.
* Fixed time setting in rc.country.
* Fixed the noram option in the initrd.gz.
* Upgrade JWM to 490 (JWM still not recommended).
* Replaced grub with a static version, removed the 32bit libraries required for grub.

Changes since Beta 3 (including rc1 & rc2)

* ALSA fixes.
* Added Blinky with some extra right-click options
* Replaced Ayttm with Pidgin.
* /etc/profile - fix path for qt3/qt4
* Fix for pycairo and pygtk.
* Fix /usr/share/mime.
* Fix PDF printer problem with user spot.
* Fix Package manager.
* Removed symlink in main sfs that was hiding Python.
* Upgrade kernel to 2.6.34
* Upgrade Firefox to 3.6.4rc
* Replaced xcal with calcoo.
* Replaced Xarchive with Xarchiver
* Lots of other fixes.

Changes since rc3:

* Firefox updated to 3.6.6
* ffmpeg updated to 0.6
* Kino updated to 1.3.4
* Updated x264
* Added sox 14.3.1
* Added libvpx-0.9.1
* More fixes

I've uploaded the iso, devx, sources and all extra packages built with T2 here:

http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/fatdog/

or

ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/fatdog/
.

The T2-packs folder contains all the binary packages the T2 build produced, many not included in the iso.



*Note: The goal for Fatdog is to have web applications run as a non-privileged user. Not in the traditional sense where you log in as a non-privileged user and all of your personnel files are accessible by that user as well. But we log in as root for convenience and in recognition that your personal files are just as important as system files, in fact much more important. Applications that access the internet, Firefox, Xine, Sylpheed, and Pidgin all run as user spot. Spot can only write to a few limited places. Given the lack of virus/trojan attacks for linux type systems this is probably paranoia, but this setup causes little inconvenience for the extra security.

Last edited by kirk on Sun 07 Nov 2010, 09:35; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 20:08    Post subject:  

I need to update the screen shot above, I'll do that soon.

Also, Firefox will complain about Flash being out of date. It does have the latest 64bit Flash that Adobe released. We'll probably be posting a pet package with a wrapped 32bit Flash, which will require the 32bit sfs to be installed, for those who want it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 04:00    Post subject:  

Thanks for this!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10946
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 10:23    Post subject:  

I can't find a way to tell Firefox to put its cache in /tmp, so it doesn't grow like Topsy. Any hints?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 11:00    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
Quote:
I can't find a way to tell Firefox to put its cache in /tmp, so it doesn't grow like Topsy. Any hints?


I had a go at creating a symlink called Cache within my Firefox profile that pointed to /tmp/Cache. This didn't work because the next time Firefox is started, the symlink gets overwritten by a real directory, also called Cache and so the cache then starts its growth cycle once more.

As another approach, I then entered about:config in the address bar and toggled the setting browser.cache.disk.enable to false.

This disables all caching to disk and doesn't seem to do any harm as far as I can tell.

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10946
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 11:55    Post subject:  

Thanks, I'll try that. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 12:07    Post subject:  

Kirk and Jamesbond,

Kudos Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

The fastest pup yet and it set up flawlessly and runs fine.

Still a few concerns:

I tried these pets from your site, fbreader, nvidia 256.2, and p7zip and all failed to install.

I am booting up these 5 sfs, could any of these be causing the above failure?
fd64-32bit-libs-3.sfs
fd64-devx_500.sfs
jre160_amd64-3.sfs
wine-1.2-rc5-i486-4.sfs
go-oo_32_amd64-3.sfs (Works good, however, has a strange behavior, when clicking on a file, writer opens with a blank page, however the document open properly with File/Open. Also, nothing showed up in menu, so all the desktop files had to be edited.)

EDIT: Tried a number of other pets from your site and none can be installed.

Thanks again,
Jim

Last edited by Jim1911 on Mon 05 Jul 2010, 21:32; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 12:58    Post subject:  

Running well on my AMD64.

My Brother DCP7030 printer/scanner gets recognised OK by CUPS.
Scanning is fine. Printer installs OK but won't print (USB printer).

It looks like there is some problem with permissions here. Anyone had a similar problem?

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Nooblet0218

Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 20:49    Post subject:  

sweet, i'll be switching to this on my amd 64 laptop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nooblet0218

Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 22:18    Post subject:  

Ok so far most things seem to be good. I had to load a module for my wireless card (b43) but other than that everything seems to be fine. Now I'm having one problem trying to install my favorite music player goggles music manager (http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=406391). I tried using the .pet that worked fine for me in lucid puppy but i would get something like this when i tried to run gmm in terminal:
Code:
bash: /usr/bin/gmm: No such file or directory

I'm not really sure what the problem is... something is not in the same directory as it was in the other puppy. Any idea what it could be? or are other puppy .pets not compatible with fatdog?

I could go ahead an install the program from source (i don't have a very good track record when compiling from source though) but i need to download libFOX first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2050
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 07:45    Post subject:  

Nooblet0218, Fatdog64 is a 64-bit operating system. It's the only puppy with 64-bit architecture. Most of the software packages out there are targeted for mainstream puppies (lucid puppy, dpup, quirky, wary, puppeee, nop, and many others), which are 32-bit, thus it will not work directly under Fatdog64 (except those software which are script-only).

If you really want to run standard puppy pet packages (32-bit software), Fatdog64 comes with 32-bit compatibility library (taken from Quirky). It's under fd64-32bit-libs.sfs which you can get from the SFS/500 directory under Fatdog distribution site. Bear in mind that if possible, it's always preferable to run native 64-bit software. The 32-bit library is a stopgap measure - no guarantee that it will work for all stadnard puppy packages! Note that some software that uses GTK/Pango needs to be started with "start32" command otherwise you'll see funny things.

Tronkel, I have an USB printer as well (Epson TX100), it gets recognised and it prints ok. It would be help to go see what's inside the Error Log (under Administration tab). If there isn't enough clue, you may need to edit the Config file (also under Admin tab) and change the loglevel from "info" to "debug".

Jim1911, can you try booting (with a new save file) with only go-oo as the SFS? (of course after ensuring that the md5sum all matches). I'm running with go-oo and don't have that issue, but I did have a similar issue (the OO icons are not showing in the start menu) which resolves itself after a while (that is, after I installed a few pets, install/remove sfs), so I suspect it may be related to aufs layering.

Also, when you say the pets cannot be installed - do you mean that they install but cannot be used, or that they don't show up in the menu, or they do show up in the menu but do nothing when you try to execute them? Do you download them directly from the pets/500 site, or do you use the package manager?

For Lobster - If you try this, Lob, please re-download the openshot pet. This final comes with updated ffmpeg and you need the new openshot - the old one will not work. And oh yes the package manager still shows white on yellow - I think we fixed the other window, but not this one, missed it Sad

EDIT: I've attached the hotfix for the white-on-yellow screen for package manager.

EDIT: attached the hotfix for alsawizard (gives warning before it runs the real alsawizard and screw up your system)

cheers!
hotfix-0.2-alsawizard.pet
Description  Gives warning before running the actual alsawizard
pet

 Download 
Filename  hotfix-0.2-alsawizard.pet 
Filesize  969 Bytes 
Downloaded  1278 Time(s) 
hotfix-0.1-ppm.pet
Description  Fix for white-on-yellow background for ppm. Once installed, please do not uninstall.
pet

 Download 
Filename  hotfix-0.1-ppm.pet 
Filesize  2.09 KB 
Downloaded  1417 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13

Last edited by jamesbond on Mon 19 Jul 2010, 04:08; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 10:49    Post subject: Two problems with Fatdog64 final  

Great job so far,...but...

1. Puppy Package Manager...the necessary initial step, Update the repositories database...radeon driver, using a Radeon HD 4550 video card...the wget screen is white text on yellow background; I had to highlight the whole thing using the mouse in order to read it and therefore know to press Enter twice. Hmm, pressing Enter twice creates two (redundant) identical puppy-fd64 repository listings in the main PPM screen, when only one is needed.

2. Firefox Namoroka in the rc3 version does not have the following problem:

Firefox Namoroka in Fatdog64 final will not download to anywhere but the designated Download directory, even if in Edit / Preferences / General I tell it to "Always ask me where to save files". I get the error message:

Quote:
<name of file> could not be saved, because you cannot change the contents of that folder.

Change the folder properties and try again, or try saving in a different location.

opera-10.60-6386.x86_64.linux.tar.bz2 (downloaded from opera.com as distribution-and-vendor="Other (tar)" and default package format, and installed from the unpacked .tar using ./install, to /usr/local) does not suffer the limitation of being able to download only to "Download".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 15:11    Post subject:  

Sit Heel Speak,

That's not a bug, it's a feature! Smile

Firefox runs as user spot by default and user spot can only write to a few places. When you installed Opera you ran it as root, so it can write anywhere. You can run firefox as root by opening a terminal and typing firefox or go to /usr/bin and drag firefox to the desktop, then click on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 15:14    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Sit Heel Speak,

That's not a bug, it's a feature! Smile

Firefox runs as user spot by default and user spot can only write to a few places...
Ah, of course Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 06 Jul 2010, 15:38    Post subject:  

Verified: by making a clone of firefox-spot
Code:
#!/bin/sh
PARAMS="$@"

chown -R spot /root/spot/Downloads

su spot -c "/usr/local/bin/opera-10.60 $PARAMS"

I can make Opera behave the same way.

I was seeing an error (when starting opera-spot from console commandline):
Code:
(<unknown>:14356): Gtk-WARNING **: Failed to read filechooser settings from "/root/.config/gtk-2.0/gtkfilechooser.ini": Permission denied

but, copying the subdir .config from /root to ~/spot solved this. Prolly just need to copy the gtk-2.0 subdir of /root/.config over into a subdir /root/spot/.config.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1286s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0298s) ][ GZIP on ]