Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Sep 2014, 10:13
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Quirky-120 Firefox Version
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
exon

Joined: 28 Nov 2008
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri 02 Jul 2010, 16:52    Post subject: scim
Subject description: a useable scim so you can write diffrent characters i would like traditional chinese
 

well ttuuxxx you did your best but it ain't working. yes the scim icon is there yes you can use all kind of selections but it won't let you jump to a different language with the ctrl + spacebare. to view chinese characters on a webpage you only need to install the good fonts. (and yes that's working) but to write the scim need to work proppertly the languge data the scim bridge etc etc need to be installed ...i can't get any language working in your scim version.

too bad Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jul 2010, 02:27    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
Ttuuxxx, do you think the xorg_high driver would work in here? It sure boosts video performance, but is HUGE Smile

hmmm haven't needed it yet, where's it located its not in http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/pet_packages-quirky/
but now that you mentioned it, I just noticed a 11MB nvidia driver located at /lib/modules/2.6.33.2/misc/nvidia.ko
where it looks like somehow Barry added the wrong driver to this version, since its a 2.6.30.5 kernel not 2.6.33. that means possibly it doesn't even work! I might as well compile it.
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 03 Jul 2010, 13:07    Post subject:  

Also, how did you get Abi to work properly? I downloaded the 2.8.6.pet but is still dont display graphics like yours (this is for Quirky, not Qret)
The Xorg_high driver comes from the Lucid repo.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 03:04    Post subject:  

CPU frequency scaling does not work on my system. This was true in Quirky as well and the reasin is discussed here:http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=424471#424471
The final fix is explained here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=424694#424694

This little .pet just overwrites your /usr/local/cpu-freq/cpu_func file with rcrsn51's correction and fixes it nicely.
freq_scale.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  freq_scale.pet 
Filesize  988 Bytes 
Downloaded  311 Time(s) 

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 02:01    Post subject:  

I have the updated network tray applet installed. Around half the time, it loads at boot up with a red cross (signifying no network even though it is all working). Re-starting X corrects the display of the icon. My guess is it needs a 'sleep' command somewhere to slow down its loading?
The same thing ALMOST happens in Quirky 1.2, but then the red cross disappears after a split second and the icon correctly displays as active.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 02:26    Post subject:  

Any idea why this version of Quirky fails to boot [kernel panic] on my 2002 hardware, when the basic retro Quirky [qret-104.iso] boots just fine? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 03:04    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Any idea why this version of Quirky fails to boot [kernel panic] on my 2002 hardware, when the basic retro Quirky [qret-104.iso] boots just fine? Confused


Usual cause of kernel panic is the wrong kernel (vmlinuz) for the version. Take care not to mix them up as quirky and qret use different kernels.

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 06:46    Post subject:  

Sylvander wrote:
Any idea why this version of Quirky fails to boot [kernel panic] on my 2002 hardware, when the basic retro Quirky [qret-104.iso] boots just fine? Confused


maybe its loading a pupsave from a previous version or a rouge sfs, maybe try booting with
puppy fix=ram
also you might try Barry's version, which this one is based on, I didn't alter anything that would give a kernel panic, so I should be one of the two things.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/quirky/quirky-1.2/qret-120.iso
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 10:52    Post subject:  

1. Tried qret-120.iso and that won't boot either.
Halts at:
Loading initrd.gz...isolinux: Disk error 80, ax = 4200, drive 9f
Boot failed: Press a key to retry...


2.
(a) When I 1st tried to boot qret-120-firefox-03.iso...
It started looking for suitable pupsave files to use...
I right then realised it would find and use the pupsave for qret-104->[qretsave.3fs], so I powered off the PC, then restarted and used...
puppy pfix=ram.
May have done something nasty to the qretsave.3fs contents at 1st boot attempt.

(b) That Quirky-1.1 [qret-104.iso] is now misbehaving.
Processor is displayed as running at high %-usage.
Optical drawer won't remain open; keeps closing soon after opening.

(c) Deleted qretsave.3fs and about to restore from a backup, but can't remember if that was made before [hope so] or after [hope not] the 1st attempt to boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1007
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Mon 05 Jul 2010, 14:55    Post subject:  
Subject description: pmount does'nt seem working from menu / locale choice: fr-BE@euro not found ?(SOLVED)
 

Hi ttuuxxx!
SOLVED: see EDITED below
see EDITED below

thanks again for this ! I enjoy the latetst abiword2.8.6 as also firefox3.6.6 !
I went just running it from live-cd and installing the french version (decompressed the tar.bz2 fr-archive in /root) of firefox - installed seems OK ! (on live-cd session - i.e. not frugall nor full install, just in RAM for testing).
I just noticed that:

1. I could not mount a USB stick nor the existing drives FROM the pop-up MENU (MENU/Filesystem/Pmount etc...). They do open well by clicking on their respective desktop icon instead.

2. Upon locale choice (Menu/Setup/Wizard Wizard/Configure Pup...country TT/choose your locale TT), fr-BE ALONE appears in the list ... whereas fr-BE@euro is listed on other locale choices on puppy derivatives as let us say...4.2.1 Deep Thought or others.

Does someone else also noticed this?

Cheers, Charlie

Edited:
Pmount works from menu on a fresh live-cd session - it seems that installing firefox_french could somehow bring the problem 1. above if the Firefox archive is decompressed in /root.

SOLUTION: If firefox-fr.tar.bz2 is decompressed inside /lib all is OK! no more problem

I have downloaded glibc_locale-2.7.pet from quirky ibiblio repository: fr_BE@euro was listed at first item instead of sorted along "f" chrarcter ...? I restarted X and ... OK: to check the locale, I verified in Gnumeric that the comma is actually used as decimal separator.
SOLUTION: No need to install any glibc_locale-X.X.pet : making a fresh new install, I noticed that the fr_BE@euro is listed at the 1st position in the locale menu (this is new for me ! ) Shocked

Last edited by charlie6 on Thu 08 Jul 2010, 02:46; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10753
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 07 Jul 2010, 05:06    Post subject:  

Here's a video converter I used system links and knocked the package down from 2707kb to 28kb Smile
Please test it and report the results
ttuuxxx

The original Transcoder thread is located at http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=432302#432302
transcoder_0.0.3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  transcoder_0.0.3.pet 
Filesize  27.04 KB 
Downloaded  410 Time(s) 

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1007
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 05:15    Post subject:
Subject description: editing xorg.conf seems to have no effect (solved)
 

Hi ttuuxxx,

again thanks for this version including Firefox + Abiword2.8.6

see EDITED below: it seems the cause to be linked to the xorg video driver choice

It seems that editing xorg.conf has no effect (I have edited it to get a wacom tablet working by copying the bits from an already working pup4.20; as also having installed the wacom-0.8.4-4-k2.6.30.5.pet driver according to Pizzasgood (thkx to him!) thread
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=56436&start=30

DaveS as already reported this here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=55406&start=240
and here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=56436&start=30

I made this acc. to rscrn51 and Barry's post (thkx to them)
Code:

mkdir /etc/modprobe.d
mv /etc/modprobe.conf /etc/modprobe.d


editing xorg.conf has still no effect...

Thanks for considering this.
Cheers, Charlie
EDITED:
By chance running the same quirky1.20-firefox-v3.0-on-multisession-live-DVD on another pc (with another video driver - i.e. " intel "), editing xorg.conf has well effect and the wacom tablet is working OK.
On the previous pc (featured with a nvidia card !!!), the actual video driver was at boot default set " vesa " - SOLUTION: started xorgwizard and selected the "nv" driver - rebooted - manually edited xorg.conf to add the wacom bits (see Pizzasgood's link above - restarted X and it is done ! =-) .]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5757
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 23 Jul 2010, 16:52    Post subject:  

A little late but I finally got around to doing a manual frugal install on the trusty P3 test box.
So far everything is working great and barring any surprises I'll be using this to replace the regular Quirky install on my main Linux box.Great work as usual. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jul 2010, 10:43    Post subject:
Subject description: pppoe problem
 

Hi ttuuxxx

thanks for your excellent make-over of Quirky.
Guess, however, you don't have a pppoe connection, because the original Quirky's pppoe problem has manifested in your version, as well.

In your 432v3 and your Quirky 120v3 pppoe is established the same way. After AutoDHCP for the LAN card, use pppoe_gui and setup the connection parameters, then start the connection. So far so good, this works in both versions.

To maintain the connection through a reboot 432v3 requires merely a symlink from /usr/sbin/pppoe-start_shell to /root/Startup. That works flawlessly every time.

No so in 120v3. The symlink has zero effect. A connection is not opened.
When rebooting without the symlink, it is NOT possible to use pppoe_gui and just click on the Start button. This does not open the connection. Rather one has to Start, then Stop, then Start again. After that the connection is open and stable.

Consequently I have created a startup shell script called pppoe.sh with this content:

Code:
sleep 12
pppoe-start_shell
/action
sleep 8
pppoe-stop_shell
/action
sleep 5
pppoe-start_shell
/action


and put it in /root/Startup.
That works now, but the sleep times have to be that long. I tried shorter ones, but they didn't work. This is a crude work-around and I searched for some other options. Among other posts I came across this by npierce

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=30818&sid=ac104213698b826bb985319052273179

There is a lot of information in there, but I does not seem to be relevant at this point.

So my question to you is this: What is difference in the relevant files between 432v3 and 120v3? I'd search myself if I knew which files are relevant at all. They seem to be so numerous. Any idea ttuuxxx?

As a general observation: pppoe is not solved well in any Puppy. Other distros seem to have no problem where Puppy has reoccurring ones. Maybe, at some point, one of you developers could address this with a more stable solution. E.g. pppoe.conf as in Ubuntu?

A further not so important observation:

Your Transcoder does not convert a FLV with xvid and mp3 settings. The build-in FFconvert does.


______________________________

Quirky-120 v3 frugal install to HD partition and subdirectory with Grub.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wuwei


Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 774
Location: de

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 03:41    Post subject:
Subject description: Video transcoding
 

This is very strange:

Converted a youtube flv video with Quirky's build-in FFconvert, using xvid and mp3 codecs. Conversion goes well, but when I want to play that transcoded video with the default player gnome-mplayer the entire system freezes. Not even Ctrl-Alt-backspace works anymore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0962s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]