Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 17 Apr 2014, 11:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-500 final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 09:57    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Jim1911,Make sure that you download the pet package and then click on it. If you try to run petget from Firefox, petget will be ran as user spot and won't be able to install anything. To use the package manager, you'll need to click on "Configure package manager" and then "Update now" to download a new package list.
You corrected me on installing pets on one of the earlier versions, and I had forgotten. Embarassed

I did get ppm to update, when I finally noticed faint white characters against the yellow background. As you can see in the attached picture there isn't any contrast.

Thanks again,
Jim
ppm.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  ppm.png 
Filesize  324.22 KB 
Downloaded  494 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 12:53    Post subject:  

Jim,

Somehow I missed fixing that petget terminal screen. Jamesbond posted a fix on page one of this thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nancy reagan

Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 477

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 14:42    Post subject:  

No announcement on "Derivatives' ?

(I am no 64 biter though just to remind you just in case.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10658
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 15:41    Post subject:  

I agree with Nancy. Isn't it time for this thread to be moved to the Puppy Derivatives section?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 1846
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Thu 08 Jul 2010, 15:47    Post subject:  

Hi

The last RC version of Fatdog64 that I did use, did work very well on my laptop Acer AMD64 emachines 2 Gb RAM 150 Gb HD.

The final will not work. No internet connection, nothing to do...

The choice of programs is really different of those of puppy. Ok, it is good for the satisfaction of the creator and his private point of view about the ideal software but not ideal for hard puppy lovers. Puppy is not as the other distributions.

At this point it is a real deception to read "final"... The signification is that a real Puppy for 64 bit machines will never come and that in houses where we use different computers because we did buy them at different time it will not be possible to have exactly the same but with the adequate software according to the type of processor to use it best?

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 03:45    Post subject:    

Used Openshot yesterday with FatDog64 final to produce this vid:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7SYeYt8buJw
Openshot is not stable but that is not to do with Fatdog but the programmers of Openshot. Come on guys how hard can it be (clue - very hard)

Fatdog 64bit seems stable and easy and familiar to use for Puppy users
Some menu icons are missing, for example under menu/desktop.
That was the only problem I could find in a day of heavy use. Smile

At one point Firefox attempted to upgrade to a 'better Flash' - not sure if I should do that - have been caught by these 'improvements' before - will read back through the other posts - seem to remember this is mentioned . . . Rolling Eyes

To turn Fatdog into a 'standard' Puppy, Kino, Handbrake and Gimp could be removed. I would see no reason to change to JWM.
The Window manager is simple, familiar and works well. I barely notice the difference
JWM is available in Fatdog anyway.

This is a solid piece of dog food. A puppy with 64bit compiled code., able to compile Puppy with 64bit optimisation (using the devx add on)

When in a few years people are upgrading to the latest must have multicore 128 bit computers.
Fatdog or its decedents will be saving ye olde 64bit computer.

How wonderful to be using the futures retro computing. Wink

Puppy Linux
Daring to be different

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3251
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 04:19    Post subject:  

Obviously this release was not important enough for some
turgid individual.

So I'll post it here fully because Bambos at Whirlpool
didn't like it.

"""""""""

My reply to him of course was diplomatic.

" And what the hell are you on about?

Some want this ability.
This is Linux.

A long term project realised.
If this is is your best call I suggest your name
needs changing from moderator to Mast.......

Idiot.

//////////

So here is a new post.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies.cfm?t=1484094#bottom


" Good enough for the Puppy developer Barry Kauler
to post on his blog.

"A 64-bit Puppy!
Kirk and jamesbond have reached the first release version of Fatdog64, a Puppy built for Intel-compatible 64-bit CPUs:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=57389

Kirk compiled the base packages in T2, and it needed a lot of work to recompile many other PETs for 64-bit.

Fatdog64 is hosted on Ibiblio, and qualifies as a separate Puppy distro. Kirk did not actually use Woof, just pulled many ideas from Woof, which is the same approach that Jemimah has done with Puppeee.

Kirk, you should put Fatdog64 into the waiting list at Distrowatch.."

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01709

////////

Of course I posted this before but Bambos decided
it was pointless.

Puppy a legit distro.
Fully independent distro.
Well recognised by other developers.
64 bit is important for some.

Just not some 2 bit despot.

Chris.

" Fatdog64 final released.

Your thread was deleted by Bambos « pointless
send whim to this mod
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1875
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 07:28    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Error failed to download when trying to install Openshot
so went here http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/fatdog/pets/500/
and downloaded manually - remember you will need the python pet too for Openshot
that worked OK
My bad, I uploaded a new package but forgot to edit the package-list file. Fixed Very Happy
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 11:06    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
I agree with Nancy. Isn't it time for this thread to be moved to the Puppy Derivatives section?


I am grabbing Fatdog now.. haven't tried yet.

I only recently acquired my AMD X2, so I have had no need.

Flash .. if you look at Barry's "woof-tree-official.png" file (~/puppy-reference/doc/woof-tree-official.png or ~/././svg .. in recent woof builds) Fatdog is "officially" sanctioned. As is jemimah's Puppeee.

IMHO, perhaps when a project such as this is up to release stage there could be a sub-section.. mainly such that the average user knows what is what.

Just a thought,

Mud in your eye, kirk and jamesbond Wink

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3617
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 11:36    Post subject: How can I boot to FATDOG64 desktop as user 'root' instead of  

For some of the tests that I am running, it would be nice if I knew of a way to boot to desktop as user root. I do NOT want just the terminal as root, I want to be root user for all of my desktop applications until I can settle my testing down.

Can anyone tell me if
  1. there is a boot code that will do this for me?
    OR
  2. there is a script somewhere that will change this for me?
    OR
  3. there is a way to logoff of spot and logon as root for desktop?
Thanks for this fast FATDOG

P.S. I am fully aware of the security efforts that went into FATDOG. I am not suggesting anything except if there is a way that can be employ when I want to test things. I am not looking for debate. simply "can I ..."

Again, thank in advance for all of our good work thus far.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 12:25    Post subject:  

gcmartin,

You are auto logged on as root.

The goal for Fatdog was to have web applications run as a non-privileged user. Not in the traditional sense where you log in as a non-privileged user and all of your personnel files are accessible by that user as well. But we log in as root for convenience and in recognition that your personal files are just as important as system files, in fact much more important. Applications that access the internet, Firefox, Xine, Sylpheed, and Pidgin all run as user spot. Spot can only write to a few limited places.

You can run these applications as root if you want though. For Firefox you can open a terminal and type firefox or you can go to /usr/bin and drag firefox to the desktop. The other applications would be similar.

I'll edit the original post with some of this information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3617
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 13:29    Post subject: Having problems with SFS file placement  

Much of the Puppy documentation guides me to add SFS by:
  1. creating a folder /mnt/home
  2. placing the SFS in that folder
  3. running the BootManager Utility who uses /mnt/home and
  4. adding that SFS to the right side
so that it will be selected at boot.

BUT, FATDOG seems to have taken a different approach from that documentation. With FATDOG I MUST place the SFSs in the system's root directory ("/"). Further, there are no instructions which indicate where the SFS files must reside on the boot media for selection at boot-time.

I'm wondering if the SFSs that I want added should be
  1. in the root directory before boot is to occur? or
  2. in /mnt/home before boot is to occur? or
  3. in both?
Anyone aware of this issue...Thanks

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 3617
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 15:06    Post subject: Update on some issues I've run into  

4 items found in LiveDVD testing.
Item
Problem: Missing documentation or solid implementation for adding SFSs to LiveCD.
Scenario: When BootManager is told to use OpenOffice SFS file, the system explodes when rebooted from LiveCD (no boot parameters are selected)
Circumvention: Boot with boot options Puppy pfix=1 in order to get back to desktop

Item
Problem: In LiveCD mode, when session is saved to LiveCD, subsequent reboot does NOT restore the LAN card settings. I was expecting the LAN settings to be saved in the 'session save to cd" that occurs on reboot.
Scenario: Boot system to desktop. Open Terminal and check for an assigned IP address. No address is there on the LAN's interface
Circumvention: Rerun Net-Wizard everytime you boot

Item
Problem: I was NOT able to shutdown and save my desktop data.
Scenario: Turns out that I had sda5 and sr0 mounted. The system would NOT save to DVD, unless I “unmounted” the unit(s) prior to Reboot/Shutdown. Appears that the “Save to DVD” does NOT work if the DVD was mounted when shutdown/reboot was started.
Note: Further, I am not aware of a procedure to get me back to the desktop to umount the DVD.
Circumvention: None. If its mounted, all work done in the session is lost. System MUST be rebooted; all work MUST be repeated; and the DVD MUST be unmounted before shutdown/reboot.
Note: After initial save on a session to the DVD, a reboot has a new button icon on the desktop. If this is pressed when the DVD is mounted, the application will fail with error codes. But, if the DVD is not mounted, it will behave as one would expect in saving session information.

Item
Problem: Cannot determine which video driver the system is currently using
Scenario: Checked Menu...System...HardInfo... as well as Xorg Video Wizard. No luck.

System boot-time messages attached. (its a text file)
DMESG_Listing.zip
Description  TEXT Listing of system's state at latest boot
zip

 Download 
Filename  DMESG_Listing.zip 
Filesize  15.11 KB 
Downloaded  455 Time(s) 

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Sat 10 Jul 2010, 14:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10658
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 15:47    Post subject: Re: Update on some issues I've run into  

gcmartin wrote:
Item
Problem: In LiveCD mode, when session is saved to LiveCD, subsequent reboot does NOT restore the LAN card settings. I was expecting the LAN settings to be saved in the 'session save to cd" that occurs on reboot.
Scenario: Boot system to desktop. Open Terminal and check for an assigned IP address. No address is there on the LAN's interface
Circumvention: Rerun Net-Wizard everytime you boot...

I assume you mean a multisession DVD (or CD).
I haven't done extensive testing yet. I did save to the DVD when I shut down. When I rebooted, everything seemed to be as I set it before I shut down. All I had to do to get online was click on the Browse icon on the desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 151

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jul 2010, 16:02    Post subject:  

To recap, on my Via Nano netbook, Fatdog64 loads until it reaches "loading kernel modules", then the screen goes dark. pfix=nox gives the same result. I guess I don't know enough to implement kirk's advice:
Quote:
You can try booting with pfix=nox again, and then you can type xorgwizard-old. Fatdog64 doesn't have Xvesa, but you might want to try the vesa Xorg driver. You might have to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf:

Driver "vesa" #card0driver

You can do this from the terminal with mp or I think you can edit xorg.conf with the xorgwizard-old.

If there's a command prompt there, I can't see it. The /etc/X11 directory has several xorg#.conf files which I can see in the sfs (from puppy4.3.1) but can't edit.
Thanks for the ideas so far. I hope someone with this type of system will find and post a solution. I'd like to try Fatdog.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0956s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0073s) ][ GZIP on ]