Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 26 Jul 2014, 01:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
CPU FREQUENCY SCALING 1.3-2 - Ondemand (dynamic) - GUI
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 20:37    Post subject:  

niekin,

If you use the latest version, there's a refresh modules button (click then restart)

to do it manually, edit to empty the file /root/Startup/start_cpu_freq then reboot

Ps: do you use pupsave from another puppy install?

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Anniekin


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Tue 09 Mar 2010, 20:55    Post subject:  

Yes.

The pupsave file is from Barebones 431 to which I added programs and remastered.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Anniekin


Joined: 24 Feb 2009
Posts: 186

PostPosted: Thu 11 Mar 2010, 22:55    Post subject:
Subject description: Get ONDEMAND today!
 

What does it mean?

Did I mess up?

Is this bad?

Is my puppy screwed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
elraven

Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 82
Location: wnc-usa

PostPosted: Sun 14 Mar 2010, 11:51    Post subject: cpu frequency scaling  

just wanted to drop a line and say ,it's working on my cpmpaq presario 2.5gig rig . It runs nice and smooth in BigMike's Bruno pup , and i can see results by checking the hardinfo .
super nice stuff
elraven Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 14 Mar 2010, 22:15    Post subject:
Subject description: Get ONDEMAND today!
 

Anniekin wrote:
What does it mean?

Did I mess up?

Is this bad?

Is my puppy screwed?


Ondemand? It's all good

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 14 Mar 2010, 22:16    Post subject: Re: cpu frequency scaling  

elraven wrote:
just wanted to drop a line and say ,it's working on my cpmpaq presario 2.5gig rig . It runs nice and smooth in BigMike's Bruno pup , and i can see results by checking the hardinfo .
super nice stuff
elraven Razz


Great, you're welcome

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TomRhymer

Joined: 18 Sep 2009
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sat 01 May 2010, 11:30    Post subject: Odd problem with this.  

I'm running on an Acer Aspire One AOD-150 model with an Atom 270 processor. I was never able to get this program to work correctly on 4.3 and earlier puppies, the only setting that it would accept is generic, which didn't seem to affect the battery life at all.

On the newest Puppies, like 4.4 and Lucid, I can use the Pentium 4 setting and it does work and give me quite a bit better battery life. One odd problem, if the tool is set to generic, it then will not let me switch to the Pentium 4 setting short of deleting my save file and starting from scratch. Is there any way to turn it off?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trio


Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 1788
Location: अनुमोदना

PostPosted: Sun 02 May 2010, 02:36    Post subject:  

Tom,

If you use the latest version, there's a refresh modules button (click then restart/reboot)

to do it manually, edit to empty the file /root/Startup/start_cpu_freq then reboot

_________________
PET Maker|WbarCC|My Website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TomRhymer

Joined: 18 Sep 2009
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sun 02 May 2010, 10:59    Post subject:  

Thanks. After I posted, I tried that after reading previous comments. It does work in Lupo. I found out that the problem in PupEEE is related to something else. Thanks for your help and for making this utility in the first place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OverDrive

Joined: 02 Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Location: Cleveland, OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jun 2010, 22:34    Post subject:  

Trio, I'm not sure you have been made aware, So I am just letting you know, Your wonderful little utility (btw, Thank You for this) is not working correctly with quirky 1.2rc.

I and a few other users are reporting that we can't get *any* module to activate when using it in quirky1.2.

Whereas we were having no problems in 4.31.

We've been hacking quirky by copying a known good start_cpu_freq from 4.31 over to quirky and then everything works fine. Any ideas?

Overdrive

Edit: add link to thread.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=55417

_________________
Instant Puppy Fan!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jun 2010, 00:39    Post subject:  

OverDrive wrote:
Trio, I'm not sure you have been made aware, So I am just letting you know, Your wonderful little utility (btw, Thank You for this) is not working correctly with quirky 1.2rc.

I and a few other users are reporting that we can't get *any* module to activate when using it in quirky1.2.

Whereas we were having no problems in 4.31.

We've been hacking quirky by copying a known good start_cpu_freq from 4.31 over to quirky and then everything works fine. Any ideas?

Overdrive

Edit: add link to thread.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=55417


Ditto.........

_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jun 2010, 01:05    Post subject:  

DaveS wrote:
OverDrive wrote:
Trio, I'm not sure you have been made aware, So I am just letting you know, Your wonderful little utility (btw, Thank You for this) is not working correctly with quirky 1.2rc.

I and a few other users are reporting that we can't get *any* module to activate when using it in quirky1.2.

Whereas we were having no problems in 4.31.

We've been hacking quirky by copying a known good start_cpu_freq from 4.31 over to quirky and then everything works fine. Any ideas?

Overdrive

Edit: add link to thread.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=55417


Ditto.........


Copying a known good cpu-freq did enable on demand for me; but it
did not find acpi-generic module or let me adjust to different speeds
on my Inspiron 700m.
I'm posting from Wary 020 now; where it works perfectly......and
solves the excessive temp. problem.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8906
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 05 Jun 2010, 06:44    Post subject:  

OverDrive wrote:
Trio, I'm not sure you have been made aware, So I am just letting you know, Your wonderful little utility (btw, Thank You for this) is not working correctly with quirky 1.2rc.

I have posted a fix for this problem here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2044
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Sun 06 Jun 2010, 22:03    Post subject:  

Hi trio,

Based on hints from rcrsn51 above, I've taken the liberty to fix up your code and bump the version to 1.3-3. The pet is attached here. It's only one line change in cpu_func file.

It will work whether or not modprobe.conf is moved to /etc/modprobe.d

cheers!
cpu-scaling-ondemand-1.3-3.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  cpu-scaling-ondemand-1.3-3.pet 
Filesize  2.34 KB 
Downloaded  618 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4337
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jul 2010, 14:13    Post subject:  

Questions:

1. Might this help with a chronic overheating problem in an Acer Aspire 5535 laptop?

2. Might this help with a chronic overheating problem in a Panasonic Toughbook CF-28 laptop?

3. Can this be modified to auto-detect the CPU and suggest a best-setting?

The CF-29 uses an Intel Pentium M 1.3GHz CPU

The Acer Aspire 5535 uses an AMD Athlon x2 64 2.1GHz CPU.

The CF-28 uses a Mobile Intel Pentium III M 1.0 GHz CPU

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0821s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]