Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 20:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Firewall status tray icon - firewallstate-2.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 11 [154 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jul 2010, 21:23    Post subject: Firewall status tray icon applet - firewallstate.0.6
Subject description: icewm
 

tasmod wrote:
ver 0.6

Thanks to vovchik -

Should work in earlier versions. It checks for existence of DISTRO_SPECS if it is not found it defaults to '/etc/puppyversion' and returns that information.


I downloaded version 0.6 and installed the pet, I was in icewm at the time and your pet didn't work.I switched to jwm and it does work now but it says version 0.5.
I also tried it in fatdog64 and it wouldn't work in jwm so I removed the pet in ppm.

Hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 05:13    Post subject:  

Version 0.7 released with new icons and dependency.

Billtoo, apologies for the version info return, I forgot to update that line in the code.

Slaps back of own hands, naughty boy. Embarassed

I don't use icewm so I can't test that, Micko said it worked in Lucid 212 in icewm.

I have made a few changes to the code right now, so try ver0.7 and please report back.

fatdog64 I've no idea what it looks like!

Does the icon appear in tray?
Does it show a blank?
If you right click either icon or blank does the menu come up.
If it does, does Version information work?

If you run it from a terminal does it show any error message?

I'm aware that in a fresh install of slaxerpup it complains of missing libgio.

Small plans for v0.8

Return your own IP, country in use, language and keyboard.

Just ideas at moment, not yet made any code.

Edit: keyboard info done.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool

Last edited by tasmod on Mon 19 Jul 2010, 05:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 05:20    Post subject:  

Still looks ok to me Rob in Icewm (oh and I fixed my Ice bug Wink )

Cheers
fw-state.png
 Description   
 Filesize   72.66 KB
 Viewed   1626 Time(s)

fw-state.png


_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 06:56    Post subject:  

Dear Rob,

Works fine in 3.x and 4.x. Thanks for the nice work....

With kind regards,
vovchik

PS. I think you could safely add a desktop file (/usr/share/applications) to the pet and have it appear under Network. I did that manually and used you "OK" icon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2156
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 09:05    Post subject: Firewall status tray icon applet - firewallstate.0.7
Subject description: tests
 

tasmod wrote:
Version 0.7 released with new icons and dependency.

Billtoo, apologies for the version info return, I forgot to update that line in the code.

Slaps back of own hands, naughty boy. Embarassed

I don't use icewm so I can't test that, Micko said it worked in Lucid 212 in icewm.

I have made a few changes to the code right now, so try ver0.7 and please report back.

fatdog64 I've no idea what it looks like.



I booted luci-213 with prefix=ram
I installed your pet and it worked.
I downloaded icewm from puppy package manager after I updated ppm.
When I clicked on the icewm pet a screen popped up and I have attached a screenshot (icewm.jpeg) of that.

In fatdog 64 I installed your pet and restarted xserver.
I noticed a greater distance between blinky and the clipboard icons in the lower right corner.
I right clicked (may have been left I forget) over the area where the firewall applet should be.
The attachment (firewall.jpg) is a screenshot of that.

thanks
firewall.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  firewall.jpg 
Filesize  101.31 KB 
Downloaded  1151 Time(s) 
icewm.jpg
Description 
jpg

 Download 
Filename  icewm.jpg 
Filesize  70.18 KB 
Downloaded  1004 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 11:10    Post subject:  

Version 0.8 released.

has added info to menu item 'Version information'

I'm working on an all C solution using curl for the IP reporting. Right now it runs a small script.


Billtoo,

Icewm
Yes, this report means libgio is missing.

Because I have so much installed on my machine it is hard to know what else is required for firewallstate to work for someone else.

You should be able to download it from package manager.

fatdog 64,
looks like a gtk version problem or tray is different

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 11:28    Post subject:  

Dear Rob,

Version 0.8 introduces three unnecessary dependencies:

libkrb5support
libgssapi_krb5
lincurl_gnutls

There are easier ways to get the external IP, e.g.:

wget -qO- whatismyip.org

I would revert to the v. 0.7 way of doing things and add the above line in a system call for simplicity's sake.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 14:51    Post subject:  

vovchik, that is how it's done.

it may be that because I listed libgio as a dependency it is asking for them.

I have a CURL routine that is not working correctly, it won't write to the file. So as a temporary fix i made a call to an external bash script.

Code:
{  /* Get your IP address from tmp file */

   fp = (FILE *)popen("cat /tmp/ipis.txt |  awk '{print $1}'  " , "r" );

    fgets(ipis,sizeof ipis,fp);
    pclose(fp);
   
}


script

Code:
#!/bin/bash

`wget -O /tmp/ipis.txt -q icanhazip.com`
echo "`cat /tmp/ipis.txt`"    #A test

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 14:59    Post subject:  

This is the CURL section that won't play ball, I'm sure I have something wrong in write_data

All this and two lines in bash does it :-

Code:

/*//////////////////////////////////////////////////* For the CURL routine below */

static size_t write_data(void *ptr, size_t size, size_t nmemb, void *stream)
{
  int written = fwrite(ptr, size, nmemb, (FILE *)stream);
  return written;
}
 


///////////////////////////////////////////////////// Should run IP routine but doesn't write

*/
gboolean ISip(gpointer ptr);

gboolean ISip(gpointer ptr)   {      //Create file, write returned IP and then open file and read.
   
CURL *curl;
   
curl = curl_easy_init();

if(curl) {
fp =(FILE *) fopen("/tmp/ip.txt","w");
curl_easy_setopt(curl, CURLOPT_URL, "http://www.icanhazip.com");
curl_easy_setopt(curl, CURLOPT_WRITEFUNCTION, write_data);
curl_easy_setopt(curl, CURLOPT_WRITEDATA, fp);

curl_easy_cleanup(curl);

fclose(fp);
}

{

fp =(FILE *) fopen("/tmp/ip.txt","r");

 fgets(ipresult,sizeof ipresult,fp);

 fclose(fp);

}
}



_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 15:06    Post subject:  

Arghhhh, just realised I left the #include <curl/curl.h> in the code and I may have another lib missing so the curl won't work anyway. Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad

Thanks vovchik, I will remake the pet.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 15:13    Post subject:  

Version 0.9 with removed lib call and added Network IP to reporting
_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 15:30    Post subject:  

Dear Rob,

Yep, you got rid of the curl dependencies nicely and it all works except of the local IP, which is wrong. In my case it shows 192.168.1.0 as the local network, when, in actual fact, it is 192.168.2.x. Look at the way I did it in ipinfo - which you scrapped because it's not in all puppies. I also did another checkip prog
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=47152002&t=56678 that checks the entire local network, but you probably don't want to use that because it takes 45 secs to get all live IPs on a LAN (ping takes over 4 minutes!). However, there is probably a routine in it that just grabs the local machine IP expenditiously. I can't remember.

Nice work.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 20:08    Post subject:  

Hi vovchik,

Yes, I removed the ipinfo as I wasn't sure if it would work with earlier puppys. I also didn't want to force on someone another app in the pet, rather just make a call to it from code.

Network IP is not the machines own ip but the base ip of the router.

Seems no-one wants that.

OK I believe there is a list of connected pcs in /etc/hosts. However I can only print one so far to the Version Information , I'm not sure yet how to make additional lines display, all calls stop at single line when newline is met in the array. i need to trap them out then re-insert during display.
I've been working on that one but for now was happy to just have a working app.

Micko reports that the report-video just flashes on briefly in the luci version. I can't get it to do that, it works for me.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jul 2010, 22:52    Post subject:  

vovchick you posted this on the other page I like that

Code:

#!/bin/sh
myfile="$@"
gcc `pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0` -o "$myfile" "$myfile".c
strip "$myfile"



I had some fun with it and added a little cream to your strawberry dessert Very Happy
you can compile the c code in this thread with it

Code:

#!/bin/sh

# drag N drop c compiler
# gcc  compiler flags config by vovchick
# file filters , Xdialog and gcc version checking by big_bass
# 7-19-2010

MY_CFILE="$@"
DIR_N=`dirname "$@"`
MY_FILE=`basename "$@" .c`



#check gcc version
gcc_version=`gcc -dumpversion`



Xdialog --title "gcc version" \
                --infobox "\ngcc version $gcc_version\n" 0 0 2000



if echo `basename "$@"` | grep -q '.c$'; then
Xdialog --wrap --title "COMPILE" \
        --yesno "Do you want to compile  $@  " 0 0

case $? in
  0)
    echo "Yes chosen."
   
  gcc `pkg-config --cflags --libs gtk+-2.0` -o  "$DIR_N"/"$MY_FILE" "$MY_CFILE" 
    strip "$DIR_N/$MYFILE"
   ;;
  1)
    echo "No chosen."
    exit
   ;;
  255)
    echo "Box closed."
    exit
   ;;

esac

Xdialog --title "Complete" \
           --infobox "\nConversion to $MY_FILE bin has finished.\n" 0 0 4000

else

 


Xdialog --title "ERROR MESSAGE  drag N drop" \
       --msgbox "only C code allowed  " 0 0

case $? in
  0)
    echo "OK"
   exit
   ;;
 
 255)
    echo "Box closed."
   exit
   ;;
esac
                 
fi             
      
c-compiler.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  c-compiler.tar.gz 
Filesize  652 Bytes 
Downloaded  755 Time(s) 

_________________
debian wheezy ,linux mint, slackware I use them all and they all have good points
Mint would be best for general users though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1287
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 03:24    Post subject:  

Dear Joe,

Thanks....

I like that.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 11 [154 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0956s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]