Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 22:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Firewall status tray icon - firewallstate-2.1
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 11 [154 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Author Message
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 10:34    Post subject:  

It looks like the script posts "Firewall On" if rc.firewall is present, even if $MODULE has been removed, or am I missing something?

edit: If so, one way would be to check the presence of iptable in loaded mods.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 11:37    Post subject:  

No, quite simple really.

It was meant for a first run tray applet for new Puplets. Just to remind you to turn on the firewall by running the wizard.

So a new Puppy install would show as 'firewall off' and the option to run the wizard as a reminder in the tooltip. That's why I added the quit and remove.

Now, when you have a clean install the rc.local file has no entry for firewall. When you run the wizard it appends the 'firewall start' script instruction there. I just check for that script. i don't check for the rc.firewall.

In effect once the firewall wizard is run it should not need changing. However, if you wish to turn it off then alter the script to show 'firewall stop' not 'firewall start'

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 12:07    Post subject:  

OK, I see your point.

But the tray applets first intention wasn't to be a full time app, however i did change it subject to requests, so i suppose it had better be accurate in it's reporting.

I've just done a couple of experiments both loading and unloading modules.

My simple method will change state if the text is changed but not reflect an accurate actual change until rebooted.

Unloading the module has no effect on the script so firewallstate will be inaccurate.

I will experiment with code to look at running the lsmod output to a file and parse that checking for iptables.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 12:51    Post subject:  

I'd be happy with a simple entry on the info page, along with the other cats.

edit: firewall start/stop switch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 15:53    Post subject:  

Hmmm, I've carried out further tests.

The only way to turn the firewall off easily is to change the text in rc.local to 'firewall stop' and reboot. Otherwise delete the rc.firewall and reboot again.
All require a reboot and the rc.local changes, so I can't see a reason to change the code at the moment. Unless anyone knows otherwise.

I have changed the code and tested but it is easier the original way as this seems to be universal in operation.

I wrote a pet to turn firewall on and off a while back, it's on here somewhere.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Wed 28 Jul 2010, 23:29    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
Hmmm, I've carried out further tests.

The only way to turn the firewall off easily is to change the text in rc.local to 'firewall stop' and reboot. Otherwise delete the rc.firewall and reboot again.
All require a reboot and the rc.local changes, so I can't see a reason to change the code at the moment. Unless anyone knows otherwise.

I have changed the code and tested but it is easier the original way as this seems to be universal in operation.

I wrote a pet to turn firewall on and off a while back, it's on here somewhere.



hm...looks like it works
Code:

/etc/rc.d # ./rc.firewall stop
-> Projectfiles.com Linux Firewall version 2.0rc9 running.
-> Performing sanity checks. [ PASSED ]
-> Firewall disabled.

/etc/rc.d # ./rc.firewall start
-> Projectfiles.com Linux Firewall version 2.0rc9 running.
-> Performing sanity checks...... [ PASSED ]
-> Building firewall.... [ DONE ]
-> Successfully secured the following addresses: 192.168.1.112.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 05:21    Post subject:  

I wrote the original pet to do just that.

I was setting up a router and network and kept getting weird results due to the firewall. So I quickly wrote the script and gui to turn it on and off whilst I carried out tests.
Zigbert incorporated in his all encompassing setup program.

I suppose I could incorporate it in the app along with a menu launch entry if you want.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 13:59    Post subject:  

tasmod wrote:
I wrote the original pet to do just that.

I suppose I could incorporate it in the app along with a menu launch entry if you want.

Could be useful, and then the "firewall on(off)" message could simply be connected to the switch.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8-bit


Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 3398
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 16:41    Post subject:
Subject description: rc.firewall and network printer sharing.
 

Just what does a person need to change in rc.firewall to allow network printing to bypass the firewall?
The reason I ask is that if I set up the firewall accepting default, shared printers are not seen by linux guest systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 03:25    Post subject:  

I'm no expert on the firewall but:

Try running the firewall wizard and use arrow key to scroll down and select custom.

Try enabling print spooler using spacebar as advised in tips.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 03:58    Post subject:
Subject description: rc.firewall and network printer sharing.
 

8-bit wrote:
Just what does a person need to change in rc.firewall to allow network printing to bypass the firewall?
The reason I ask is that if I set up the firewall accepting default, shared printers are not seen by linux guest systems.


In the custom section I put "631/tcp" .. seemed to work Confused .. I can print puppy machine to puppy machine. Enabled some of the other things too. Forget exactly. Patriot would know or rcrsn51.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 05:46    Post subject:  

OK, back on the code.

After testing I found the app would work for most users 100% but if a user used my on/off app or a cli command then it wouldn't reflect the status.

This is because the commands work direct with rc.firewall and do not write to the rc.local to reflect the change in realtime.

So code changed and checks lsmod for ip_tables at jpeps suggestion. (thanks)

Edit: removed icon code request. Now working.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 09:57    Post subject:  

This seems to be working good for me, remains in the taskbar as I wanted Smile

Thanks for this app!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tasmod


Joined: 04 Dec 2008
Posts: 1462
Location: North Lincolnshire. UK

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 10:01    Post subject:  

Thanks for the feedback, much appreciated.

Version 1.3 posted, works regardless of commands issued elsewhere.
Incorporates ON/OFF in menu, should you need it.

Regarding the External IP address info. It's been interesting seeing my external IP change occasionally by BT.

_________________
Rob
-
The moment after you press "Post" is the moment you actually see the typso Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
chrome307


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 713

PostPosted: Fri 30 Jul 2010, 10:07    Post subject:  

@tasmod

I'm using v1.2 .... hadn't realised you'd updated it again!!

lol ... I even used it to correct my location settings for time!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 11 [154 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 9, 10, 11 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0786s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0076s) ][ GZIP on ]