Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 13:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Advert-Blocker 0.5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 10:11    Post subject:  

version 0.4 is giving me an error

I selected all the list and I tried to update

After some time, a dialog box popped up showing that none has been selected

And, after some seconds when I closed the first box, another dialog popped up saying, all are updated

But when I checked the Hosts, I find that nothing is updated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fyujj

Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 11:16    Post subject:  

technosaurus, sc0ttman or whoever, could you adapt the script to use yad?
I'm using Debian and wouldn't like to install gtkdialog or xdialog since they're considered deprecated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sinc


Joined: 22 Jul 2009
Posts: 523
Location: Tampa, FL USA

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 11:48    Post subject:  

chrismt wrote:
version 0.4 is giving me an error

same error here. v.4 not working right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4284

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 12:25    Post subject:  

Yad pet is here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=58306
for my version all you need to do is have yad output to stdout any combination of ...
1 2 3 4 5

and place it into
`Xdialog ... ...`

zenity/yad break compatibility with the standard dialog formats that dialog, cdialog, xdialog, whiptail and kdialog all basically share in common ... so it would need to be recoded ... but you can always use the dialog version from a terminal (just get rid of the checking for DISPLAY and set DIALOG to dialog)

_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fyujj

Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 13:44    Post subject:  

Thank you technosaurus, that's even better (using just the terminal). I don't know bash (or whatever scripting language). I left it like this:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
DIALOG=dialog || DIALOG=dialog
for x in `$DIALOG --stdout --checklist "Choose your ad blocking service(s)" 0 0 4 1 "mvps.org" ON 2 "systcl.org" ON 3 "technobeta.com" ON 4 "yoyo.org" ON |tr "/" " " |tr '\"' ' '`; do
   case $x in
   1)wget -c -4 -t 0 -O /tmp/adlist1 'http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.txt';;
   2)wget -c -4 -t 0 -O /tmp/adlist2 'http://sysctl.org/cameleon/hosts';;
   3)wget -c -4 -t 0 -O /tmp/adlist3 'http://www.technobeta.com/download/urlfilter.ini';;
   4)wget -c -4 -t 0 -O /tmp/adlist4 'http://pgl.yoyo.org/as/serverlist.php?hostformat=hosts&showintro=0&mimetype=plaintext';;
   *)echo $x;;
   esac
done
touch /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4}
cat /etc/hosts /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4} |grep ^[1-9] |sed '/^$/d' |sed "s/\t/ /g"|sed '/^#/d' |sed 's/  / /g' |dos2unix -u |sort |uniq > /etc/hosts
rm -f /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4}

and it showed the dialog fine in the terminal, downloaded and created fine /tmp/adlist1 to /tmp/adlist4 but then just left a blank /etc/hosts and also didn't delete those temporary files.
I have safely backed up my original hosts file so no worry regarding this. I have dos2unix installed too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 14:03    Post subject:  

sinc wrote:
chrismt wrote:
version 0.4 is giving me an error

same error here. v.4 not working right.

What version of Puppy are you using? Did you run in from the terminal and read its errors?
Did previous versions work?
Cos 0.4 works fine for me - I can't actually get it to fail on Puppy 4.2.1 ... Rolling Eyes

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 19:43    Post subject:  

sc0ttman,
You have not full applied my fixes.

The problem is that a line like this can break things:

cat /etc/hosts /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4} |grep ^[1-9] |sed '/^$/d' |sed "s/\t/ /g"|sed '/^#/d' |sed 's/ / /g' |dos2unix -u |sort |uniq > /etc/hosts

You need to do it like this:

ETCHOSTS="`cat /etc/hosts /tmp/adlist{1,2,3,4} |grep ^[1-9] |sed '/^$/d' |sed "s/\t/ /g"|sed '/^#/d' |sed 's/ / /g' |dos2unix -u |sort |uniq`"
echo "$ETCHOSTS" > /etc/hosts

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4284

PostPosted: Mon 30 Aug 2010, 21:38    Post subject:  

sorry, that was my bad - you can't (or at least shouldn't) pipe a file back to itself (possible endless loop) - ... switched to using an original backup instead - fix posted below original code
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 02:30    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
sc0ttman,
You have not full applied my fixes.

Whoops.. Updated to 0.5, all fixes added (i think!)

0.5 should work fine again now.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 05:53    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
sinc wrote:
chrismt wrote:
version 0.4 is giving me an error

same error here. v.4 not working right.

What version of Puppy are you using? Did you run in from the terminal and read its errors?
Did previous versions work?
Cos 0.4 works fine for me - I can't actually get it to fail on Puppy 4.2.1 ... Rolling Eyes


I was testing this on Puppy 5.1

Version 5 is working but I am not sure if it downloaded all the 4 ticked lists because when i click the EDIT button, I can only see a few blocked address

I think, just think, it is only downloading a single list not every lists

I wish someone verified this

Thanks anyway for this cool Pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 31 Aug 2010, 08:36    Post subject:  

chrismt wrote:
[Version 5 is working but I am not sure if it downloaded all the 4 ticked lists because when i click the EDIT button, I can only see a few blocked address

I think, just think, it is only downloading a single list not every lists

I wish someone verified this

Thanks anyway for this cool Pet

Perhaps you could download each list separately, copy the lists each time to a new text file and compare the results.

Technobeta has around 2,000 results, as does Yoyo, while the others have more like 20,000 entries..
After selecting and downloading all fours lists, I get a total of around 30,300 entries.

Or you could comment out the line in the 'cleanup' function, to see each downloaded list. (The line to comment out starts with the 'rm' command, followed by a list of the 4 downloaded ad list files).

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Wed 01 Sep 2010, 17:03    Post subject: Logo for Advert-Blocker  

Dear scottman et al.,

Here is a nice logo for the gtkdialog script that you might consider using Smile

With kind regards,
vovchik

PS. Thanks for the app.
noplace3.png
 Description   
 Filesize   17.67 KB
 Viewed   1275 Time(s)

noplace3.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 02:37    Post subject:  

I am not a designer or anything and I am not sure if modifying an icon is pirating

I am impressed with both these icons of Adblock and AdThwart

You must think about making a logo similar in nature, like red color because the color red has become to symbolize ad-blocking for some time

If it is not pirating, then modifying these icons with Puppy logo can do good.
logo.png
 Description   
 Filesize   4.44 KB
 Viewed   1276 Time(s)

logo.png

face-devilish-48.png
 Description   
 Filesize   3.06 KB
 Viewed   1239 Time(s)

face-devilish-48.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2373
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 08:41    Post subject:  

Nice icons, good stuff... Barry K also made one, which is in Woof, I wonder what that looks like..
Would need them all to compare.. Smile

Also, is 0.5 working for everyone?

I'm not entirely sure I fixed it right, although as I said earlier, it seems to always work in 4.2 Rolling Eyes

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chrismt


Joined: 21 Apr 2010
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 10:37    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:


Also, is 0.5 working for everyone?

I'm not entirely sure I fixed it right, although as I said earlier, it seems to always work in 4.2 Rolling Eyes


My problem with Puppy AdStopper in Puppy 5.1 seems to have fixed Very Happy

I updated all the list and I counted the number of blocked lines and it is around 29452

I guess, this is what you will get if you update all the lists

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0992s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0120s) ][ GZIP on ]