Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 16:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Lucid Puppy 5.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Author Message
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Mon 16 Aug 2010, 00:16    Post subject:  Lucid Puppy 5.1
Subject description: Menu mismatch
 

While trying to install the Printer, through CUPS menu, I am getting Internet Quickpet program. ( CUPS linked to Internet Browser quick pet program) How to solve this typical problem. Also I would like to know how to update the program and install quickpet (Internet Browser) through Proxy server. ( in my office, there is no direct INTERNET connection)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 16 Aug 2010, 10:48    Post subject:  

I would change the tittle of your post to read 'In hat way can I use quickpet through a proxy'
This reflects your biggest problem.
And I don' think someone addressed this already.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Blue76Bay

Joined: 30 Dec 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 19 Aug 2010, 00:25    Post subject:  

I added the following lines to the /etc/wgetrc file

# Proxy Server
http_proxy = proxy.foo.bar:8080

# If Proxy Server requires authentication to access the Internet
proxy_user = <username>
proxy_password = <password>

This would be a nice feature to add to the Quickpet GUI.

HTH
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 19 Aug 2010, 00:43    Post subject:  

rameshiyer

In the Browser Installer window you have the option to use "generic browser" as default. In this case it is netsurf which will run CUPS.

Blue76Bay

This looks very promising and indeed I will look into it to add such functionality to Quickpet.

Thank you.

Cheers

EDIT: rameshiyer, I did not realise you started a new topic for this, bad etiquitte.

Please refrain from starting a new topic for something which you fear is a bug and post in the correct thread, thank you.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Blue76Bay

Joined: 30 Dec 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 19 Aug 2010, 20:00    Post subject:  

The added lines in /etc/wgetrc for using a Proxy Server also works for the Puppy Package Manager. Handy for downloading applications at your place of work when the only connection to the Internet is via a Proxy Server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Thu 02 Sep 2010, 07:08    Post subject: lucid Puppy 5.1
Subject description: Proxy Settings
 

Dear Blue76Bay

Finally I have managed to establish internet connection through proxy. Thank you very much. I have provided following proxy details in wgetrc
http_proxy=http://200.200.200.5:6588/
ftp_proxy=http://200.200.200.5:6588/
proxy-user = xxx
proxy-password = xxxxxx

# If you do not want to use proxy at all, set this to off.
use_proxy = on

Now I am able to use quickpet. Thank you once again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [6 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0475s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]