Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 15:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
shareInternet-2.2.4.pet - Puppy as router - bugfix
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 8 [108 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
potong

Joined: 06 Mar 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 02:12    Post subject:  

Is this the pet for me?

My current configuration is three computers and a network printer connected to a fast ethernet switching hub.
Internet access is normally (well as normal as can be accepted for my phone/isp company) via a Billion ADSL Router which runs DHCP and allocates the computers their IP addresses (the printer has a static address so as to avoid problems with DHCP), the router is attached to the hub too.

Presently the phone lines and thus ADSL as well, are down and so I've reverted to plan B for internet access i.e. GPRS/Edge via a mobile phone.
I log on to the internet on my main puppy 4.3.1 usually on the first available IP address 192.168.1.2 (192.168.1.1 is the router and 192.168.1.50 is the network printer).

When ADSL is up, all the computers can get access to the internet via the router.
But since it's down only I can get access via ppp on my machine: I would like the other machines to have access via my machine.

Also, in order to gain access to the internet via GPRS/Edge I have found I have to bring down my eth0 interface on my puppy machine using
Code:
ifconfig eth0 down

logon to the internet via connections icon and then bring the eth0 back up via
Code:
ifconfig eth0 up

otherwise I can not print to the network printer.
Could someone explain to me why, and how to remedy this situation.
I fumbled around on the router web setup but cannot see an obvious choice.

Lastly, when ADSL is up I allow port forwarding via my router so my friends can access my discs using python and SimpleHTTPServer.
Can I achieve this using this pet?

Sorry for the inordinate length of this post but I'm wary of changing my working setup too much and finding all goes tits up when they get around to fixing the phone lines and ADSL comes back on line.

Potong

p.s. almost forgot: will this also cater for any virtual machines running via VirtualBox on my puppy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 305
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 19 Jun 2010, 15:04    Post subject:  

potong wrote:
Is this the pet for me?
I'm not sure if you would consider it to be "the" pet for you, but it can certainly help.

The best that could be achieved with this software is, to switch from ADSL to phone, you would have to:
1) Disconnect the ADSL router from the hub, (mostly to get rid of it's dhcp server).
2) Reconfigure eth0 to have a static IP of 192.168.1.2
3) Establish ppp0 as the Internet interface, using your phone.
4) Run shareInternet.
5) You may need to "repair" the ethernets of the other machines or simply reboot them.

Challanges:
1) Configure iptables in the puppy machine to do the necessary port forwarding. shareInternet has a facility for reading extra iptables rules for just this purpose. It installs a file called "/root/.shareInternet/iptablesExtraRules/serverExample"
2) If the fixed IP for the printer is controlled by the ADSL router, then we would need to find a way to get "dnsmasq" to do the same thing.
3) Changing the configuration of eth0 is a pain in standard puppy 431. That's why I wrote a script called storedNetConfigs, so you can have a dhcp config for eth0 and a static config for eth0 and easily choose which one you want enabled.

potong wrote:
Could someone explain to me why, and how to remedy this situation.
It could be a dhcp conflict, but even if it's not, you need to configure eth0 not to use dhcp when you are using puppy as a router.
When the dhcp client (dhcpcd) gets an IP address it also writes a new copy of "/etc/resolv.conf" and a new routing table. This configures the machine to be able to talk to the up-stream network. It's not good to have 2 interfaces doing this at the same time. That's why it's a simple rule of thumb for routers, use dhcp on the up-stream interface, use static on the down-stream interface(s).

potong wrote:
will this also cater for any virtual machines running via VirtualBox on my puppy?
I'm not sure, hopefully they will send a dhcp request onto the ethernet and get a response from eth0 as 192.168.1.2.

gyro

NOTE: if you want a copy of storedNetConfigs, I will upload a new one, since I've made a few cosmetic changes since the last version I published.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
potong

Joined: 06 Mar 2009
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 03:06    Post subject:  

Thanks Gyro

There's a lot to assimilate here, perhaps I'll make my three computers all static IP addresses and remove the DHCP problem from the equation.
I did this with the network printer (the printer IP address is static set by the printers web interface).
This would also mean I can just disconnect the router until such time that the phone engineers get around to replacing the stolen line.
So all I need to do then is fix the shared internet.
I'm just having a gander at dnsmasq now, I'm afraid my knowledge of networking is woeful but I'll get there eventually.
Thank again for the detailed reply

Potong

p.s. please do update your storedNetConfigs pet I'll download and study it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 305
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 12:25    Post subject:  

potong wrote:
perhaps I'll make my three computers all static IP addresses and remove the DHCP problem from the equation.
Remember that dhcp does more than just provide IP addresses, it also provides DNS server IP's and the gateway IP.
I would go for a dhcp solution wherever possible, for a network that changes. Then you can just plug in a new client machine and it just works, (except for entering the password for a WAP2 wireless network). Also after a network rearrangement, the worst you have to do to a client is reboot.

potong wrote:
I'm just having a gander at dnsmasq now
If you use shareInternet there's no need to configure dnsmasq yourself, since the static IP for your printer is not controlled by your current dhcp server.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 305
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 12:39    Post subject:  

See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=37468 for latest storedNetConfigs.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alienx2

Joined: 24 May 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jun 2010, 06:52    Post subject:  

gyro wrote:
alienx2 wrote:
so is there automatic?
Yes, its called "dhcpcd".
But the version of "dhcpcd" that's in the puppy you are using, doesn't seem to be working correctly in your situation.

I have compiled a newer version for puppy 431, see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51424

gyro


but dhcpcd 5 still not work... Sad

im currently using puppy linux "lucid" 5.00...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 305
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Mon 28 Jun 2010, 11:36    Post subject:  

alienx2 wrote:
but dhcpcd 5 still not work... Sad

im currently using puppy linux "lucid" 5.00...
Sorry, but I'm all out of guesses.
If the work around script that restarts dhcpcd every 15 minutes, still works for you, then this reinforces my suspicion that this is a dhcpcd problem.
If it is a dhcpcd problem, then if you don't run shareInternet, don't run the dhcpcd work around script, and just leave puppy running as a client machine connected to the Internet, the problem should still occur.

To begin working towards a solution for a dhcpcd problem, would require you to find a way to get the puppy you are running to run dhcpcd with the "-d" option and reporting all the dhcpcd messages in /var/log/messages. Unfortunately such an enterprise is more appropriately done in the thread for the puppy you are running, rather than here. If there is a problem with dhcpcd, it deserves to be brought to the attention of a wider audience than just those interested in shareInternet.

If you do decide to pursue the issue, by reporting the dhcpcd log messages. Please post here, a link to the thread you report in. I would be interested in seeing them, since dhcpcd is supposed to just work.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alienx2

Joined: 24 May 2010
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sun 04 Jul 2010, 11:08    Post subject:  

gyro wrote:
alienx2 wrote:
but dhcpcd 5 still not work... Sad

im currently using puppy linux "lucid" 5.00...
Sorry, but I'm all out of guesses.
If the work around script that restarts dhcpcd every 15 minutes, still works for you, then this reinforces my suspicion that this is a dhcpcd problem.
If it is a dhcpcd problem, then if you don't run shareInternet, don't run the dhcpcd work around script, and just leave puppy running as a client machine connected to the Internet, the problem should still occur.

To begin working towards a solution for a dhcpcd problem, would require you to find a way to get the puppy you are running to run dhcpcd with the "-d" option and reporting all the dhcpcd messages in /var/log/messages. Unfortunately such an enterprise is more appropriately done in the thread for the puppy you are running, rather than here. If there is a problem with dhcpcd, it deserves to be brought to the attention of a wider audience than just those interested in shareInternet.

If you do decide to pursue the issue, by reporting the dhcpcd log messages. Please post here, a link to the thread you report in. I would be interested in seeing them, since dhcpcd is supposed to just work.

gyro


i prefer script is working for me Smile anyway, thank you very much for making this work Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Atle

Joined: 19 Nov 2008
Posts: 282
Location: Oslo, Norway

PostPosted: Wed 15 Sep 2010, 10:23    Post subject:  

Wow... This script is fabulous. It should be integrated in the next release of Puppy. Its to me such a time saver and a fantastic tool that makes my life so much easier. I cant thank you enough for doing this work Gyro.

Before i was transferring files and what what what, using a USB memostick.

Or i even had to boot a Live Fedora 12, as i found this to be the only distro that makes internet sharing easy and possible for newbees...

This little Pet of your took me from a life in misery and made me nothing less than KING OF NETWORKS in Africa. I shall toast and honor you at the bar tonight...

Cheers:-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3251
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 17 Sep 2010, 05:46    Post subject:  

" KING OF NETWORKS in Africa.

I shall toast and honor you at the bar tonight... "

Always nice to see a happy poster.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 305
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 15:27    Post subject:  

Atle wrote:
Wow... This script is fabulous. It should be integrated in the next release of Puppy. Its to me such a time saver and a fantastic tool that makes my life so much easier. I cant thank you enough for doing this work Gyro.
Thank you very much, Atle. I'm glad someone is getting some use out of some the stuff I publish on this forum from time to time.

gyro

PS: I'm on holiday's at the moment so not very active on the forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plankenstein


Joined: 15 Nov 2008
Posts: 119
Location: Arkansas, USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 Oct 2010, 13:28    Post subject:  

Just a quick THANK YOU! This wonderful pet has made me the hero of our house. You've done a great job, and I now have another name to add to my list of puppy heroes. Very Happy "All hail gyro!" (At least those who want/need to use puppy as a router.) Laughing
_________________
I carefully plan ALL my random acts! Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 305
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 14:08    Post subject:  

plankenstein,

Thanks.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Unreal.2K7

Joined: 01 Feb 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 02 Feb 2011, 10:31    Post subject:  

Hello everyone. Bringing up this thread because i think my problem might belong here since it has to do with the shareInternet program. I apologize if this is not where it should belong.

First of all, i whish to thank gyro for having dedicated time to this nice tool.
I'm happy to see that others managed to set it up correctly, so i think i must be missing some steps to make it work too.


My network is the following:

Code:

Internet -> 4 Port ethernet router -> Windows PC
                                   -> Ethernet Switch -> Windows PC
                                                      -> Windows PC
                                                      -> Network Storage
                                                      -> Lucid Puppy Server (Version: lupu-520   Kernel: 2.6.33.2)

Note: all the connections listed above are wired (ethernet 10/100). They all are in the 192.168.1.x subnet, gateway is at x=254.

My puppy server has an usb WiFi dongle which i would like to use to create a wifi access point to share internet to my smartphone.
The device is listed in the Puppy Network Wizard as ZyDAS USB 2.0 WLAN, and it's loaded with the zd1211rw module.
The usb wifi key was previously installed on a windows machine and shared the internet from there. Now i would like to move it to the server now to provide 24/7 uptime to the AP.

What i tried to do:

I installed the shareInternet package and launched the icon from my-roxapps. It told me that i didn't have two active connections. I read the manual and understood that in order to make it work i must set a static ip (on a different subnet) for the wlan interface and no gateway nor dns for it.

I did so and configured wlan to have ip 10.0.10.1 (gateway and dns set to 0.0.0.0 on that interface) and restarted the tool. This time it was happy and a green circle popped on it after it was finished.

The issue:

When i went to my phone and searched for the network it couldn't find it.

Now i wonder: if this tool was to share internet from the ethernet to the wlan by creating an access point, shouldn't it ask me for a SSID network name and eventually which encryption method i want and a password? It didn't ask me anything. What am i missing here?

Thanks for your patience with me Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 305
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 21 Apr 2011, 12:47    Post subject:  

Unreal.2K7 wrote:
What am i missing here?

Sorry, I've been away.

What you're missing is that while puppy linux can connect to an AccessPoint it can't be one. (I would dearly love someone to show me I'm wrong by indicating how to do it.) I think that it's related to the wi-fi drivers/hardware.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 8 [108 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0958s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]