Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 12:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Improved RemoteDesktopClient GUI - Feb 28, 2007
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 28 May 2009, 15:42    Post_subject:  

I'll check on this.

I cannot promise it for tonight as I'm helping my father reinstall ubuntu. (he lives in Mexico, I live in Canada) so it's all over the phone.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rode

Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 12:38    Post_subject:  No Solution?  

Hi, here I am again. Rarsa, are you still working on it? It is very difficult? Many thanks for your work!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 06 Jun 2009, 20:17    Post_subject:  

Oops. sorry for the delay and thank you for the reminder. I have an awful memory. I had totally forgotten.

Well, Installed it on 4.2, made sure that rdesktop and gnocl were installed, Ran it from the console and got the error.

Going back memory lane I remembered that I had to use a particular version of Gnocl, the latest one was buggy and the etchedIn shadow wasn't working.

So, here is a quick fix. I just removed the etchedIn shadow in the GUI. I think that the real solution would be to install the correct Gnocl. but this should be sufficient for you.

unpack this file and put it in
/usr/local/remotedesktopclient/
remotedesktopclientGUI.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  remotedesktopclientGUI.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.17 KB 
Downloaded  761 Time(s) 

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 18:20    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Remote Access for Device Control?
 

Will the RemoteDesktopClient do this?

Here is the need ...

From a Linux Netbook with a wireless (Bluetooth) headset I'd like to be able to access a Linux computer - which is connected to my 2-way radio (Amateur Radio) via a CAT connection running "flrig" a Linux-based rig control app. and operate it (that means audio in and out plus control signals in and out).

It needs to be secure so no one can get on the air illegally.

It needs to work whether I am, at the Netbook point, connected to the Internet via a Wifi, Cell-modem, or hardwire lan.

WDYT?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 18:43    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Remote Access for Device Control?
 

edoc wrote:
Will the RemoteDesktopClient do this?

Here is the need ...

From a Linux Netbook with a wireless (Bluetooth) headset I'd like to be able to access a Linux computer - which is connected to my 2-way radio (Amateur Radio) via a CAT connection running "flrig" a Linux-based rig control app. and operate it (that means audio in and out plus control signals in and out).

It needs to be secure so no one can get on the air illegally.

It needs to work whether I am, at the Netbook point, connected to the Internet via a Wifi, Cell-modem, or hardwire lan.

WDYT?

Why not?...as long as you can ping it. re: security, you have a password, for what that's worth:

Edit: oops: I'm not using the GUI, but should work anyway...
Code:

"rdesktop -u "NAME" -p PASS    -f 192.168.1.XXX"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 19:13    Post_subject:  

Maybe I'm missing something, but you actually need a RDP server to connect to. There is xrdp available for Linux, but I don't think anyone is running it on Puppy (yet), so it might be easier to use VNC instead.
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 19:19    Post_subject:  

I see Gpptp but that and other VPN's all seem to refer to connecting to MS version of windows boxes from Linux rather than Linux-to-Linux.

Is Gpptp what I should be looking at for the VPN method you are describing (it's in Lucid 5.1) or some other version of VPN, please?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 19:24    Post_subject:  

VNC, not VPN
_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 19:34    Post_subject:  

Ah, yes, 4 hours sleep and the eyes and brain easily confuse VPN and VNC!

Is tightVNC w/SSH Tunneling what I need? http://www.tightvnc.com/

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6449
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 20:00    Post_subject:  

Yeah, I think so.
I've never actually used VNC, but there are several different packages on the forum.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 20:02    Post_subject:  

disciple wrote:
Maybe I'm missing something, but you actually need a RDP server to connect to


Sorry...missed the linux2linux part... (I'm using tightVNC also, which works well..).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4379
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 20:36    Post_subject:  

Please tell me about tightVNC as I have seen it.

What sort of resources (hardware and Internet throughput) are required at each end?

Their Web page mentions SSL Tunneling, is that important for security?

Does it matter how one is connected to the Internet at each end?

Do both computers have to be dedicated to this task at both ends or may tightVNC be run as one among multiple apps?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 18 Sep 2010, 21:26    Post_subject:  

edoc wrote:
Please tell me about tightVNC as I have seen it.

What sort of resources (hardware and Internet throughput) are required at each end?

Their Web page mentions SSL Tunneling, is that important for security?

Does it matter how one is connected to the Internet at each end?

Do both computers have to be dedicated to this task at both ends or may tightVNC be run as one among multiple apps?


Doesn't matter how one is connected...You can connect internally, or externally. The server can only have one VNC device active at a time.

I see there's SSVNC for additional security:
http://nixbit.com/cat/desktop-environment/tools/enhanced-tightvnc-viewer/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
can8v

Joined: 15 Jul 2006
Posts: 584
Location: Yuba City, CA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Dec 2010, 19:17    Post_subject:  

Looks like I will soon have reason to use Puppy again, if I can get Rdesktop working. I am looking at Lucid and NOP 431. Does anyone have Rdesktop working with either of these and if so, what did you install it from. Hard to believe that this doesn't come with Puppy by now. I guess I my computing needs have moved well out of the Puppy demographic, but if I have not had much love for computing since I had to start using other operating systems. I would love to get Rdesktop and tight VNC going, so I can get back to my favorite OS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
MACE1

Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue 13 Sep 2011, 13:02    Post_subject: Whatever Happened to this RDP Client ?
Sub_title: Using Puppy wary 5.1.1 with a folder of console profiles !
 

I followed the RDESKTOP debate through the threads but when installing rdesktop on wary 5.1.1 I get from the repository only vanilla rdesktop.
Works OK as I have created a folder full of console scripts for each desktop but would be far better with a GUI.
Is this old version useable and available with Puppy 5 Question
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0841s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0107s) ][ GZIP on ]