Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 Aug 2014, 09:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
No power on monitor after running puppy
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
perthen

Joined: 27 Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Central UK

PostPosted: Mon 27 Sep 2010, 15:04    Post_subject:  No power on monitor after running puppy  

Just started with puppy and think its great so easy to set up only problem is the monitor ,its an acer LCD and after shutting puppy down and booting into windows the monitor will not power up, I have to pull the power plug from the wall socket then reconnect and all seems to be ok again...any suggestions please..Graphics card ATI Radeon 7500 series
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Tue 28 Sep 2010, 04:05    Post_subject:  

You might want to try another monitor to see how it works with your setup.

Same applies to the graphics card...whatever it takes to isolate the source of the problem.

However, a simpler solution would be a good-quality surge protector with an on/off toggle switch (which should always be used with computers that are plugged into wall sockets).

Instead of plugging and unplugging, just flick the switch.

Edit: please see my edit below.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 28 Sep 2010, 06:35    Post_subject:  

Quote:
surge protector with an on/off toggle switch

Why do you need a surge protector? Don't the powerpoints have switches in your part of the world?

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Tue 28 Sep 2010, 06:48    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Why do you need a surge protector?

Why don't you google computer surge protector and see for yourself?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
perthen

Joined: 27 Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Central UK

PostPosted: Tue 28 Sep 2010, 11:30    Post_subject:  

Thanks for quick reply but tried both suggestions different monitor beit the same make and model and new graphics card no improvement.. as for the surge protector I always use one and its built into a powerdown plug which cuts power to the pc and peripherals when pc shuts down... I use this as the wall socket is very difficult to reach..didn`t mention I have not installed puppy to HDD because I wanted to make sure all working ok before making any permanent changes could this be a problem
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9058
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 28 Sep 2010, 14:03    Post_subject:  

Quote:
different monitor albeit the same make and model

You need to try a different type of monitor.

Does this unit not have its own on-off switch, or does it not solve the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
perthen

Joined: 27 Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Central UK

PostPosted: Tue 28 Sep 2010, 14:16    Post_subject:  

I use powerdown plug because wall power outlet is difficult to access (behind pc desk) but when pc is powered off there is still a light on usb hub so not a complete disconnect from power source, not able to try different monitor, will have to find way to totally isolate pc after use ...thanks for your help
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 00:38    Post_subject:  

Dewbie wrote:
Quote:
Why do you need a surge protector?

Why don't you google computer surge protector and see for yourself?

I meant why would you need it to solve this problem, not why you should use it in general Rolling Eyes

rcrsn51 wrote:
Does this unit not have its own on-off switch, or does it not solve the problem?

perthen wrote:
I use powerdown plug because wall power outlet is difficult to access

I think rcrsn51 was asking about the monitor, not the power outlet.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 00:46    Post_subject:  

Quote:
a powerdown plug which cuts power to the pc and peripherals when pc shuts down

Quote:
but when pc is powered off there is still a light on usb hub so not a complete disconnect from power source

I can't imagine what an incomplete disconnection from the power would be...

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Wed 29 Sep 2010, 02:01    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I meant why would you need it (surge protector) to solve this problem

Because it has a toggle switch to isolate the computer, etc. from the outlet when the switch is turned off.

The idea is to avoid all the plugging and unplugging needed to accommodate the monitor (using the switch instead), if the problem can't be solved in any other way.

Edit:
Oops, never mind, this is not a good idea.

Using a continuity tester, I found that the switch only breaks the hot-side connection of a surge-protector outlet, but not the neutral or ground sides (Canada / USA wiring).

In other words, if the surge-protector switch is turned off, the neutral and ground sides of its outlets still follow a pathway to the electrical service panel. This will render the computer unprotected.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6428
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 30 Sep 2010, 04:22    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Because it has a toggle switch to isolate the computer, etc. from the outlet when the switch is turned off.

Just like the switch on the wall... I'm still interested to know if your country does use wall sockets that aren't switched.

_________________
DEATH TO SPREADSHEETS
- - -
Classic Puppy quotes
- - -
Beware the demented serfers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
postfs1


Joined: 27 Mar 2010
Posts: 831

PostPosted: Thu 30 Sep 2010, 10:35    Post_subject:  

Maybe an UPS for the monitor and the power supply will help.
_________________
  • I don't know why laboratories are named a hospitals.
  • The alive personage is like a tea bag with granules of unknown density inside, at that one the packet was made of organic material and was placed in the evaporated liquid or liquid.

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Sat 02 Oct 2010, 22:28    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I'm still interested to know if your country does use wall sockets that aren't switched.

Here in the States, the majority of 110v wall sockets aren't switched.

Switched wall sockets are sometimes used for plugged-in lights that are turned on when you first enter a room.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0826s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0094s) ][ GZIP on ]