Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 21:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
No Sound on Dell D630 with ver lupu-511
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 23:01    Post subject:  No Sound on Dell D630 with ver lupu-511  

Sound has worked on previous versions of Puppy (4.xx) but no luck with 5.11

The speaker is displayed in the tray and the Volume is up, I ran ALSA Config and it finds hda-intel Audio Controller but no sound.

Searched the forum but have had no luck yet...Thanks!

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 09:14    Post subject: The no sound thing is killing me :(  

No help Guys? I love the new puppy distro but the no sound thing is killing me Sad
_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 09:48    Post subject:  

You have to ask the question in the right thread so that the right people will see it
_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
abushcrafter


Joined: 30 Oct 2009
Posts: 1447
Location: England

PostPosted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 11:42    Post subject:  

Did you try the "pcm" slider in Alsa mixer?
_________________
adobe flash is rubbish!
My Quote:"Humans are stupid, though some are clever but stupid." http://www.dependent.de/media/audio/mp3/System_Syn_Heres_to_You.zip http://www.systemsyn.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 01:40    Post subject:  

aarf wrote:
You have to ask the question in the right thread so that the right people will see it


Sorry aaft, I posted this in the Users ( For the regulars ) Category because the sub title said for Using applications, configuring, problems.

Where is a better place for me to post this?

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 01:42    Post subject:  

abushcrafter wrote:
Did you try the "pcm" slider in Alsa mixer?


Thanks abushcrafter, the pcm slider is @ 100%. The other sliders are above 75%...Still No Sound Crying or Very sad

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 442

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 02:02    Post subject:  

BG wrote:
Quote:
I ran ALSA Config and it finds hda-intel Audio Controller


Did you run 'alsamixer' from the console or did you 'Setup ALSA sound' from the GUI?

I've run into this problem with several different computers... Do a fresh boot with the 'puppy pfix=ram' parameter and -- without touching 'Setup ALSA sound' -- move the sliders up in retrovol and type 'alsamixer' into the console. Exit alsamixer by pressing the Esc key after adjusting the settings. You might also check volume levels in the media players, too.

Often times, running 'Setup ALSA sound' killed any chance of sound. At other times, some things were muted (MM) in alsamixer that needed to be unmuted, and there was one situation where I had to mute one of the playback options (can't remember which one) in alsamixer due to a conflict elsewhere. (Think that was on a Gateway laptop.)

Now that I think about it, I don't recall 'Setup ALSA sound' as ever fixing anything in my past years of Puppy usage.

-Roy, who should attach a MS-style disclaimer to this post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 02:31    Post subject:  

No issue with an old D600 (Intel 82801DB-ICH4)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3404
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 23:55    Post subject:  

Bill_Gates.

Have you avoided me for 2 years???

Anyway mate I had the same problem plus wireless connection.
Acer emachines netbook eM350-21G16i

If it's a notebook or netbook try Fluppy 006.

Best I can do.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=457247#457247

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Sun 10 Oct 2010, 16:16    Post subject:  

Hi Rob,

Initially I ran ALSA WIZARD from the gui but I ran ALSA MIXER from console.

I did as you suggested , ran ALSAMIXER after a clean boot pfix=ram. Still no sound. I also tried to run ALSA WIZARD this way too, No good!

As for media player volumes - they’re up too. Thanks!

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Tue 12 Oct 2010, 23:14    Post subject:  

Solved - http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=458072#458072
_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0600s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]