Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 02:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff)
No Keyboard with XFCE and DPup/Puppy Squeeze 009
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Oct 2010, 16:44    Post subject:  No Keyboard with XFCE and DPup/Puppy Squeeze 009  

Running on an HP laptop Pavilion N5470, frugal install of Puppy Squeeze/DPup 009.

I installed XFCE4 from package manager, dependencies and all.

Now I can boot into xfce4 or jwm, but I have no keyboard in either.

If I am out of X, I can use my keyboard just fine. As soon as I boot into X, no keyboard; I try typing in Abiword, terminal, nothing types at all.

Ideas on how to fix it? I have a feeling it is just a file that needs to be configured, but I have no idea which one it might be. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Oct 2010, 18:42    Post subject:  

Ouch, 38 views and no answer yet...fingers crossed...any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Fri 08 Oct 2010, 19:22    Post subject:  

Ok, I know I normally post a problem then solve it at least in part on my own then end up posting a huge long thread about what I did...but this one is a mystery to me. I really would like to add xfce to this Puppy version and use it on this lappy, as it is the only version (kdpup works on it, as it is a derivative of dpup) that I can get to work on it...really, anyone have any idea how to get xfce going on dpup? Is there a dpup with xfce on it already? Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 09:54    Post subject:  

Ok, gonna try installng from dejan's stuff on this thread and seeing if installing it that way will get it rather than from the package manager works...don't know why that would effect the keyboard, but...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2589
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 10:32    Post subject:  

Steve I already gave you link in another thread for xfce package compiled on dpup 008 with all dependencies, sorry I haven't seen this thread yet.

Anyway, here's the package that should run just fine on 009:
xfce_full-4.6.2-i486-squeeze.pet

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 11:40    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
Steve I already gave you link in another thread for xfce package compiled on dpup 008 with all dependencies, sorry I haven't seen this thread yet.

Anyway, here's the package that should run just fine on 009:
xfce_full-4.6.2-i486-squeeze.pet


Sorry, dejan, I thought that one was just for the menu...ok...I just got your other one to work, and it works with the keyboard, but I think I'm going to reinstall using this one...thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 12:14    Post subject:  

Well, we're closer.

The keyboard works great, no issues there...I'm posting with it now.

It looks great when I get xfce4 going...it won't do that at start up even though I've got the /etc/windowmanager set as startxfce4...that's annoying...

And when I want to restart it/shutdown, when I click on the logout menu option and then click restart I get this error then it goes out of X to command line where I have to type in reboot/poweroff:
Code:

/usr/lib/hal/scripts/hal-system-power-reboot:line5:[::integer expression expected


Ever seen that one, dejan?

But either way, your xfce full package is amazing and you should be quite proud of it...that menu looks awesome...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2589
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 12:42    Post subject:  

yeah well I took icon theme and xdg menus and stuff from mick's lupu package, and yes i know about the shutdown error should be replaced with puppy's shutdown options in menu instead xfce's. Don't know why it doesn't start on boot though will check that.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
steve_s


Joined: 26 May 2008
Posts: 1545
Location: Austin, TX, USA

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 12:54    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
yeah well I took icon theme and xdg menus and stuff from mick's lupu package, and yes i know about the shutdown error should be replaced with puppy's shutdown options in menu instead xfce's. Don't know why it doesn't start on boot though will check that.


What file do I edit to change the xfce shutdown options to Puppy's shutdown options?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2589
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 09 Oct 2010, 13:02    Post subject:  

Um, I guess the xdg menus file, I'm not really sure will try to setup this later.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0490s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]