Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 16:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
No Sound on Dell D630 with ver lupu-511
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Author Message
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Sun 10 Oct 2010, 23:16    Post subject:  No Sound on Dell D630 with ver lupu-511  

I previously posted this elsewhere but this is probably the best place for this.

I cannot get the sound to work on my D630 with pup v511. The sound has worked fine on previous versions of Puppy (4.xx and such) but no luck with 5.11. The speaker is displayed in the tray and the volume is up, I ran ALSA Config and it finds hda-intel Audio Controller but no sound.

It was suggested I check the pcm slider in ALSA MIXER– It is @ 100%. The other sliders are above 75%... Still No Sound

It was also suggested I run ALSA MIXER after a clean boot (pfix=ram) from the console... Still no sound.

I also tried to run ALSA WIZARD from the console after a clean boot. No good either! Crying or Very sad

-Thanks

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3387
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 12 Oct 2010, 18:06    Post subject:  

Bill_Gates :

I was setting up 2 new Auss EeePC 8.9 inch XP laptops yesterday,
taking all the crap out....no I didn't format them ha! ha!

and so I tried a few Puppies on USB as well.

Puppy 4.3.1 booted >> sound no wireless.

Lucid 5.11 >> no sound and no wireless.

Fluppy 006 >> no sound no wireless.

What I forgot was on the last 2 I selected Xorg.

When I rebooted Fluppy yesterday to make my usual
XP backup, I selected >> Xvesa and >> Woof Woof
the sound was on.

I didn't think to try it in Lucid but maybe go Xvesa anyway.

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Tue 12 Oct 2010, 21:55    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:


What I forgot was on the last 2 I selected Xorg.

When I rebooted Fluppy yesterday to make my usual
XP backup, I selected >> Xvesa and >> Woof Woof
the sound was on.

I didn't think to try it in Lucid but maybe go Xvesa anyway.

Chris.


Hey Chris, I tried to change the driver to vesa. Unfortunately xwin would not start.

I guess no sound is better then no display!

Oh how I miss by beloved Win3.1! Setting up a sound card in that mess separated the men from the boys for sure!!
Laughing

Thanks!

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Tue 12 Oct 2010, 22:22    Post subject: Update  

Just realized that the headphone output works but still no sound from the speakers.
_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bill_Gates


Joined: 31 Jan 2007
Posts: 154
Location: Medina, Washington

PostPosted: Tue 12 Oct 2010, 23:11    Post subject:  

Solved - This is for anyone having the same problem as I was.

Once I discovered the headphones were working I figured it wasn’t a driver issue. Relying on my 'Windows skills' I right clicked on the speaker in the tray and selected “Config Window”. Once in the Retrovol-Configuration I clicked the Hardware tab. I saw that there were no active sliders. I placed Master Playback Vol and Speaker playback vol into the active slider column and hit Apply.

Then I right clicked again (I just adore “right click” - I invented it!! Cool ) and selected “Full Window”. There I saw that the speaker slider wasn’t checked. Checked it and now I have sound!

Also note; just to see what would happen I ran ALSAWIZARD from the gui (gui - another of my favorites!) and the sound was gone. Going back to Retrovol "Full Window" the speaker was unchecked again!

Sound - SWEET! Smile

_________________
-Bill

"Who needs M$ - Puppy Rules!" Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [5 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0486s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0032s) ][ GZIP on ]