Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 01:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Use Samba-TNG Server in Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 10 [148 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 13 Oct 2010, 13:42    Post subject:  

[Update] There is a new Samba client package attached to Part A above that contains an updated samba-login tool. This version lets you more easily change the default login settings and keep them from one session to the next.

Note that the files are no longer in /root/my-applications/bin.

The samba-adduser script in samba-tng-rcrsn-admin-1.0 has moved to a new location.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Oct 2010, 18:18    Post subject:  

Here are snapshots of the two samba-tng-rcrsn client tools:

samba-login


samba-shares
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moB

Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 116
Location: Coastal

PostPosted: Sat 23 Oct 2010, 20:48    Post subject:  Great job!  

rcrsn51 wrote:
Here are snapshots of the two samba-tng-rcrsn client tools:

samba-login


samba-shares


rcrsn51

can you advise on making Samba-TNG work for FatDog64?

I was looking at compiling the full version from source (samba-3.5.6), but the setup and config is daunting.

Looking at the posts here makes me think that this is just the ticket for home networks!

As you've done all this amazing work I'd love to use it.

moB

"Think not, is my eleventh commandment;
and sleep when you can, is my twelfth. "
{Stubb, to himself}
- Herman Melville, The Whale (Moby-Dick)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 24 Oct 2010, 00:38    Post subject:  

I built it using the absolute defaults:
Code:
./configure
make
new2dir make install

This puts everything into /usr/local/samba.

You could then take the samba-start and samba-stop scripts out of the 32 bit version and use them to run the server.

BTW, I downloaded fatdog and the devx file. But I couldn't get the devx to load at bootup. What am I missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moB

Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 116
Location: Coastal

PostPosted: Sun 24 Oct 2010, 02:53    Post subject: devx for FD  

rcrsn51 wrote:

BTW, I downloaded fatdog and the devx file. But I couldn't get the devx to load at bootup. What am I missing?


I had a similar event. Perhaps you put the devx in the fd64 psubdir as we did here?

When a symlink to the file was placed on the root (ie "C") drive the bootmanager was able to load devx. (I like to keep the puppy stuff out of ms-Win's stuff in one easy to find place.)

Hope this helps.

Thanks for the tips on using your samba tools. I will look into it and try to get my tiny brain around it Laughing

moB

"Elves and Dragons!" I says to him.
"Cabbages and potatoes are better for
you and me."

-- J. R. R. Tolkien
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 24 Oct 2010, 07:47    Post subject:  

I have the devx file in the right place and the boot manager detects it. It just won't load at bootup.

In any case, if you can get samba-tng compiled, we should be able to pull the necessary files out of the 32 bit version to get it working as described in the how-to.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 24 Oct 2010, 18:22    Post subject:  

Rcrsn,

To use the devx file in Fatdog, the devx file has to be in the root of the partition (/mnt/home) and then you have to select the file with the Boot manager, it will not automatically be loaded. I tried to get Samba-tng working as a simple file server a few months ago, but didn't have much luck. I could get Samba 3.x going without too much problems, but it's huge. I have to admit that I don't know squat about Samba, so I may had something screwed up in the conf file. That code looks pretty old too, so I wasn't sure. if one of you guys have success with Samba-tng as a server in Fatdog64, I'd like to know. I'm working on Fatdog64-510 right now and it's about ready.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
emil

Joined: 10 Nov 2009
Posts: 618
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon 13 Dec 2010, 13:17    Post subject: Does it work with Vista and Win 7?  

Hello rcrsn51,
many thanks for your always excellent tutorials and solutions. Regarding samba I do have the following question. Does it work with Win 7 and Vista?

because at the Samba-TNG homepage there it states (regarding release canditat 0.5):

Quote:
Known issues:

*
Joining Vista works only by using the Wizard. The dialog way does not work. We worked with helpful people from the MS interop team to analyze the problem. We know the solution, but it requires heavy changes and we decided to adress them after 0.5.
*
Joining Windows 7 does not work at all. The solution for the previously mentioned issue will partly fix this.


kind regards
emil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 13 Dec 2010, 13:31    Post subject:  

Samba-TNG has been tested successfully with Vista and Seven. You may have to edit the smb.conf file in /usr/local/samba/etc and change the workgroup value to match your Windows client machines. The usual name is "workgroup". Otherwise, Windows may not detect the share.

As always, you must restart the Samba server after making this configuration change.

I have also read the comment in the Samba-TNG release notes. I don't know what it means either.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Mon 13 Dec 2010, 13:46; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 13 Dec 2010, 13:39    Post subject:  

@kirk:

I have now tried fd64-510 with the fd64-32bit-libs-3.sfs compatibility package. Under this combination, the original samba-tng-rcrsn 32-bit version works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 18:08    Post subject:  

@ rcrsn51:
I have followed your instructions in post #1 to set up file sharing for my Lupu 5.2 frugal installation.
From puppy box I can use pnethood and connect to the other boxes in my home networking set up (windows as well as linux boxes). However, from these boxes, although I can see and ping the puppy server, when I click on the server's name (Esi puppy Samba-TNG Server) I get the following message:

The process for the smb://esi protocol died unexpectedly

ESI is the netbios name of the puppy server. I have already edited the smb.conf file and replaced the pupserver with ESI and workgroup name with MShome (my network name) but have no success in connecting from any other box to the Lupu server.
Any advise is much appreciated.
TIA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 18:36    Post subject:  

marco07 wrote:
The process for the smb://esi protocol died unexpectedly

Where are you getting this message - from Windows or from another Linux?
Quote:
when I click on the server's name (Esi puppy Samba-TNG Server) I get the following message:

Please be more specific.

Can another Puppy client see the server using Pnethood?

The reference to smb:// suggests that you are trying to connect using the smbfs protocol. You should be using cifs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 19:06    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:

Where are you getting this message - from Windows or from another Linux?

Iget this message from a linux (Mepis) box.

Quote:

Can another Puppy client see the server using Pnethood?

I do not have any other Puppy to use it as a client. Only Lupu which I am trying to access it as a server.

Quote:
The reference to smb:// suggests that you are trying to connect using the smbfs protocol. You should be using cifs.

How could I use the cifs. smb:// is in dolphine file manager of the Mepis linux.
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9195
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 19:36    Post subject:  

What do you get from a Windows box?

You can boot another computer using your Puppy Live CD and run Pnethood.

I am not familiar with Mepis so I don't know how it is mounting the share. It may be assuming that you have already made an fstab entry for the Puppy server.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
marco07

Joined: 18 Jan 2011
Posts: 176
Location: Lincoln , NE, USA

PostPosted: Sun 06 Feb 2011, 21:16    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
What do you get from a Windows box?

You can boot another computer using your Puppy Live CD and run Pnethood.

I am not familiar with Mepis so I don't know how it is mounting the share. It may be assuming that you have already made an fstab entry for the Puppy server.


Box with Windows 98 - Connects perfect and has access to all shares
Box with Windows XP = Ditto
Box (partition) with Ubuntu 10.4 with Gnome - Ditto
Laptop with Lupu 5.2 Live CD - Ditto
Box (partition) with PCLXOS with KDE 4.5 - Does not connects. Give Time out with the server Esi
Box with Mepis 8.5 with KDE 4.4 - Same as my original post.
It seems problem lies with the linux boxes with KDE WM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 10 [148 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0933s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0144s) ][ GZIP on ]