Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 07:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-500 final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Author Message
moB

Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 116
Location: Coastal

PostPosted: Wed 27 Oct 2010, 00:59    Post subject:
Subject description: libpam_misc.so.0
 

kirk wrote:
Quote:
I finally got samba-tng compiled in Fat Dog myself. The server is running, but there is some kind of firewall effect that keeps it from advertising its shares to clients.


I had the same problem, but Samba 3.x does work. I wonder if Samba-tng has problems with 64 bit.


Adding a guest account gave me this clue:

Code:

# groupadd smbguest
groupadd: error while loading shared libraries: libpam_misc.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


Missing from FD--Pfind finds no file. (except this: file://localhost/usr/share/doc/pam/Linux-PAM-0.99.9.0/doc/adg/html/adg-libpam_misc.html).

This is a library which handles security: how applications authenticate users.

A version is to be found here:
http://packages.ubuntu.com/dapper-updates/amd64/ia32-libs/filelist

Ubuntu has a version in ia32-libs_1.4ubuntu20_amd64.deb.

Perhaps if it were extracted and installed? (Don't wish to install whole deb, if I don't have to.)

Code:
ar p ia32-libs_1.4ubuntu20_amd64.deb data.tar.gz | tar zx


It is part of the PAM library:
http://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/libs/pam/


moB

btw/ after recreating personal save file FD behaves exactly as it did before... no ffmpeg, & Namoroka can't see /root/spot/Downloads link. It tries to save to spot/Desktop & lets me select spot/ as alternative.

Reverted to original DOT3fs file (and a 2fs version 'worked' the same).
Must try to get more memory sticks for this 'antique'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moB

Joined: 19 Oct 2009
Posts: 116
Location: Coastal

PostPosted: Wed 27 Oct 2010, 04:01    Post subject: Re: 32 bit wrapper for flashplayer  

duke93535 wrote:

I tried playing with the 32 bit wrapper in Fatdog, but it's over my head. Please, consider making a 32 bit wrapper optional for Fatdog, so that it isn't Deaddog,


Have you tried the fd64-32bit-libs-3.sfs with Puppy's 32 bit flash pet?

Looks like this might be what you are asking about.

Best luck to you in your quest!
moB

ps. Look at the reply by anAF here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=456675

There is now a newer one:
http://labs.adobe.com/downloads/flashplayer10.html
Check for updates: http://labs.adobe.com/downloads


"This is my substitute for pistol and ball."
--Melville, Moby Dick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duke93535


Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 194
Location: California , High Desert

PostPosted: Wed 27 Oct 2010, 10:57    Post subject: flashplayer  

moB, kirk:

Yes, I had the 32 libs added, but the alpha flash player 64 from Adobe has started working again. Who can tell what is going on?

duke
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 27 Oct 2010, 22:53    Post subject:  

Jim1911,

Yes, I've been meaning to do that. Hopefully Fatdog64-510 will be out soon, well at least a rc. It has Xorg 7.6. I've read on Barry's blog there have been some problems depending on the video driver or maybe the kernel used. When 510rc comes out can you test with that and let me know how it goes?

duke93535,

I'm hoping Adobe comes out with new 64bit pluggin before 510 goes final. I was pleasantly surprised when this one came out.

moB,

Yes, groupadd is part of Pam that I left in the devx file, should have been removed. We're not using pam. I've removed it now and ran ldd on both sfs files to make sure I didn't have anything else dead in there. To add groups you'll want to use addgroup.

I've compiled Samba 3.0.37 (which was released about 1 year ago). That seems to work fine in Fatdog64. After installing the parts needed to run a file server and a client it only adds 2MB to Fatdog. So I grabbed Patriot's LameSMBxplorer and added that and made a little GUI to start and stop the server. The server is setup to share the Downloads folder without a password. XP and Vista can browse right to it. I didn't include smbspool, I think that's needed for printers over SMB, I'll have to do some checking.

Also, I compiled the netdiscover 0.3b7. It's a nice network utility for sniffing out the IP addresses in use on a network. Kind of big though ~750k. I thought it was smaller than that the last time I compiled it for 32bit. I guess everything get bigger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Wed 27 Oct 2010, 23:55    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Jim1911,
Yes, I've been meaning to do that. Hopefully Fatdog64-510 will be out soon, well at least a rc. It has Xorg 7.6. I've read on Barry's blog there have been some problems depending on the video driver or maybe the kernel used. When 510rc comes out can you test with that and let me know how it goes?
.
Yes, be happy to, I'm looking forward to your new 510.

Cheers,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 15:52    Post subject:  

Hi. I'm sorry to say I have a problem with Fatdog 500.

I downloaded it yesterday and booted it up on a (64-bit) computer, and it worked fine except that about 20 minutes later I got a complaint from the centre's tech guy. The centre runs on Windows XP, and apparently my computer was using 2 IP addresses and slowing down the network.

Does anyone else know why this might be happening?

Thanks in advance,

CP.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy EmSee v2.1, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Legacy OS2 LTS and Puppy Midnight Sun 003.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4121
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 15:57    Post subject: LAN card questions  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Hi. I'm sorry to say I have a problem with Fatdog 500.

I downloaded it yesterday and booted it up on a (64-bit) computer, and it worked fine except that about 20 minutes later I got a complaint from the centre's tech guy. The centre runs on Windows XP, and apparently my computer was using 2 IP addresses and slowing down the network.

Does anyone else know why this might be happening?

Thanks in advance,

CP.
Please reboot the LIveCD and after getting to desktop, open a terminal window and type "ip address show". Post the results here.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 16:30    Post subject:
Subject description: ATI Radeon drivers?
 

Are there any improvements to the ATI Radeon drivers in the new version?

We have an ACER Aspire that chronically overheats under moderate video stress.

We only run Puppy Fatdog64-500 on it, though we have briefly tested dpup and zpup -- with the same result, or worse.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Thu 04 Nov 2010, 18:40    Post subject: Re: LAN card questions  

gcmartin wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
Hi. I'm sorry to say I have a problem with Fatdog 500.

I downloaded it yesterday and booted it up on a (64-bit) computer, and it worked fine except that about 20 minutes later I got a complaint from the centre's tech guy. The centre runs on Windows XP, and apparently my computer was using 2 IP addresses and slowing down the network.

Does anyone else know why this might be happening?

Thanks in advance,

CP.
Please reboot the LIveCD and after getting to desktop, open a terminal window and type "ip address show". Post the results here.


Thanks for replying. I'll certainly do that although it probably won't be until next week - that's when I'm next likely to be in town.

Best,

CP .

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy EmSee v2.1, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Legacy OS2 LTS and Puppy Midnight Sun 003.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 15:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
I downloaded it yesterday and booted it up on a (64-bit) computer, and it worked fine except that about 20 minutes later I got a complaint from the centre's tech guy. The centre runs on Windows XP, and apparently my computer was using 2 IP addresses and slowing down the network.


Do you have two NIC cards? I suspect you tech guy is confused. Even if you had two IP addresses that shouldn't make much difference. To check your IP address open a terminal and type ifconfig.

Quote:
Are there any improvements to the ATI Radeon drivers in the new version?


Well, I packaged the latest version Catalyst 10.10. Or if you mean the open source driver the whole Xorg tree has been upgraded to the latest.

I'll post an RC this weekend. Please note that the kernel has changed and I'm going to use the same repository for pet packages that 500 uses. The only problem with that is the ATI and Nvidia proprietary drivers. I'll move those two to a sub-folder labeled old. Also, Jamesbond has been on a mission and hasn't had free time lately, so there's no Nvidia pet for 510 yet. :>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3398
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 19:55    Post subject:  

ATI...Barry post..does this help?

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01932

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01931

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1502

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 16:07    Post subject:  

[quote="kirk"]
Quote:
I downloaded it yesterday and booted it up on a (64-bit) computer, and it worked fine except that about 20 minutes later I got a complaint from the centre's tech guy. The centre runs on Windows XP, and apparently my computer was using 2 IP addresses and slowing down the network.

Do you have two NIC cards? I suspect you tech guy is confused. Even if you had two IP addresses that shouldn't make much difference. To check your IP address open a terminal and type ifconfig.


Thanks for replying. He's normally very good, so I doubt he's confused but there's no harm in my trying that ifconfig anyway (as well as the ip address command mentioned earlier).

He told me he thought it was something to do with it being a Linux machine running on a networked system meant for Windows XP, but I don't know why that would be a problem.

Best,

CP .

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy EmSee v2.1, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Legacy OS2 LTS and Puppy Midnight Sun 003.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4341
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 16:37    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
ATI...Barry post..does this help?

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01932

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01931

Chris.


Always some new progress in Puppy-world!

If I understand correctly the RC may contain access to the new ATI drivers - we can test them then.

Thanks!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 07 Nov 2010, 09:55    Post subject:  

edoc,

There is a ATI Catalyst pet package for Fatdog64-500 too. This one is version 10.5. The release notes are here:

https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/catalyst_105_linux.pdf

You need to look at the release notes before installing the pet package and make sure your card is supported. I've uploaded Fatdog64-510, so the ATI pet package for 500 has been moved to the "old" folder.

The ATI Catalyst pet package for Fatdog64-510 is version 10.10. Here's the release notes for that:

https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/674/9206/0/www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/catalyst_1010_linux.pdf

Again make sure you check that your card is supported, the release notes will list what cards are supported. The 10.10 version is now in the pet repository.

The pet packages are kernel specific:

ati-catalyst-10.5.pet is for Fatdog64-500 only.

ati-catalyst-10.10.pet is for Fatdog64-510 only.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barburo


Joined: 14 Jun 2007
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Mon 08 Nov 2010, 17:16    Post subject: Update Page 1?  

Hi - I am picking up with Fatdog again after six months or so. Decided to test out 510 so I needed to start with a new save file. I read through this forum thread and at 18+ pages it's easy to miss stuff.
I really like Fatdog500 for its speed on 64 bit processors.

Can you update the initial page entry with information that a new user, or someone re-setting-up should know, so that all the information needed is in one place? I'm thinking about these items:
- Apply the .pet to prevent white on yellow for PPM.
- Warning about using Alsa sound wizard (It disabled my save file)
- How to set up Firefox for use as non-spot
- Any other stuff that a first time user should be aware of.
Thanks,
B.

_________________
Laptop: Acer Aspire 5810TZ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 20 [290 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18, 19, 20 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1083s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0112s) ][ GZIP on ]