Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
KDE 3 (Trinity) For Puppy Beta
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 13:24    Post_subject:  

As Lobster says. Works fast.
My impression, app's work faster then in 235 openbox or jwm.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Iguleder


Joined: 11 Aug 2009
Posts: 1923
Location: Israel, somewhere in the beautiful desert

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 14:24    Post_subject:  

Got some goodies already, get them here (the kdebase-3.5.12.sfs is the base Trinity with pretty much nothing, truly minimal, applications are available as SFSs and have all their dependencies).

So far there's kpdf, Ark, Kopete and Noatun. Still running the magical scripts on the Amarok directory, so Amarok will join soon. On a second rxvt I'm working on Konversation, Ktorrent will follow.

Gotta love Trinity Smile

_________________
My homepage
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
ICQ 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 15:17    Post_subject:  

I still have another point to clarify.
I am so used to have the drive icons on the desktop and mount them by clicking on them.
Didn't find an easy way in KDE to do this.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2691
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 15:49    Post_subject:  

Um, use pmount?
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 15:57    Post_subject:  

Sure pmount is a possibility, but I was thinking at something more in the KDE line like media:/ and have the partitions in there ready to be mounted/unmounted with a single click.
Maybe it's utopia. Rolling Eyes

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2691
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 16:25    Post_subject:  

It needs /etc/fstab to show drives in media:/ but in kde3 even with fstab written I couldn't mount them on click, maybe it works in trinity, or I didn't set it up correctly.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 16:35    Post_subject:  

Thanks for the info, very educational.
I added device sdb1 and it is in media:/ now.
But when I try to mount it I get the message that the feature only available is with HAL.
So I suppose HAL isn't implemented, or does it have to be started separately?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2691
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 16:54    Post_subject:  

Yeah I think it needs hal daemon to be running with some correct config or script.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 17:18    Post_subject:  

I found a file in /etc hal-kde3.conf which contents is:
Code:
# hal - hardware abstraction layer
#
# The HAL daemon collects and maintains information about your hardware
# and provides an abstraction layer for applications to access that
# information and utilise the hardware.

description   "hardware abstraction layer"

start on (filesystem
     and started dbus
     and started udev)
stop on (stopping dbus
    or stopping udev)

expect fork
respawn

exec hald --daemon=yes
but I didn't find a hald script/binary on the system.

Probably hal isn't implemented then I suppose.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2691
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 17:26    Post_subject:  

If you're sure hald isn't present on system maybe you can try installing
http://packages.debian.org/search?keywords=hal

_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 17:58    Post_subject:  

Thank you for the link.
I downloaded the deb and installed.
But for HAL to work correctly I understand dbus has to run also.

And there I have difficulties.
Code:
# dbus-daemon --system
Unknown group "powerdev" in message bus configuration file
Unknown group "plugdev" in message bus configuration file
#   


Unfortunately I know too little about those kind of things.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darkduck

Joined: 18 Sep 2010
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Fri 05 Nov 2010, 20:19    Post_subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
Try /root/.kde/Autostart directory for kde's startup scripts
If there's no such dir then create it.

EDIT: You can try making symlink to /root/Startup

It did not work for me. Sad
What have I done wrong?
Autostart.png
 Description   Folder Autostart
 Filesize   17.92 KB
 Viewed   1483 Time(s)

Autostart.png


_________________
My blog: http://linuxblog.darkduck.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2691
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 04:17    Post_subject:  

Um, you don't make symlink INSIDE Autostart dir, you should link Startup to /root/.kde and change symlink name to "Autostart"
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 04:28    Post_subject:  

I had to use /root/.kde3 to have symlinks execute at boot.
_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2691
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 04:30    Post_subject:  

Yeah, that's the one, haven't actually checked the name.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website MSNM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0736s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]