Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 21:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Rainlendar2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Author Message
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Thu 26 Aug 2010, 17:47    Post subject:  Rainlendar2
Subject description: Desktop Calendar
 

Rainlendar is one of my favorite windows desktop apps. The free version does everything I need. I was very happy to find that there is a linux version available. Get it here.
http://www.rainlendar.net/cms/index.php?option=com_rny_download&Itemid=32

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
bones01

Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Posts: 371
Location: Melbourne, Aus

PostPosted: Thu 16 Sep 2010, 03:08    Post subject:  

Looks interesting. Thanks for letting us know about it.
_________________
Dell Latitude D630 running Puppy 5.2.8 frugal, Macpup 525 frugal (if I can get it working again)
Precise Puppy 5.4 live DVD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rickyricardo

Joined: 04 Mar 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 15:40    Post subject: Re: Rainlendar2
Subject description: Desktop Calendar
 

maxpro4u wrote:
Rainlendar is one of my favorite windows desktop apps. The free version does everything I need. I was very happy to find that there is a linux version available. Get it here.
http://www.rainlendar.net/cms/index.php?option=com_rny_download&Itemid=32


I've run the Win32 version for years on a WinXP desktop I have at home. I recently loaded the linux version on a couple of TurboPup Xtreme v1 laptops that I have. Load into /usr/local/rainlendar went fine and I copied my license file across and Rainy loaded that OK. It works fine but I've noticed that HTOP shows anywhere from 25% - 45% CPU utilization from Rainy while it is just sitting there. Anyone have any ideas?

Rick in Raleigh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 16:46    Post subject:  

I have no idea what is going on-my htop shows 0-1% cpu for rainy. I placed rainy folder in my c: drive and just put a relative link in the startup folder in each puppy i use.
_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
rickyricardo

Joined: 04 Mar 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sat 06 Nov 2010, 17:21    Post subject:  

maxpro4u wrote:
I have no idea what is going on-my htop shows 0-1% cpu for rainy. I placed rainy folder in my c: drive and just put a relative link in the startup folder in each puppy i use.


Thanks for the feedback - I'll uninstall and start from the beginning again. Maybe my .ini file is causing some problems. I'll just make all of the customizations manually and see if that helps.

Rick in Raleigh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rickyricardo

Joined: 04 Mar 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Sun 07 Nov 2010, 00:52    Post subject:  

rickyricardo wrote:
maxpro4u wrote:
I have no idea what is going on-my htop shows 0-1% cpu for rainy. I placed rainy folder in my c: drive and just put a relative link in the startup folder in each puppy i use.


Thanks for the feedback - I'll uninstall and start from the beginning again. Maybe my .ini file is causing some problems. I'll just make all of the customizations manually and see if that helps.

Rick in Raleigh


Figured it out - turns out it was the analog clock I had running from one of the skins I had installed. When I rebuilt everything from scratch Rainy didn't use much resource until I activated the clock. Not sure why it was taking so much CPU other than poor design but I can easily live without the pretty clock. Just thought this might help someone else. Rainlendar is a great product and I'd like to see it used more on Puppy based systems.

Rick in Raleigh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Sun 07 Nov 2010, 10:10    Post subject:  

rickyricardo wrote:
rickyricardo wrote:
maxpro4u wrote:
I have no idea what is going on-my htop shows 0-1% cpu for rainy. I placed rainy folder in my c: drive and just put a relative link in the startup folder in each puppy i use.


Thanks for the feedback - I'll uninstall and start from the beginning again. Maybe my .ini file is causing some problems. I'll just make all of the customizations manually and see if that helps.

Rick in Raleigh


Figured it out - turns out it was the analog clock I had running from one of the skins I had installed. When I rebuilt everything from scratch Rainy didn't use much resource until I activated the clock. Not sure why it was taking so much CPU other than poor design but I can easily live without the pretty clock. Just thought this might help someone else. Rainlendar is a great product and I'd like to see it used more on Puppy based systems.

Rick in Raleigh

glad you got it sorted out! i don't use rainy's clock-i use the one from pwidgets.

_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
rickyricardo

Joined: 04 Mar 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 19:03    Post subject: Can't lock windows  

Hey MaxPro4U - I keep my Rainy calendar, etc locked in the upper right corner of my Windows desktop. I've tried for all I'm worth to lock them in the same place on my TurboPup Xtreme desktop but everytime I drag them over there and then open the options dialog to re-check the 'Lock windows' item, close the options dialog and Rainy refreshes - the windows come back right in the middle of the desktop. I've posted on the Rainlendar forum as well but haven't heard anything. Thought you might have seen this and/or figured it out already.

Rick in Raleigh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Tue 09 Nov 2010, 19:50    Post subject:  

seems that rainy stays on some versions of puppy and others it goes where it wants to. i haven't a clue why. also on classic pup there are 3 xwindows on the taskbar which is very annoying.
_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
rickyricardo

Joined: 04 Mar 2009
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 14:58    Post subject:  

maxpro4u wrote:
seems that rainy stays on some versions of puppy and others it goes where it wants to. i haven't a clue why. also on classic pup there are 3 xwindows on the taskbar which is very annoying.


Thanks for the reply. Rainlendar should be 'notified' by the window manager of the change in the Rainlendar window(s) and then record the changes in the .ini file. For some reason, that isn't happening - there aren't any 'window position' entries in the .ini file. I got around it by shutting Rainy down, manually creating the appropriate entries in the .ini file, then restarting Rainy. Now everything appears anchored at the top right of my desktop.

BTW - I have multiple entries for Rainy as well but they don't clutter up the task bar cause I run TurboPup Xtreme v1.0 - it's minimalist desktop doesn't have a task bar but mini-icons along the left side of the desktop that only appear when you hover over the area with you mouse pointer. All minimized apps show as extra mini-icons in that same area - so I don't have to look at them while working with any visible app on the desktop. I've attached a screen shot of HTOP showing the multiple entries for Rainy plus one of the entire minimalist desktop that shows the mini icons (they aren't usually visible unless you mouse over them). The skin I use shows the calendar and events in a single window plus I also run the digital clock from a second skin. TurboPup Xtreme v1.0 is really great if most of what you do is web browsing, email and the occasional document. I run it on a couple of older Dell P3 laptops and it is very responsive. Have you tried it?

Rick in Raleigh
full_desktop.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  full_desktop.png 
Filesize  34.12 KB 
Downloaded  526 Time(s) 
htop.png
 Description   
 Filesize   18.71 KB
 Viewed   623 Time(s)

htop.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
maxpro4u


Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 290
Location: Rittman,Ohio,USA, In dog years,I'm dead

PostPosted: Mon 03 Jan 2011, 18:20    Post subject:  

Just a heads-up. The latest version of rainlendar lite does not display correctly on some versions of puppy. The beta pro version(debian) is fine and works ok without entering a licence(I am using it now on fluppy).
_________________
Dell D610 1.7M w/1024mb
Testing Slacko and a few others
I'm Max Wachtel and I approve this message.
Registered Linux User #393236
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [11 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0751s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]