Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 08:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Puppy Linux 5.1 Boots and Monitor goes Out Of Range
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
leffect

Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 21:04    Post_subject:  Puppy Linux 5.1 Boots and Monitor goes Out Of Range
Sub_title: I am trying to boot puppy linux 5.1 and it comes in black screen
 

Hi,i have an old pc,with AMD Duron processor 1300Mgh and NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX400 64MB.So when i start to boot Puppy 5.1 from cd affter some programs are booten and linux wants to go to the desktop,my monitor shows me OUT OF RANGE(I think Monitor Can't find my graphics card).What could it be,i tryed it with puppy 4,1 and it worked so why should it not work with 5.1 .Maybe it is something with Graphics Drivers.Please give me some information what should i do now....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 22:32    Post_subject:  

Quote:
i tryed it with puppy 4,1 and it worked so why should it not work with 5.1

Your computer might not like the kernel that 5.1 is built with.

But first, I would try another monitor with that computer; then try that 5.1 CD with another computer, just to isolate the source of the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5799
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 10 Nov 2010, 23:40    Post_subject:  

I run Lucid 5.11 with that exact card at 1440x900........believe I'm using the default "NV" driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leffect

Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 10:40    Post_subject:  

No kernel is ok,becouse i was able to run browser linux with the same kernel so i need it to run in Non-Graphical mode or get the same boot menu as on the puppy 4.3 where you can do vga test and chose some settings,how to do that?

And how to use default nv driver?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 11:19    Post_subject:  

You could boot with the CD and at start Hit F2
enter command puppy pfix=nox
This will get you to a prompt without starting X server
Type xorgwizard
Try selecting a known resolution and refresh rate for your monitor.
Use test to try setting
When xorgwizard finishes
Type xwin
If you selected a good resolution and refresh rate should be at Puppy desktop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leffect

Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 11 Nov 2010, 19:48    Post_subject:  

Ok i tried it with command puppy pfix=nox but my monitor shows my the same OUT OF RANGE what could i try next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Nov 2010, 01:43    Post_subject:  

leffect wrote:
Ok i tried it with command puppy pfix=nox but my monitor shows my the same OUT OF RANGE what could i try next?

Did it boot to a command prompt when you used puppy pfix=nox?

Quote:
i tryed it with puppy 4,1 and it worked so why should it not work with 5.1 .

The amount of Ram you have is a big problem. Puppy 4.1 needs a lot less.
I use Puppy 5.1.1 and with nothing but a browser running I'am using 91M. You say you have 64M.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leffect

Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 12 Nov 2010, 09:15    Post_subject:  

No i have 512 mb ram and my nvida card has 64 mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 12 Nov 2010, 10:20    Post_subject:  

leffect wrote:
Ok i tried it with command puppy pfix=nox but my monitor shows my the same OUT OF RANGE what could i try next?

Did it boot to a command prompt when you used puppy pfix=nox?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leffect

Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 12 Nov 2010, 12:15    Post_subject:  

No,there comes no command prompt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5170
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 01:30    Post_subject:  

leffect wrote:
No,there comes no command prompt.


Quote:
You could boot with the CD and at start Hit F2
enter command puppy pfix=nox
Hit enter
This will get you to a prompt without starting X server

What does happen when you do this?
Be very specific.

This is as basic as you can get to Boot Puppy Linux and it should work. If not, you could have a bad burn of Puppy on the CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 17:29    Post_subject: same graphics card  

I have that same graphics card and it works well
with puppy Linux and any recent monitor

I suspect that the user has a very, very old CRT
or corruption of the ISO.

But instead of pfix=nox try pfix=nox,ram


This solves many cases when a graphics card is
not totally compatible with Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5799
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 13 Nov 2010, 17:57    Post_subject:  

I've got that card on the computer I'm posting from now and it has no problem with Mepis 8,Ubuntu 10.04, and 8 different Puppy installs.
Sounds like a hardware issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
leffect

Joined: 10 Nov 2010
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 14 Nov 2010, 05:37    Post_subject:    

Problem Solved thank you very much .hehe
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Video
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0765s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]