Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 06:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Quirky 1.4 bug reports and feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 04:39    Post subject:  

Another thing is that some of the newest GEANY Editors seem to be compiled or programmed to "SAVE AS" save the file not with the original permissions .

I also would appreciate it with lesser yellow on white in the /usr/share/geany
/filetypes.* . Wink

string=0x216313;0xffffff;false;false

would give some kind of darkgreen on white .

for more about color names read

/usr/share/X11/rgb.txt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 05:35    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:

BTW that help file has this:
Quote:
When a package is installed, it appears in the window bottom-left.

Perhaps you mean, bottom-right...

It didn't look like you changed anything else. For example I was thinking the main package list might be stretchable like the installed packages list, but it's not. I also don't see the "ALL" category like you showed on your blog. Perhaps it is underneath the "Show" checkboxes? I made the assumption it would work in Lupu 511, hope that's right. I think I got the files over properly; at least the loaded size is a bit larger than the originals.


Thanks, I will fix that "bottom-left".

You don't get "ALL" in Lupu, as the Ubuntu repos are too big. They are so huge, gtkdialog, which is what is used to display the list in the GUI, chokes and basically hangs.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fluxit


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Location: Ketchikan, AK USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 05:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
They are so huge, gtkdialog, which is what is used to display the list in the GUI, chokes and basically hangs.


Not to say that the entire repo is needed, but can't it be buffered?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 06:04    Post subject:  

fluxit wrote:
Quote:
They are so huge, gtkdialog, which is what is used to display the list in the GUI, chokes and basically hangs.


Not to say that the entire repo is needed, but can't it be buffered?


Have been through various exercises trying to fix it, water under the bridge now.

One thing I tried, an earlier version of PPM had a row of radiobuttons along the top, labeled a b c d e f ....z 0 ...9
to split the packages alphabetically.
But it made the GUI too complex-looking, clumsy to use.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1432
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 10:19    Post subject:  

Hi

It appears that the focus problem i described in the Wary 0.9.8 (098) feedback thread,
is also in this Puppy as well.

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fyujj

Joined: 04 Apr 2009
Posts: 103

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 10:38    Post subject:  

As with Quirky 1.3, the br-abnt2 keyboard choice from the first run wizard is broken.
I have no idea how to fix that, what I can say is that choosing "abnt2" as the keyboard model in the advanced mouse and keyboard wizard sets the keyboard correctly. I suppose this latter wizard edits xorg.conf.
Maybe up to Quirky 1.2 the first run wizard worked because it got the keymap from /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/qwerty/br-abnt2.map? Anyway, there's no such directory anymore.

I saw in /etc/X11/xkb/keymap/xfree86 this:
Quote:
// us_intl and br by Ricardo Y. Igarashi (iga@that.com.br)

Well us_intl is a very different layout to br-abnt2, maybe this has something to do, maybe not (actually choosing br-abnt2 in the first run wizard sets the keyboard to us_intl, as far as I can identify).

Apart from this, it's working ok. After 4 or 5 boots I lost sound and couldn't get it back (ALSA configuration wizard would give input/output errors when trying to play a sound and multiple sound card wizard would find no card). Then I deleted the save file and I'm now in the second boot with normal sound. If I lose sound again (hope not) I won't do nothing and reboot with pfix=ram to check the differences.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1469
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 12:13    Post subject: Solution for module & firmware loading flaws  

Barry,
I have experimented with a way to implement the ideal way to limit loading to one time per module/tarball. It uses sed in-place with a backup file. That provides the current state of a list and adds a new entry, all with the same command, letting the kernel be responsible for file integrity among processes. For example:
Code:
SEDSCRIPT="\$a \\MODULE=$MODULE DEVPATH=$DEVPATH MODALIAS=$MODALIAS"
sed -i.${$} -e "$SEDSCRIPT" /tmp/pup_event_module_devpath_log
grep -q "MODULE=$MODULE " /tmp/pup_event_module_devpath_log.${$} \
 && rm -f /tmp/pup_event_module_devpath_log.${$} \
 && exit 0
rm -f /tmp/pup_event_module_devpath_log.${$}


I believe the cleanest way to implement the technique is to resume support for the "protect --module=" and "protect --firmware=" services (and "protect --fwcomplete" to implement my previous suggestion for rc.services), to minimize code duplication. Those can be done without using a daemon.

For the logic to work, the devpath.log and firmware.inst files must contain at least one newline character, so that sed sees a "last line" to append to. Rc.sysinit seems the appropriate place to do that.
Code:
echo > /tmp/pup_event_module_devpath_log
For firmware...inst, the file should be seeded if nonexistant (or not included in the delivery), otherwise, sorted to eliminate duplicate entries, so that it does not grow unnecessarily. That can be done by:
sort -u -o /etc/modules/firmware.inst /etc/modules/firmware.inst
effectively sorting the file "in place" (although there is no danger from interference at this point).
Richard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3860
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 13:41    Post subject:  

Code:
echo > /tmp/pup_event_module_devpath_log

I think would empty/delete the file I think
shouldn't it be
Code:
echo >> FILE

While hacking jwmconfig I recocgnized such
echo [one] caret FILE that deleted .jwmrc-tray I think.
since four weeks I am fixing jwmconfig and find every day one more minor bug.
Serious bugs are that [test] and sed commands differ slightly than at former puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 14:39    Post subject:  

Quote:
You don't get "ALL" in Lupu, as the Ubuntu repos are too big. They are so huge, gtkdialog, which is what is used to display the list in the GUI, chokes and basically hangs.

Ah. There's always something.

But it's funny, your saying those repositories are so huge. When you select Ubuntu main and look through the categories, there aren't so many. Something is not adding up. For example, Desktop has 9 items, System 6, Setup 11. That's not so many.

I realize there are a lot of dependencies that might not show up on the list, libraries and things like that?

Still... I went to the /root/.packages directory and did this:
# grep "|Fun|" Packages-ubuntu-lucid-main

I see aisleriot which shows on the PPM list in the Fun category, but I also see bomber which doesn't show up. If I pipe that command to "wc -l" there are 45 lines, but the Fun category in PPM shows only 9 items.

<later>
I figured it out! I have ubuntu-lucid-main selected with the radio buttons on top, but what I am seeing in the package list is the repository puppy-lucid! Sad

<later yet>
It looks like it works if I select a couple of radio buttons, and then go back to ubuntu-lucid-main. But if I enter PPM and just have ubuntu-lucid-main selected when I come in, and don't click any of those radio buttons, it is really displaying puppy-lucid. In other words, some variable needs to be initialized.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 21:02    Post subject:  

CatDude wrote:
Hi

It appears that the focus problem i described in the Wary 0.9.8 (098) feedback thread,
is also in this Puppy as well.

CatDude
.


This is a ROX-Filer bug. The version that is currently in Puppy only partially fixes it (for drag and drop). You would need to examine the changelog of the latest in subversion to see if they have done any more work on the focus problem -- I doubt it, but you never know.

If not, then the ROX developers need to be informed.

The problem manifests for GTK >= 2.18.

There is a workaround, setting a certain environment variable, but that is not a good solution. I am not sure, but Lupu may have implemented that solution.

The history of this is in my blog.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5450
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 22:28    Post subject:  

I grabbed another old machine off the shelf so....Quirky 140 live pfix=ram.Had sound,internet and correct resolution on boot.


VIDEO REPORT: Quirky Puppy, version 140

Chip description:
Intel Corporation 82945G/GZ Integrated Graphics Controller

Driver used by Xorg:
intel

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 24 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#


-Computer-
Processor : 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Memory : 1025MB (242MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.14
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Wed 01 Dec 2010 09:32:03 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : HDA-Intel - HDA Intel


Running fine. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
taca0

Joined: 06 May 2009
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Wed 01 Dec 2010, 23:13    Post subject:    

Using Xorg Vesa drive works but: Why don't compile the x11 driver of mplayer for expand and not stay fixed with the original resolution size??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Sat 04 Dec 2010, 12:55    Post subject:  

Just to record it here (I also posted on Barry's blog), a fix to the last problem in PPM that I mentioned, a couple of posts back, is this:

Quote:
I was fooling around with the code and found that on those places where you create the repo radiobuttons (4 places), if you change <radiobutton> to <radiobutton active="true">, then the selected radiobutton is in sync with the displayed package list.


That is, it will be in sync upon invocation of PPM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 04 Dec 2010, 18:49    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
Just to record it here (I also posted on Barry's blog), a fix to the last problem in PPM that I mentioned, a couple of posts back, is this:

Quote:
I was fooling around with the code and found that on those places where you create the repo radiobuttons (4 places), if you change <radiobutton> to <radiobutton active="true">, then the selected radiobutton is in sync with the displayed package list.


That is, it will be in sync upon invocation of PPM.


Oh, I also fixed it. I just came onto the forum to post it.

This is the latest PPM, with new goodies as described on my blog.

Attached:
ppm-20101205.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ppm-20101205.pet 
Filesize  38.14 KB 
Downloaded  372 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5450
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 05 Dec 2010, 18:48    Post subject:  

Quirky 140 live pfix=ram in an old AMD K6-2 box. Sound and correct screen resolution on boot......no network interface detected.Loaded the correct driver .... problem solved.


VIDEO REPORT: Quirky Puppy, version 140

Chip description:
oem: Cirrus Logic GD-546X VGA

Driver used by Xorg:
cirrus

Video mode used by Xorg:
Resolution: Depth 16 Depth: "Display"

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
#

-Computer-
Processor : AMD-K6(tm) 3D processor
Memory : 384MB (120MB used)
Operating System : Puppy Linux 0.14
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Sun 05 Dec 2010 04:47:59 PM CST
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Unknown
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Multimedia-
Audio Adapter : CMI8738-SWIEC - C-Media CMI8738
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 10 [137 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0898s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]