Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 14:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Gnumeric - How to have Windows newline character?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
jpr

Joined: 01 Apr 2009
Posts: 102

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 00:07    Post subject:  Gnumeric - How to have Windows newline character?  

Hi,

I am using Puppy-421. It came with Gnumeric which is great.
I need to move my work between Puppy and Windows.
If I create a spreadsheet in Gnumeric and save it as .xls then I can open it in Excel in Windows. But I have one problem.
If a cell contains a multi-line text (created using ALT + Enter), then the newline character is encoded Linux-style and Excel does not read it correctly. It shows a little square where the newline character should be.
How do I work around this, other than manually editing all bad entries?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 02:11    Post subject: Re: Gnumeric - How to have Windows newline character?  

jpr wrote:
Hi,

I am using Puppy-421. It came with Gnumeric which is great.
I need to move my work between Puppy and Windows.
If I create a spreadsheet in Gnumeric and save it as .xls then I can open it in Excel in Windows. But I have one problem.
If a cell contains a multi-line text (created using ALT + Enter), then the newline character is encoded Linux-style and Excel does not read it correctly. It shows a little square where the newline character should be.
How do I work around this, other than manually editing all bad entries?

Thanks.


Strange...saving in xlsx loads up fine in OO. I tested with ver 1.10.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fluxit


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Location: Ketchikan, AK USA

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 03:16    Post subject: Re: Gnumeric - How to have Windows newline character?  

jpr wrote:
How do I work around this, other than manually editing all bad entries?


Have you tried saving in all of the xls variants that gnumeric allows?

What about odf/ods? I was under the impression that there were import filters available for MS Office that allow for the use of odf documents.

Does Excel have search and replace?

You could fix the bug in gnumeric's xls support or write a macro for Excel Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2248

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 13:12    Post subject:  

There are a couple of tools to convert any sort of plain-text files between unix/dos.
unix2dos/dos2unix
fromdos/todos

One pair of these should available on any half-complete distro you choose.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RetroTechGuy


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 2668
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 14:53    Post subject:  

amigo wrote:
There are a couple of tools to convert any sort of plain-text files between unix/dos.
unix2dos/dos2unix
fromdos/todos

One pair of these should available on any half-complete distro you choose.


For text operations, there is also a program called "flip"

for dos endings:
Code:
flip -m filename


for linux endings:
Code:
flip -u filename


And the Debian package works fine (probably need no additional dependencies):

http://packages.debian.org/squeeze/flip

http://http.us.debian.org/debian/pool/main/f/flip/flip_1.20-1_i386.deb

_________________
Add swapfile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jpeps

Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 3220

PostPosted: Fri 10 Dec 2010, 19:58    Post subject:  

gnumeric has ssconvert.

example:
ssconvert --export-type=Gnumeric_Excel:excel_dsf foo.gnumeric foo.xls

http://linux.die.net/man/1/ssconvert

Code:

~ $ sudo ssconvert --list-exporters
ID                           | Description
Gnumeric_Excel:xlsx          | MS Excel (tm) 2007
Gnumeric_Excel:excel_dsf     | MS Excel (tm) 97/2000/XP & 5.0/95
Gnumeric_Excel:excel_biff7   | MS Excel (tm) 5.0/95
Gnumeric_Excel:excel_biff8   | MS Excel (tm) 97/2000/XP
Gnumeric_dif:dif             | Data Interchange Format (*.dif)
Gnumeric_glpk:glpk           | GLPK Linear Program Solver
Gnumeric_lpsolve:lpsolve     | LPSolve Linear Program Solver
Gnumeric_html:roff           | TROFF (*.me)
Gnumeric_html:latex_table    | LaTeX 2e (*.tex) table fragment
Gnumeric_html:latex          | LaTeX 2e (*.tex)
Gnumeric_html:xhtml_range    | XHTML range - for export to clipboard
Gnumeric_html:xhtml          | XHTML (*.html)
Gnumeric_html:html40frag     | HTML (*.html) fragment
Gnumeric_html:html40         | HTML 4.0 (*.html)
Gnumeric_html:html32         | HTML 3.2 (*.html)
Gnumeric_OpenCalc:odf        | ODF/OpenOffice with foreign elements (*.ods)
Gnumeric_OpenCalc:openoffice | ODF/OpenOffice without foreign elements (*.ods)
Gnumeric_sylk:sylk           | MultiPlan (SYLK)
Gnumeric_stf:stf_csv         | Comma separated values (CSV)
Gnumeric_stf:stf_assistant   | Text (configurable)
Gnumeric_XmlIO:sax           | Gnumeric XML (*.gnumeric)
Gnumeric_pdf:pdf_assistant   | PDF export
~ $
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jan 2011, 17:04    Post subject: Re: Gnumeric - How to have Windows newline character?  

jpr wrote:
Hi,

I am using Puppy-421. It came with Gnumeric which is great.
I need to move my work between Puppy and Windows.
If I create a spreadsheet in Gnumeric and save it as .xls then I can open it in Excel in Windows. But I have one problem.
If a cell contains a multi-line text (created using ALT + Enter), then the newline character is encoded Linux-style and Excel does not read it correctly. It shows a little square where the newline character should be.
How do I work around this, other than manually editing all bad entries?

Thanks.


Well, maybe i'm thinking to simple but the best way should be to not use newlines within cells. This allways leads to conversion problems (same as combined cells and such things).

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0649s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]