Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 07:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary 1.0.2 (102) feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Dexter1

Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 16:10    Post subject: Huawei E1550 works with Wary 1.0.2
Subject description: HDSPA USB modem E1550
 

Hello I tried to get my E1550 to work with different Puppy versions with no success with many tips and tricks.

But today I tried it with Wary 1.0.2 and it works perfect.
The Solution is very easy:

1. First do a setup in PGPRS connect
2. write /dev/ttyUSB0
3.write your APN
4 let the rest be as it is in default even the pin code 1234(it worked for me)
5 save it
6 First now plug in the Huawei E1550 in the usb port.
7Now the Wary 1.0.2 detects the 3 G modem.
8 Wait until the message disappears.
9 Connect with the PGPRS Connect.
10 Now it should work properly.

Attention:
Next time you want to use the E1550 you must have it unplugged during the boot up of the Wary 1.0.2 the when it had started up you can connect it and only use PGPRS connect and it works like a dream.

I hope it helps someone. Smile

I tried a ICON 225 HDSPA modem but couldnt get it to work with any Puppy version not even with Wary 1.0.2 Sad

I hope the hard working developers can maybe fix this in future Puppy versions.
Nice work and thanks for the Wary 1.0.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fluxit


Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 326
Location: Ketchikan, AK USA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 16:41    Post subject:  

No change in this problem, or this.

Ogle's Edit, Preferences has no effect. Should it?

Ogle View, Keypad causes a keypad to be displayed. Clicking on one of the keypad buttons leads to Ogle closing silently.

Last edited by fluxit on Mon 20 Dec 2010, 17:05; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 16:41    Post subject: Re: problems! so far.  

scsijon wrote:
Update1
Box1 - Acer v3700gx - E'net sat link

problem1: Video probe picked i810 instead of intel (i915), dropped out of x, ran xorgwizard, selected intel all ok manually.

problem2: took two runs to get ethernet to setup eth0 (dlink dge-530T Gigabite), then had to run firewall to access outside, no default access????

problem3: desktop Drive Icons Manager, ticked box to say erase then redraw and realigh existing icons, didn't work with just a jwm restart or xserver restart, needed a reboot to happen.

warning 1: I downloaded and confirm that firefox pet doesn't work from nluug, also alsa-lib >seems to be a dependancy of a few packages (maybe should be indefault build). Could only find a tar, not a pet
---------------------------------------------------
Origonal message:
box2 - Home built but gigabyte where possible - dialup winmodem

problem 1: didn't descover my video card (Radeon HD4350), usually probe works ok, 102 wouldn't either probe or select "radeon" had to use vesa to load video.

modem ok and dials out ok (3 woofs for that).

Warning 1: Downloader for ppm kept dropping out and restarting with nluug.

Problems 2/3: downloads
Pet: Firefox-3.6.9-w5.pet, no icons on install, further look, no firefox.desktop, /opt/firefox seems to be a mess after install, can't even run from itself. Maybe corrupt.
Pet: Bluefish-2.0.2-w5.pet, missing alsa-lib.:: doesn't seem to be affecting it run though.

@barry - should we include the w5 pet problems here or ....

regards
scsijon


Some of these issues are fixed:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02039

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Gyle

Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 97
Location: Fr

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 22:08    Post subject:
Subject description: Extra click when navigating, navigating with rox
 

Quote:
Anyone capable of writing a debounce routine?


Hi ravensrest
the source of the problem is your mouse.
The soft cannot waste its precious time to repair all the bad hard.
Sage has given you a very good indication for a new mouse.
I am sure you will be enjoyed to navigate with it peaceful .
Kind regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 22:39    Post subject:
Subject description: Extra click when navigating, navigating with rox
 

Gyle wrote:
Quote:
Anyone capable of writing a debounce routine?


Hi ravensrest
the source of the problem is your mouse.
The soft cannot waste its precious time to repair all the bad hard.
Sage has given you a very good indication for a new mouse.
I am sure you will be enjoyed to navigate with it peaceful .
Kind regards


Not the mouse;
If the cursor is moving even a little the icon will disappear.
If it's completely stopped it doesn't happen.
Tried with 3 different usb mice.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 05:05    Post subject:  

Quote:
Tried with 3 different usb mice.

USB mice have been a curse ever since they arrived; almost as much a nuisance as wireless ditto and k/b ditto. If you've got a proper box, use the proper port. If you've got a laptop/netbook use the tracker/touchpad. If you've got a mobile use the touchscreen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 05:35    Post subject:  

technosaurus wrote:
For those of you that wish to remove pre-installed packages before remastering, I threw together this little script with a very basic gui and reverse dependency checking (only informational - it does not automatically select the reverse dependencies for removal). It should work with most if not all recent woof-built variants.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
D=$HOME/.packages/builtin_files
PKGS=`ls -1 $D`
PKG=`Xdialog --stdout --combobox "select package to remove" 0 0 $PKGS`
[ $PKG ] && Xdialog --yesno "Reverse dependencies:
`cat $HOME/.packages/woof-installed-packages |grep +$PKG |cut -d "|" -f2`

Continue?" 0 0 && [ $? ] && for x in `cat $D/$PKG`; do [ -d $x ] && cd $x || rm $x; done && rm $D/$PKG && $0

Note:pasted from an XP machine => may need dos2unix


Great! I have jazzed it up a bit...

Have put 'remove_builtin' into /usr/sbin in Woof, also created a menu entry.
remove_builtin.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  remove_builtin.gz 
Filesize  1.06 KB 
Downloaded  410 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 06:12    Post subject: Re: gtkdialog-splash
Subject description: splash does not disappear
 

shinobar wrote:
PROBLEM:
In PUPMODE=13, pressing the 'Save' icon on the desktop,
the yellow splash pops up but never disappear unless clicking the splash.

REASON:
An issue in dealing with 'font' option in /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash.

SOLUTION(1):(my recommendation)
Remove /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash.
I recommend to remove yaf-splash because it doesn't support UTF-8.

another SOLUSION(2):
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash line 12:
Quote:
if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash ] && false;then #100917

another SOLUTION(3):
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash line 24:
Quote:
eval "exec /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash ${FIXEDPARAMS}"

another SOLUTION(4):
Replace 'font' option with 'fontsize' option.
I hope someone will find smart way.


I fixed /usr/sbin/save2flash (in Woof):

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#2007 Lesser GPL licence v2 (http://www.fsf.org/licensing/licenses/lgpl.html)
#sends a request to /usr/sbin/savepuppyd to save the session.
#v4.01 19may2008 BK: request now to /sbin/pup_eventd (savepuppyd is history).
#v411 /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest is processed in /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d. (from v403 i think)
#101221 path to use old yaf-splash.

/usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -display :0 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg yellow -text "NOTICE:
Request to save current session is queued. Please wait,
another message will popup when the saving occurs..." &
RETVAL=$?
YAFPID=$!

touch /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest

while [ -f /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest ];do
 sleep 1
done

[ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && kill $YAFPID

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 06:35    Post subject:  

This is beginning to look like it might be the most de-bugged Puppy ever Smile
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 06:37    Post subject: Re: gtkdialog-splash
Subject description: splash does not disappear
 

BarryK wrote:
I fixed /usr/sbin/save2flash

I think it is not a problem of save2flash but of gtkdialog-splash.
Same thing occurs with PPM.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 06:44    Post subject:  

fluxit wrote:
No change in this problem, or this.

Ogle's Edit, Preferences has no effect. Should it?

Ogle View, Keypad causes a keypad to be displayed. Clicking on one of the keypad buttons leads to Ogle closing silently.


Regarding Dvorak keyboard, fixed:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02041

Regarding Ogle: Ogle has many problems. It is a dead project. I posted about the Stop button not working on my blog, and requested for someone with C programming knowledge to take Ogle up as a project. Noone has done so yet.

My Ogle blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01996

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 07:45    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
fluxit wrote:
No change in this problem, or this.

Ogle's Edit, Preferences has no effect. Should it?

Ogle View, Keypad causes a keypad to be displayed. Clicking on one of the keypad buttons leads to Ogle closing silently.


Regarding Dvorak keyboard, fixed:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02041

Regarding Ogle: Ogle has many problems. It is a dead project. I posted about the Stop button not working on my blog, and requested for someone with C programming knowledge to take Ogle up as a project. Noone has done so yet.

My Ogle blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01996


I asked the developer in a email a few weeks ago about the stop button and he never replied back either Confused
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 08:15    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
technosaurus wrote:
For those of you that wish to remove pre-installed packages before remastering, I threw together this little script with a very basic gui and reverse dependency checking (only informational - it does not automatically select the reverse dependencies for removal). It should work with most if not all recent woof-built variants.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
D=$HOME/.packages/builtin_files
PKGS=`ls -1 $D`
PKG=`Xdialog --stdout --combobox "select package to remove" 0 0 $PKGS`
[ $PKG ] && Xdialog --yesno "Reverse dependencies:
`cat $HOME/.packages/woof-installed-packages |grep +$PKG |cut -d "|" -f2`

Continue?" 0 0 && [ $? ] && for x in `cat $D/$PKG`; do [ -d $x ] && cd $x || rm $x; done && rm $D/$PKG && $0

Note:pasted from an XP machine => may need dos2unix


Great! I have jazzed it up a bit...

Have put 'remove_builtin' into /usr/sbin in Woof, also created a menu entry.


Just tried it then did a remaster, works a treat. Have to remember to run fixmenues though.

Thanks for this.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10730
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 10:15    Post subject:  

would be nice if you had an option to edit the iso image on the fly and rebuild the iso image straight away Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1792
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 21 Dec 2010, 10:19    Post subject:  

I have been using Edit-sfs to do that. It is a bit kludgy though.
_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0965s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]