Wary 1.0.2 (102) feedback

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#81 Post by BarryK »

pakt wrote:
zygo wrote:I don't know why you can't connect everytime.
Well, I have definitely narrowed it down.

After more testing, so far the init string3 only messes up when I have tried to boot with modem connected.
Then either the string is missing or the string is incorrect, e.g.

Code: Select all

ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2+FCLASS=0
Changing to the correct string, I can connect.

Otherwise, as long as I re-boot (with pfix=ram or with a save file), then connect the modem,
I get this initialisation string 3:

Code: Select all

ATQ0V1E1S0=0&D2
or

Code: Select all

ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2
and can connect and get online.

(The error I get when unplugging, then re-plugging the modem without re-booting is another problem, but as this scenario is rather unlikely, I don't see fixing it so important.)
Yes, I read about a problem with the E1550 modem -- something about replugging -- /dev/ttyUSB0 works, but if you replug the modem then you have to use /dev/ttyUSB1 -- which is weird.

Well, I can put in some code to detect an empty string and do some workaround.
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
gjuhasz
Posts: 422
Joined: Mon 29 Sep 2008, 14:28

Workaround to prevent drive icon disappear

#82 Post by gjuhasz »

ravensrest wrote:sometimes a quick right click on a drive icon will cause it to disappear.
I use a workaround that cures the second problem. Change line 43 in /etc/eventmanager to this:

Code: Select all

ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP=96
After X restarted, the drive icons will appear at a higher position thus your mouse cannot accidentally repeat the click over the "Remove item(s)" menu point that may pop up unintendedly.

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

gtkdialog-splash

#83 Post by shinobar »

PROBLEM:
In PUPMODE=13, pressing the 'Save' icon on the desktop,
the yellow splash pops up but never disappear unless clicking the splash.

REASON:
An issue in dealing with 'font' option in /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash.

SOLUTION(1):(my recommendation)
Remove /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash.
I recommend to remove yaf-splash because it doesn't support UTF-8.

another SOLUSION(2):
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash line 12:
if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash ] && false;then #100917
another SOLUTION(3):
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash line 24:
eval "exec /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash ${FIXEDPARAMS}"
another SOLUTION(4):
Replace 'font' option with 'fontsize' option.
I hope someone will find smart way.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
ravensrest
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri 22 Feb 2008, 16:43
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon

#84 Post by ravensrest »

Thanks for the input Gyle, gjuhasz. Changing line 43 does, indeed, result in the missing icon being placed higher up the screen when it is reconstructed, but it still disappears with a quick right click, and I have to run pup_event_frontend_d to get it back immediately.

My "work around" is to hold the right button down and move the cursor to where you want it before letting go.

Have found not way yet to eliminate the extra click when navigating.
BS

Gyle
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon 24 Dec 2007, 01:06
Location: Fr

#85 Post by Gyle »

I use a workaround that cures the second problem.
OK for the workaround, but "cures" ?
Official Medecine, or M$, "cures" symptomes, not the cause ...

Gyle
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon 24 Dec 2007, 01:06
Location: Fr

#86 Post by Gyle »

My "work around" is to hold the right button down and move the cursor to where you want it before letting go
Yes I proceeded the same because I also had a too much sensitive mouse buttons.
Have found not way yet to eliminate the extra click when navigating
If you mean by "extra click" the bouncing of the electric contacts of the mouse there is no solution but to have a soft debouncing routine in the program of the tiny micro in the mouse, I think it is not the case, may be because the gamers/consumers love a mouse that double-clicks faster than its shadow....
It is worth changing your mouse for a good one.
But it is not useless to first clean the contacts of your mouse...because dust or corrosion creates false contacts.

User avatar
rjbrewer
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2008, 21:41
Location: merriam, kansas

#87 Post by rjbrewer »

ravensrest wrote:Two irksome effects:

First, it appears that sometimes the first mouse click doesn't count when activating an application from the desktop even if "Single-click to open" is set in the pinboard configuration. I think this was reported for Wary 098 also. In addition the same effect sometimes seems to occur if single click navigation is not set and one double clicks on a file or directory in RoxFiler; it takes three clicks. This seems to happen when focus has been elsewhere even if focus is first transferred back to RoxFiler by clicking on it somewhere.

Second, sometimes a quick right click on a drive icon will cause it to disappear. Or, if I change the settings for the disk icon manager, it does not necessarily refresh. I can cause it to do so by rebooting, restarting X, or running pup_event_frontend_d from the console. Would in make sense to add a "Restart frontend" to the shutdown menu or when exiting the eventmanager?

BS
A single click solution from 098:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 682#468682

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#88 Post by Sage »

But it is not useless to first clean the contacts of your mouse...because dust or corrosion creates false contacts.
There are two issues - SW and HW.
The microswitches cannot reasonably be repaired. The phosphor-bronze leaf springs inside them WILL eventually fail, either by stress-fracturing (breakage) but, long before that, they will lose their flexibility. [If you're into pointless engineering repairs, they can be dismantled, the springs re-tempered in a furnace and re-assembled with the rivet gun. Nothing is ever totally unrepairable!]. Some cheap mice have poor designs leading to, inter alia, inadvertent multiple switch contacting, no ditto, and other spurious effects. Genius are the most reliable and one of the cheapest I've found from experience with hundreds of the beasts. Logitech are OK but over-priced; give M$-branded devices a miss. Clean the rollers frequently using IPA or vodka.
As for the SW - not my bag.

Gyle
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon 24 Dec 2007, 01:06
Location: Fr

#89 Post by Gyle »

The microswitches cannot reasonably be repaired.
yes Sage you are right, modern mouses has waterproof microswitches we can't clean.
It is my memories of so-called good old days that I have to clean...

User avatar
ravensrest
Posts: 365
Joined: Fri 22 Feb 2008, 16:43
Location: Grants Pass, Oregon

#90 Post by ravensrest »

Thanks, rjbrewer. Your suggested mod to /usr/local/bin/rox does appear to fix the "extra click" problem.

As for the disppearing drive icon, holding the right button does work, but is still irksome. Anyone capable of writing a debounce routine?

BS

Dexter1
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 19:41

Huawei E1550 works with Wary 1.0.2

#91 Post by Dexter1 »

Hello I tried to get my E1550 to work with different Puppy versions with no success with many tips and tricks.

But today I tried it with Wary 1.0.2 and it works perfect.
The Solution is very easy:

1. First do a setup in PGPRS connect
2. write /dev/ttyUSB0
3.write your APN
4 let the rest be as it is in default even the pin code 1234(it worked for me)
5 save it
6 First now plug in the Huawei E1550 in the usb port.
7Now the Wary 1.0.2 detects the 3 G modem.
8 Wait until the message disappears.
9 Connect with the PGPRS Connect.
10 Now it should work properly.

Attention:
Next time you want to use the E1550 you must have it unplugged during the boot up of the Wary 1.0.2 the when it had started up you can connect it and only use PGPRS connect and it works like a dream.

I hope it helps someone. :)

I tried a ICON 225 HDSPA modem but couldnt get it to work with any Puppy version not even with Wary 1.0.2 :(

I hope the hard working developers can maybe fix this in future Puppy versions.
Nice work and thanks for the Wary 1.0.2

User avatar
fluxit
Posts: 326
Joined: Sat 24 Jun 2006, 04:14
Location: Ketchikan, AK USA

#92 Post by fluxit »

No change in this problem, or this.

Ogle's Edit, Preferences has no effect. Should it?

Ogle View, Keypad causes a keypad to be displayed. Clicking on one of the keypad buttons leads to Ogle closing silently.
Last edited by fluxit on Mon 20 Dec 2010, 21:05, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: problems! so far.

#93 Post by BarryK »

scsijon wrote:Update1
Box1 - Acer v3700gx - E'net sat link

problem1: Video probe picked i810 instead of intel (i915), dropped out of x, ran xorgwizard, selected intel all ok manually.

problem2: took two runs to get ethernet to setup eth0 (dlink dge-530T Gigabite), then had to run firewall to access outside, no default access????

problem3: desktop Drive Icons Manager, ticked box to say erase then redraw and realigh existing icons, didn't work with just a jwm restart or xserver restart, needed a reboot to happen.

warning 1: I downloaded and confirm that firefox pet doesn't work from nluug, also alsa-lib >seems to be a dependancy of a few packages (maybe should be indefault build). Could only find a tar, not a pet
---------------------------------------------------
Origonal message:
box2 - Home built but gigabyte where possible - dialup winmodem

problem 1: didn't descover my video card (Radeon HD4350), usually probe works ok, 102 wouldn't either probe or select "radeon" had to use vesa to load video.

modem ok and dials out ok (3 woofs for that).

Warning 1: Downloader for ppm kept dropping out and restarting with nluug.

Problems 2/3: downloads
Pet: Firefox-3.6.9-w5.pet, no icons on install, further look, no firefox.desktop, /opt/firefox seems to be a mess after install, can't even run from itself. Maybe corrupt.
Pet: Bluefish-2.0.2-w5.pet, missing alsa-lib.:: doesn't seem to be affecting it run though.

@barry - should we include the w5 pet problems here or ....

regards
scsijon
Some of these issues are fixed:
http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02039
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

Gyle
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon 24 Dec 2007, 01:06
Location: Fr

#94 Post by Gyle »

Anyone capable of writing a debounce routine?
Hi ravensrest
the source of the problem is your mouse.
The soft cannot waste its precious time to repair all the bad hard.
Sage has given you a very good indication for a new mouse.
I am sure you will be enjoyed to navigate with it peaceful .
Kind regards

User avatar
rjbrewer
Posts: 4405
Joined: Tue 22 Jan 2008, 21:41
Location: merriam, kansas

#95 Post by rjbrewer »

Gyle wrote:
Anyone capable of writing a debounce routine?
Hi ravensrest
the source of the problem is your mouse.
The soft cannot waste its precious time to repair all the bad hard.
Sage has given you a very good indication for a new mouse.
I am sure you will be enjoyed to navigate with it peaceful .
Kind regards
Not the mouse;
If the cursor is moving even a little the icon will disappear.
If it's completely stopped it doesn't happen.
Tried with 3 different usb mice.

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Sage
Posts: 5536
Joined: Tue 04 Oct 2005, 08:34
Location: GB

#96 Post by Sage »

Tried with 3 different usb mice.
USB mice have been a curse ever since they arrived; almost as much a nuisance as wireless ditto and k/b ditto. If you've got a proper box, use the proper port. If you've got a laptop/netbook use the tracker/touchpad. If you've got a mobile use the touchscreen.

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#97 Post by BarryK »

technosaurus wrote:For those of you that wish to remove pre-installed packages before remastering, I threw together this little script with a very basic gui and reverse dependency checking (only informational - it does not automatically select the reverse dependencies for removal). It should work with most if not all recent woof-built variants.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
D=$HOME/.packages/builtin_files
PKGS=`ls -1 $D`
PKG=`Xdialog --stdout --combobox "select package to remove" 0 0 $PKGS`
[ $PKG ] && Xdialog --yesno "Reverse dependencies:
`cat $HOME/.packages/woof-installed-packages |grep +$PKG |cut -d "|" -f2`

Continue?" 0 0 && [ $? ] && for x in `cat $D/$PKG`; do [ -d $x ] && cd $x || rm $x; done && rm $D/$PKG && $0
Note:pasted from an XP machine => may need dos2unix
Great! I have jazzed it up a bit...

Have put 'remove_builtin' into /usr/sbin in Woof, also created a menu entry.
Attachments
remove_builtin.gz
(1.06 KiB) Downloaded 619 times
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: gtkdialog-splash

#98 Post by BarryK »

shinobar wrote:PROBLEM:
In PUPMODE=13, pressing the 'Save' icon on the desktop,
the yellow splash pops up but never disappear unless clicking the splash.

REASON:
An issue in dealing with 'font' option in /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash.

SOLUTION(1):(my recommendation)
Remove /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash.
I recommend to remove yaf-splash because it doesn't support UTF-8.

another SOLUSION(2):
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash line 12:
if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash ] && false;then #100917
another SOLUTION(3):
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash line 24:
eval "exec /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash ${FIXEDPARAMS}"
another SOLUTION(4):
Replace 'font' option with 'fontsize' option.
I hope someone will find smart way.
I fixed /usr/sbin/save2flash (in Woof):

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
#2007 Lesser GPL licence v2 (http://www.fsf.org/licensing/licenses/lgpl.html)
#sends a request to /usr/sbin/savepuppyd to save the session.
#v4.01 19may2008 BK: request now to /sbin/pup_eventd (savepuppyd is history).
#v411 /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest is processed in /sbin/pup_event_frontend_d. (from v403 i think)
#101221 path to use old yaf-splash.

/usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash -display :0 -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg yellow -text "NOTICE:
Request to save current session is queued. Please wait,
another message will popup when the saving occurs..." &
RETVAL=$?
YAFPID=$!

touch /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest

while [ -f /tmp/snapmergepuppyrequest ];do
 sleep 1
done

[ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && kill $YAFPID
[url]https://bkhome.org/news/[/url]

User avatar
DaveS
Posts: 3685
Joined: Thu 09 Oct 2008, 16:01
Location: UK

#99 Post by DaveS »

This is beginning to look like it might be the most de-bugged Puppy ever :)
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

Re: gtkdialog-splash

#100 Post by shinobar »

BarryK wrote:I fixed /usr/sbin/save2flash
I think it is not a problem of save2flash but of gtkdialog-splash.
Same thing occurs with PPM.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

Post Reply