Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 14:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary Release Candidate (104) feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 04:21    Post_subject:  

#depmod
Bus error


Or, after abit of research,

#/sbin/depmod -a
Bus error


/sbin/depmod is present, and permissions ok.

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 04:29    Post_subject:  

@rjbrewer-

"...it is normally recommended that you use the Puppy Universal Installer first."

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 05:34    Post_subject:  

gerry wrote:
#depmod
Bus error


Or, after abit of research,

#/sbin/depmod -a
Bus error


/sbin/depmod is present, and permissions ok.

Gerry


Try this:

# busybox depmod

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 05:43    Post_subject:  

scsijon reported on my blog that if choose to download-only PET packages and not install, the .pet pkgs get converted to .tar.gz in /root.

Hmmm, yes. I only ever tested that with .deb pkgs before.

I have fixed it, script /usr/local/petget/verifypkg.sh, attached.

I had better tell playdayz about this too, so he can slip it into Luci before release.
verifypkg.sh.gz
Description  Put in /usr/local/petget, gunzip, make sure executable.
gz

 Download 
Filename  verifypkg.sh.gz 
Filesize  895 Bytes 
Downloaded  226 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 06:44    Post_subject:  

@Barry:

# busybox depmod
depmod: read error from './kernel/drivers/hwmon/vt211.ko': Input/output error
Segmentation fault

(Recap: Computer is Acer Aspire One. Wary-104 is installed on a usb stick, which I'm booting from. Usb stick was formatted EXT2 using Gparted, and boot flag is set. Wary was installed to usb using Puppy Universal Installer, on my old computer, which runs Wary-104.)

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 10:48    Post_subject:  

gerry wrote:
@rjbrewer-

"...it is normally recommended that you use the Puppy Universal Installer first."

Gerry


Where is that quote from?

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 12:52    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
gerry wrote:
@rjbrewer-

"...it is normally recommended that you use the Puppy Universal Installer first."

Gerry


Where is that quote from?


I dont remember that quote but I do remember this one: (click for larger)

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 13:37    Post_subject:  

Q5sys wrote:
rjbrewer wrote:
gerry wrote:
@rjbrewer-

"...it is normally recommended that you use the Puppy Universal Installer first."

Gerry


Where is that quote from?


I dont remember that quote but I do remember this one: (click for larger)


Where did that come from? Never seen it before.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1047

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 13:56    Post_subject:  

rjbrewer wrote:
Q5sys wrote:


I dont remember that quote but I do remember this one: (click for larger)


Where did that come from? Never seen it before.


Window Title bar should give you a clue. Wink I even circled it for you. heh
If you open up BootFlash and click the help button at the bottom you'll see it. I'm using a 4.31 based puplet right now, dont know if Barry changed the wording in Wary, or if the 5.0 devs changed the wording in their release.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gerry

Joined: 26 Jul 2007
Posts: 946
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 15:29    Post_subject:  

Run Bootflash, it's on the fourth dialogue box.

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4078
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 18:59    Post_subject: LiveCD/LiveDVD  

Running an Intel P4 Platform with 1.5GB and a CD (boot device) and a DVD reader. Currently, I have WARY on LiveCD and am booting CD on the system. The system's devices are IDE/ATA.

Boot LiveCD with pfix=ram ONLY. Desktop has many issues. Is there something about LiveCD I'm missing or have others running LIveCD experienced many issues as well? And, if I boot and immediately attempt a save, System "fails"! It will NOT save.

Without dismantling the PC what would be steps recommended to get to a stable desktop for RC testing? Is the next RC release going to fix these issue before full public release of WARY?

Hope this is correct location to report FULL WARY's RC problems.
Edit: added device information here becasue I see BarryK is looking pmedia issus and all of this may be related

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dexter1

Joined: 20 Dec 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 19:16    Post_subject: Re: 3G HDSPA Modem Huawei E1550 works on Wary 1.0.4  

BarryK wrote:
Dexter1 wrote:
I upgraded today from version 1.0.2 to 1.0.4 and can confirm that the Huawei E1550 works perfectly.The only thing is that it must be plugged in first when the system has booted up.
I also tested the ICON 225 3G modem but didnt get it to work.
It recognized the modem and the PGPRS Connect is going further than before.It was configured as /dev/ttyHS0 It runs down to *99***1# stops there a few seconds trying to connect(i think) then it goes off.
I think the solution must be near for the Puppy developers.
Or is it a configuration fault from me?


A bell just rang in my head... if I recall, doesn't that ICON 225 3G modem use the 'hso' kernel module?

You can type 'lsmod' in a terminal to see loaded modules.

There is a possibility that the 'hso' module does not work. In that case, the 'option' module might work. Can you try this:

1. Unplug modem.
2. Menu -> System -> BootManager
3. Blacklist the 'hso' module
4. Reboot
5. Plugin the modem

...hopefully you will get a popup showing it recognised.

Then try pupdial again. If no go, try the gprs app.


This time I tested the Puppy 5.1.5.
I initiated(reseted) the wvdial.config
I looked for the HS0 module and didnt find it in loaded or blacklisted modules strange?
Rebooted and plugged in the icon225
The system didnt recognize the modem what I could see.
But in the PGPRS setup suggested it as /dev/ttyS0
Tried to connect but no success.
Then I wrote /dev/ttyS0 in the wvdial.config manually.
And tried to connect with pupdial.
It recognize it as modem but says "modem not responding"
Look at the attached "print screen"
Tried also as ttyS0 to S4 ttyHS0 to HS4 ttySHS0 to SHS4 the best respond is on ttyS0.
Some ideas about it?

ps.the huawei e1550 working on the puppy 5.1.5(It seems that it works on all the puppies)
WirelessLan Air Link 80300 pcmia card is also working on all puppies i tested.
Usb flash boot is also no problem from a old compaq presario 2100 puppy 5.1.5
pgprs connect ttyS0.png
Description  picture pgprs connect
png

 Download 
Filename  pgprs connect ttyS0.png 
Filesize  500.47 KB 
Downloaded  213 Time(s) 
Pupdial ttyS0.png
Description  picture pupdial
png

 Download 
Filename  Pupdial ttyS0.png 
Filesize  401.48 KB 
Downloaded  201 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 25 Dec 2010, 20:52    Post_subject:  

gerry wrote:
Run Bootflash, it's on the fourth dialogue box.

Gerry


You haven't answered the question about the origin of your quote!

That bootflash page discusses installation of puppy and doesn't
refer to just flash drives.

Universal installer is third in succession of recommended methods.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Dec 2010, 18:01    Post_subject: Re: 3G HDSPA Modem Huawei E1550 works on Wary 1.0.4  

Dexter1 wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Dexter1 wrote:
I upgraded today from version 1.0.2 to 1.0.4 and can confirm that the Huawei E1550 works perfectly.The only thing is that it must be plugged in first when the system has booted up.
I also tested the ICON 225 3G modem but didnt get it to work.
It recognized the modem and the PGPRS Connect is going further than before.It was configured as /dev/ttyHS0 It runs down to *99***1# stops there a few seconds trying to connect(i think) then it goes off.
I think the solution must be near for the Puppy developers.
Or is it a configuration fault from me?


A bell just rang in my head... if I recall, doesn't that ICON 225 3G modem use the 'hso' kernel module?

You can type 'lsmod' in a terminal to see loaded modules.

There is a possibility that the 'hso' module does not work. In that case, the 'option' module might work. Can you try this:

1. Unplug modem.
2. Menu -> System -> BootManager
3. Blacklist the 'hso' module
4. Reboot
5. Plugin the modem

...hopefully you will get a popup showing it recognised.

Then try pupdial again. If no go, try the gprs app.


This time I tested the Puppy 5.1.5.
I initiated(reseted) the wvdial.config
I looked for the HS0 module and didnt find it in loaded or blacklisted modules strange?
Rebooted and plugged in the icon225
The system didnt recognize the modem what I could see.
But in the PGPRS setup suggested it as /dev/ttyS0
Tried to connect but no success.
Then I wrote /dev/ttyS0 in the wvdial.config manually.
And tried to connect with pupdial.
It recognize it as modem but says "modem not responding"
Look at the attached "print screen"
Tried also as ttyS0 to S4 ttyHS0 to HS4 ttySHS0 to SHS4 the best respond is on ttyS0.
Some ideas about it?

ps.the huawei e1550 working on the puppy 5.1.5(It seems that it works on all the puppies)
WirelessLan Air Link 80300 pcmia card is also working on all puppies i tested.
Usb flash boot is also no problem from a old compaq presario 2100 puppy 5.1.5


Well, in that case, see if hso module will load and work. In a terminal:

# modprobe hso

If it loads, try pupdial:

# pupdial

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Dec 2010, 18:04    Post_subject: Re: LiveCD/LiveDVD  

gcmartin wrote:
Running an Intel P4 Platform with 1.5GB and a CD (boot device) and a DVD reader. Currently, I have WARY on LiveCD and am booting CD on the system. The system's devices are IDE/ATA.

Boot LiveCD with pfix=ram ONLY. Desktop has many issues. Is there something about LiveCD I'm missing or have others running LIveCD experienced many issues as well? And, if I boot and immediately attempt a save, System "fails"! It will NOT save.

Without dismantling the PC what would be steps recommended to get to a stable desktop for RC testing? Is the next RC release going to fix these issue before full public release of WARY?

Hope this is correct location to report FULL WARY's RC problems.
Edit: added device information here becasue I see BarryK is looking pmedia issus and all of this may be related


"Desktop has many issues"

..how can you be helped with such a vague comment?

RC is working fine. Wary has been through a very long testing process, many betas, and is now working well. The next release is likely to be the final.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0988s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]