Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 16:44
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
PXE boot Puppy 5.0.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
rolfm

Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 31 Jul 2010, 04:28    Post subject: PXE boot Puppy 5.0.1  

i did the embed_sfs in Puppy /tmp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
omf

Joined: 30 Jul 2010
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 01 Aug 2010, 15:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
i did the embed_sfs in Puppy /tmp


With that in mind here is what I did.

I created a virtualbox with 1 gb RAM so I could do all the work in RAM and had it boot the Puppy 5.0.1 iso.

Next I used the mount icon on the desktop to mount the iso and copy the files needed to temp. Typed in the commands and the initrd.gz generated works perfectly being launched over the network, thanks rolfm.

So the next step is to configure it for my purposes.

I used this pxelinux.cfg/default setup:
Code:

LABEL 6
  KERNEL puppy_5/vmlinuz
  APPEND initrd=puppy_5/initrd.gz nousb acpi=off pfix=nox,ram pkeys=us


The error generated can be seen in the attached image. After the 60 second timeout I have to setup country and timezone. I would like to set all three options so the end user in this process has less work to do.

I cannot find options to set the locale and gmt via booting options. Some references I looked at were http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51090&sid=db32ce118aa17c32644a2b2a412a8d9e and the wiki http://pupweb.org/wikka/BootParms

Do I need to setup the files in initrd.gz to automate this process?
pxe_pkeys_error.jpg
 Description   Pkeys error during pxe boot
 Filesize   48.92 KB
 Viewed   443 Time(s)

pxe_pkeys_error.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rolfm

Joined: 13 Jul 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue 17 Aug 2010, 13:29    Post subject: PXE boot Puppy 5.0.1  

sorry omf, i can't help you with that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fred777

Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 08 Jan 2011, 17:42    Post subject: pxe boot puppy 5.2  

Hi there,

the nice embed_sfs.sh script from this post: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=426299&search_id=1059481267#426299 does not work anymore for puppy 5.2.
It did work for versions 5.0.1 and 5.1. Please help.

thanks,
fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jan 2011, 02:07    Post subject:  

fred,

The embed.sh script doesn't do anything other than unpack the initrd.gz, put the puppy.sfs into it, and pack it back.

The actual magic that makes it work (puppy reads the SFS inside initrd.gz instead of searching from disk or elsewhere) is inside puppy initialisation script itself. This originally came from Barry, in puppy 4.x days, and is shared by many many other puplets and derivatives (so that most of them are netboot capable as well).

Now, apparently enough things have changed in between Lupu 5.1 days and Lupu 5.2 that breaks this functionality. You can try a recent puppy (e.g wary 5.0) and see whether it works. If it does work, then the original code is still there and something broke in Lupu 5.2 when it was developed. If this is the case, you can report this to Lupu 5.2 support forum and hope for a fix.

If wary 5.0 itself doesn't do netboot anymore, then the code is broken "at the source", and you should report this to Barry, again, hoping for a fix.

EDIT: Wary 5.0 also has this problem, so I guess Lupu 5.2 just "inherits" the same problem. I've reported this to Wary 5.0 bug report thread, let's hope it get Barry's ear.

Alternatively, if you're interested, you can unpack initrd.gz and look at the file called "init", and go from there ...

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2230
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jan 2011, 06:35    Post subject:  

fred,

I've reported the bug and the workaround here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=486411#486411.
Until this is fixed, you can pass append PDEV1=rootfs in your pxelinux config file. Lupu 5.2 will boot just fine Very Happy

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fred777

Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jan 2011, 16:47    Post subject:  

Hello jamesbond,

great thank you. By looking at init, I could not do much more than finding the echo and retry lines, but the fix from your last post looks astounding easy, I will try that now.

merci,
fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fred777

Joined: 08 Jan 2011
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 14 Jan 2011, 17:39    Post subject:  

Hello jamesbond,

that really did the trick. I would not have found this solution in init. Thanks a lot,

regards,
fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mhanifpriatama

Joined: 22 Jan 2011
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon 24 Jan 2011, 04:11    Post subject:  

I did another tricks. Use initrd.gz that inside lupu503.iso, unpack it to a directory, put lupu_520.sfs to that directory, rename it to lupu-503.sfs, than pack the directory. It's done with me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sebus

Joined: 20 Jan 2012
Posts: 62

PostPosted: Sun 22 Jan 2012, 04:29    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
fred,
The actual magic that makes it work (puppy reads the SFS inside initrd.gz instead of searching from disk or elsewhere) is inside puppy initialisation script itself.


So if it is only a script, can't it be just adjusted in the later version that does NOT behave in the same way?

sebus
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [25 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0777s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0178s) ][ GZIP on ]