Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 11:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
faster internet experience?
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jan 2011, 02:27    Post_subject:  faster internet experience?  

Source code available. Could it be used in Puppy from command line with a GUI?
http://code.google.com/p/namebench/

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jan 2011, 09:56    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Could it be used in Puppy from command line with a GUI?

Of course if you really want to bloat your savefile...

Deps:
Quote:
namebench was written using open-source tools and libraries such as Python, Tkinter, PyObjC, dnspython, jinja2 and graphy.


Anyway, what's not fast enough about the Puppy internet experience?

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15122
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jan 2011, 11:56    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Anyway, what's not fast enough about the Puppy internet experience?


Some are on slower connections - I am quite happy with my broadband Smile
Just an idea. . . Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jan 2011, 18:04    Post_subject:  

i have bad wifi (virgin mobile prepay) - i live in the sticks.
its great in the city but it feels like it takes 6 clicks to get on wifi with my 3.01 fat-free.
installed pwireless seems to help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4424

PostPosted: Wed 12 Jan 2011, 23:37    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
Anyway, what's not fast enough about the Puppy internet experience?

Cheers
Some of it has nothing really to do with Puppy, but with the default DNS servers that get set up through dhcp (typically from your "provider") if it takes 3 seconds to find a page and only 1 do download format and display it - the user still sees a 4 second load (I have seen it take inton the double digits on some DNS providers) ... the bad part - web pages sometimes think you are 2 states away (don't worry though its the same single girls in the ads in every city - only the city name changes ... definitely worth the speed up)
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 10:27    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Some are on slower connections


Faster DNS servers won't help those people at all. Slow DNS servers are noticed only in broadband access where retrieving the page is very fast and thous slow DNS servers can have an impact.

In the case of slow connection like dial up slow wireless speed or 2G mobile network the best solution is to use opera with opera turbo on. Works like as a proxy server and sends the page compressed. This way the page is reduced in size and so faster. It really makes big difference when I use internet mobile Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Tue 18 Jan 2011, 12:26    Post_subject:  

harii4

Are you getting your signal from your own router?...or piggybacking from outside?

If so, try a faster/more powerful wifi adapter/aerial, as signal strength is crucial to good performance - even curved tinfoil around the aerial will give excellent signal improvements [use one on your router too, if you have one]

http://technetz.com/index.php/2008/05/03/how-to-make-wifi-signal-booster-diy/

Also try using OpenDNS, as Virgin's DNS servers are unreliable, I find, even on good city broadband

Aitch Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 22:20    Post_subject:  

its an VirginMobile Broadband2Go MiFi 2200 Device.

So, tinfoil will not help i'm on the edge of VirginMobile cover area.
moved it to an window on the cover side and get 2-3 bars on a good day.
but my signal strength in the house to MiFi 2200 is very good.
Only had it 3 weeks and i'm very happy with it.

Used the tinfoil trick for my buddy - he almost fell out of his chair when it worked.
duck tape and tinfoil - you can fix almost anything.

@Aitch - thanks for the tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3210
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jan 2011, 22:58    Post_subject:  

In the US, the MiFi 2200 is sold by Verizon and their "it's the network" is cr*p on a good day. As in, there are days when slower-than-a-drugged-tortoise 56k dialup is faster (and more useful).

So how do I do this fabled tin foil trick? I've never heard of it, but I'll do just about anything to get a better signal as long as I don't have to dance naked on a rooftop Laughing

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 00:54    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
In the US, the MiFi 2200 is sold by Verizon and their "it's the network" is cr*p on a good day. As in, there are days when slower-than-a-drugged-tortoise 56k dialup is faster (and more useful).

So how do I do this fabled tin foil trick? I've never heard of it, but I'll do just about anything to get a better signal as long as I don't have to dance naked on a rooftop Laughing


There's many tinfoil tricks;
this one might appeal to you. Smile

Variations:
http://www.usbwifi.orconhosting.net.nz/
tinfoil_hat_antenna.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   27.73 KB
 Viewed   1347 Time(s)

tinfoil_hat_antenna.jpg


_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 3210
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 01:44    Post_subject:  

Shocked Rolling Eyes Laughing
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
harii4


Joined: 30 Jan 2009
Posts: 444
Location: La Porte City, IA , U.S.A.

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 07:41    Post_subject:  

wow - the mother-load of signal hacks Shocked
thanks - rjbrewer

Quote:
Variations:
http://www.usbwifi.orconhosting.net.nz/


I think i'll try "# 41" this weekend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 11:16    Post_subject:  

harii4 wrote:
wow - the mother-load of signal hacks Shocked
thanks - rjbrewer

Quote:
Variations:
http://www.usbwifi.orconhosting.net.nz/


I think i'll try "# 41" this weekend.


A tip:

Signals are polarized when transmitted; so try with the receiving
device in both horizontal or vertical alignment to see which works
best.

I use the "rutilt" wireless from 4.xx puppys' for real time signal
strength testing of wifi.

Have fun.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
_Mark_

Joined: 24 Sep 2009
Posts: 97

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jan 2011, 16:16    Post_subject: Re: faster internet experience?  

Lobster wrote:
Source code available. Could it be used in Puppy from command line with a GUI?
http://code.google.com/p/namebench/


Thanks for posting this Lobster I have for a while wondered if I have a problem with my ISP supplied and also OpenDNS DNS servers, so thought I would give this a try.

If you extract the archive and from the command line run the namebench.py with a ./namebench.py. there are a few options you can add but just as is should be fine for most uses.
You will of course have to have Python installed, if you are running the devx.sfs for your flavour of puppy all will be good, to run the GUI you need the python-tk package installed which isn't (haven't looked into that yet)
Running from command line is fine takes about 5 mins, echos a lot of stuff on the screen, don't worry too much about the output as when finished you should have a nice .html and a more detailed .csv saved in the /tmp directory.

Load the html into your fave browser to look at the report, mine reported if I used there recommended primary server I should see a 21% speed increase (we shall see)

So I have setup there recommendations on my router and browsing does seem a bit snappier.

Call me a cynic but as this has been written by Google and both times I have run this it has recommended Google Public DNS as my primary server you can make of that what you will

I will see how it goes anyway
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Michalis

Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu 27 Jan 2011, 19:04    Post_subject:  

_Mark_ Just a question, you have dial-up or broadband access?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Off-Topic Area » Programming
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0879s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0062s) ][ GZIP on ]